We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice end to our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Hillside Crescent
Ranked #48 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice end to our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Two Hillside Crescent B&B after being touring Scotland for a week during August. After a short drive from Glasgow we found a parking space just in front of this big house. As soon as we entered the premises we were delighted with the contemporary decoration and attention to details and not to mention a long staircase that we enjoyed even though we were a little bit tired. We found the address easily after a few pointers given by Elaine, the nice young lady in charge of the B&B, it was tricky because of traffic street being diverted due to International & Fringe Festival activities. The room # 3 was huge and tasteful decorated, with all necessities (nice bathroom aka en-suite, Bathrobes, hairdryer, drink water etc, flat screen TV, etc.), a huge and very comfortable bed. After a good nice sleep, open the windows with a nice view to a park just in front of the house where people do jogging, went downstairs to have a quiet and full breakfast ( I tried the porridge - normally crushed oats, occasionally oatmeal as was my case). I agree with other reviewers in that the service could be quicker, but since they are cooked on premises and nicely presented they are worth the wait. We have a chat with Elaine who give us good tips for the Royal Edinburgh Tatoo Festival show that we attended that night at 9:00 pm, thanks for telling us to bring our blanked for what was a marvelous show but cold and windy at the end. In overall a Nice end to our vacation this Sumner 2012 in Scotland.

Room Tip: + Room # 3 is one of the nicest but all are superb rooms. + Do not forget to pay your car parking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotter-Feed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
107
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Arrived at Two Hillside Crescent and was blown away by the grand entrance and character of the property. Elaine was so welcoming and hospitable on arrival. Our room on the first floor was absolutely huge, with an extremely large bathroom to match - all the furnishings were of a high standard, along with a sumptuous bed - very impressive. At first, I was a little concerned about the road noise, being at the front of the property, however the great shutter blinds and curtains did a great job and we slept soundly. My only negative comment would be the breakfast was a disappointment - the service was slow, (had to wait 40 mins for a cooked breakfast on the two mornings we were there) the breakfast could have been presented in a more interesting way, and the fruit and cereals was not kept replenished, so we ended up missing out on that, as there wasn't much left (and we allowed plenty of time before breakfast ended.) But despite the breakfast being a let down, we would thoroughly recommend this B&B to everyone - Elaine truly is a great host (we were tired, and she got our room ready earlier to accommodate us) and was so helpful with her knowledge of the city and recommendations of places to eat. And the whole place was immaculate - the cleaners do an amazing job, and service your room during your stay - a nice touch. We will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDennis28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Two Hillside Crescent has lovely rooms, terrific breakfasts and kind and caring staff. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. Elaine, and her helper Vi could not have been more helpful. When our adapter plug did not work Elaine gave us one as a gift that we used for the entire trip. Vi encouraged me to try black pudding for breakfast and introduced me to a Scottish treat; she is planning to convince me to eat porridge next! We had to leave very early to catch a plane and Elaine arranged a cab, as well as packed a breakfast for us. If we did not appear at the door for the taxi she had asked them to call her so we would not oversleep and miss our plane. I don't know too many people who would get up before 5 AM to be sure their guests were awake. Two Hillside Crescent is a peaceful home in a bustling city; we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
503 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have been here several times now and have stayed in most of the rooms. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Edinburgh. Location is great. Parking is right outside and we have never had a problem finding a parking space. The bedrooms are all lovely. Beds are comfortable, bedding is good quality, rooms are tastefully and simply decorated. The rooms at the back are so peaceful. Elaine runs this place with such an attention to detail which so many other places struggle to manage. It is understandably busy. We are already looking forward to our next visit. HIghly recommend

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely. We prefer rooms at the back as they are so peaceful and quiet but you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is our second visit, and the standard is as high as ever. Comfortable, beautifully decorated & maintained, but also very friendly and welcoming. Don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballywalter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Two Hillside Cresent was highly recommended by friends and my parents, so we booked a one night stay to visit Edinburgh for the Royal highland show. We had a late check in after 9pm on a Saturday night about which Elaine was very accommodating. Our room was spacious with high ceilings, soft bed and luxurious bathroom. Breakfast was also top class- the poached pears and raspberries were a welcome change from ordinary fresh fruit salad.
We wanted to visit Brittania on the Sunday morning and Elaine was very helpful with advice on how to get there. This is also well worth a visit!
We have been to Edinburgh many times before but had never stayed at this side of Princes Street before or visited Leith, so it felt like a completely different experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uglybettyCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My 19 year old daughter and I stayed for 2 nights in May. We wished we could have stayed longer. Elaine and her helper are wonderful. Very welcoming and helpful with information on places to see and dine. The house is beautifully decorated and maintained. It is immaculate and very comfortable. The beds and bedding are outstanding. My daughter would have been happy to spend the entire day in the room (it was tempting for me, too). We were in a superior double which was large with high ceilings and a lovely sitting area. The bathroom is very large with a rain shower and a separate tub. Breakfast was ample and delicious. I would return to Edinburgh just to stay here. The location was quite good. Calton Hill is directly across the street. Many restaurants within a 2-3 block walk. There is a bus stop very near the house. It was a 15 minute easy walk to New Town and slightly longer to Old Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkieg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Hedges Guest House
#25 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Millers 64
#83 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#10 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#12 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Hillside Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Hillside Crescent

Property: Two Hillside Crescent
Address: Two Hillside Crescent | Calton, Edinburgh EH7 5DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Hillside Crescent is a beautifully restored Georgian Townhouse in the centre of Edinburgh offering luxury accommodation within a short walking distance of Princes Street and many city attractions. Its relaxed, welcoming atmosphere, convenient location and attention to detail make it ideal whether you’re stay is for business or leisure.We believe the two most important things about a Bed & Breakfast are indeed the Bed and the Breakfast. That is why all our beds are equipped with luxury linen, goose down duvets and Vi Spring mattresses to simply guarantee a great nights sleep (doubles are at least king sized and over 6’6” in length). Our delicious breakfast includes fresh seasonal fruit, homemade preserves and a choice of cooked breakfast all using responsibly sourced local, organic and free range produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Hillside Crescent Hotel Edinburgh
2 Hillside Crescent
Two Hillside Crescent Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing