We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princes St East Backpackers
Ranked #168 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 19 November 2010

nice and really helpfull staff, very good position. cleaning every day and cheap. i am sure i ll come back to this hostel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    19
    12
    23
See reviews for
1
14
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The staff, namely Cara and Nicole (and the other guy, but I forgot his name) were very friendly and helpful. We hadn't planned well for our visit to Scotland and they gave us all these options and selections, making our stay so much more enjoyable and fun.

Their rooms were fair in size and though the place was at the top of the building (77 steps to debauchery, yes indeed) the staff made up for the walk up. Just beware if you have gigantic luggage, walking up and down will be a chore. Oh, and because they had quite a few rooms up there it was sort of a maze, but you could find your rooms pretty easily.

The bathrooms were pretty good in size and there was always toilet paper. (Whew.) And hot water thank God! They also had several tv rooms and dining areas/fridges. You could also buy some drinks and food at the front desk so you wouldn't have to walk all the way down for a meal.

Overall it was a fun experience. Just cross your fingers that you won't get roommates who are really noisy/smelly/rude. :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Before I review this I think it's important to note that we payed £13 a night each for a four bed dorm. This gives you an idea of what to expect. Yes the paint was peeling of the wall but the showers and toilets were clean as was the sink in our room. The staff were friendly and there was free tea and coffee with a dining area. Don't get your hopes up too high here but at the same time it's fine for young groups, students etc. Excellent locations and I didn't see any gentlemans club or dirty bins etc as mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Do not stay here unless it is all you can afford, bed and pillows are old. The bathroom is decently clean enough, but bring your own towel even for the private rooms. Location is excellent. Stairs up were not too bad.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_kis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

the position is perfect, 2 minutes from the main station. ok, we have to say that there are over 100 steps to go in your room. if you're lucky you'll have a nice wiew on the city. beds are good and also showers. toilets not so clean but the blame of the hosts...maybe not polite. i suggest this hostel to backpackers cause it's very cheap and it's a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemingway1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Large room, great bathroom, clean and comfortable, close to city center

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liylith815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The close up to the hostel has a pub at the bottom, and a mans social club on the second floor. to get to the hostel you have to go past these and we found some very drunk men lingering about the close smoking, which was not too pleasant. Rooms were dingey and not particularly clean. Shower room on our floor did not work and only one toilet for a floor of 4 dorms...
not great would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael_reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#13 of 205 in Edinburgh
397 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#22 of 205 in Edinburgh
152 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#41 of 205 in Edinburgh
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes St East Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes St East Backpackers

Property: Princes St East Backpackers
Address: 5 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Princes St East Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes St East Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing