We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Hillside Crescent
Ranked #45 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Perfect in every way. Excellent staff and service; large, comfortable and stylish rooms; superb breakfast; good location. Parking outside is pay and display or the owner can advise on nearby free parking 5 min walk away. We've stayed here twice now and on both occasions it has been superb. Not the cheapest, but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anon9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
109
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I was in Edinburgh for the Fringe Festival for 4 nights and I loved my stay at Two Hillside Crescent. Gorgeous traditional building with lovely modern renovations inside. I stayed in a bedroom on top floor (en suite). Bathroom fixtures all seemed very new. Powerful shower. Everything was clean and spotless. Free Wi-fi required a password but was able to plug in ethernet without. Excellent cooked breakfast in the morning. There is a large communal table which encourages conversation. Taxis were arranged for me when I asked.

I wish I had been able to spend more time relaxing in my room but I had long full days at the festival. But the bed was comfortable, the room clean, the host welcoming. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallulahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stylish, spacious and in a good location to access the sights of Edinburgh. Our hosts were over the top helpful and friendly in providing directions and dining recommendations. Breakfast was was first class. Room was large, well appointed and immaculate. We would highly recommend Two Hillside to our family and friends.
J & D Banff, AB

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny5G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Two Hillside is quite a knock-out when you pass through the doors - at once wonderfully grand and beautifully homely. We had a top floor room at the back and such peace and quiet it is almost impossible to imagine in such a central, busy location. Utterly impeccable furnishings and decor, one of the most comfortable beds I've found in a B&B and a glorious bathroom. We very much enjoyed the fulsome breakfast in the communal dining room and, all in all, felt like we'd had quite the treat in having stayed here. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back was so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Two Hillside Crescent B&B after being touring Scotland for a week during August. After a short drive from Glasgow we found a parking space just in front of this big house. As soon as we entered the premises we were delighted with the contemporary decoration and attention to details and not to mention a long staircase that we enjoyed even though we were a little bit tired. We found the address easily after a few pointers given by Elaine, the nice young lady in charge of the B&B, it was tricky because of traffic street being diverted due to International & Fringe Festival activities. The room # 3 was huge and tasteful decorated, with all necessities (nice bathroom aka en-suite, Bathrobes, hairdryer, drink water etc, flat screen TV, etc.), a huge and very comfortable bed. After a good nice sleep, open the windows with a nice view to a park just in front of the house where people do jogging, went downstairs to have a quiet and full breakfast ( I tried the porridge - normally crushed oats, occasionally oatmeal as was my case). I agree with other reviewers in that the service could be quicker, but since they are cooked on premises and nicely presented they are worth the wait. We have a chat with Elaine who give us good tips for the Royal Edinburgh Tatoo Festival show that we attended that night at 9:00 pm, thanks for telling us to bring our blanked for what was a marvelous show but cold and windy at the end. In overall a Nice end to our vacation this Sumner 2012 in Scotland.

Room Tip: + Room # 3 is one of the nicest but all are superb rooms. + Do not forget to pay your car parking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotter-Feed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Arrived at Two Hillside Crescent and was blown away by the grand entrance and character of the property. Elaine was so welcoming and hospitable on arrival. Our room on the first floor was absolutely huge, with an extremely large bathroom to match - all the furnishings were of a high standard, along with a sumptuous bed - very impressive. At first, I was a little concerned about the road noise, being at the front of the property, however the great shutter blinds and curtains did a great job and we slept soundly. My only negative comment would be the breakfast was a disappointment - the service was slow, (had to wait 40 mins for a cooked breakfast on the two mornings we were there) the breakfast could have been presented in a more interesting way, and the fruit and cereals was not kept replenished, so we ended up missing out on that, as there wasn't much left (and we allowed plenty of time before breakfast ended.) But despite the breakfast being a let down, we would thoroughly recommend this B&B to everyone - Elaine truly is a great host (we were tired, and she got our room ready earlier to accommodate us) and was so helpful with her knowledge of the city and recommendations of places to eat. And the whole place was immaculate - the cleaners do an amazing job, and service your room during your stay - a nice touch. We will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDennis28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Two Hillside Crescent has lovely rooms, terrific breakfasts and kind and caring staff. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. Elaine, and her helper Vi could not have been more helpful. When our adapter plug did not work Elaine gave us one as a gift that we used for the entire trip. Vi encouraged me to try black pudding for breakfast and introduced me to a Scottish treat; she is planning to convince me to eat porridge next! We had to leave very early to catch a plane and Elaine arranged a cab, as well as packed a breakfast for us. If we did not appear at the door for the taxi she had asked them to call her so we would not oversleep and miss our plane. I don't know too many people who would get up before 5 AM to be sure their guests were awake. Two Hillside Crescent is a peaceful home in a bustling city; we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Hedges Guest House
#24 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Millers 64
#86 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#9 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Hillside Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Hillside Crescent

Property: Two Hillside Crescent
Address: Two Hillside Crescent | Calton, Edinburgh EH7 5DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Hillside Crescent is a beautifully restored Georgian Townhouse in the centre of Edinburgh offering luxury accommodation within a short walking distance of Princes Street and many city attractions. Its relaxed, welcoming atmosphere, convenient location and attention to detail make it ideal whether you’re stay is for business or leisure.We believe the two most important things about a Bed & Breakfast are indeed the Bed and the Breakfast. That is why all our beds are equipped with luxury linen, goose down duvets and Vi Spring mattresses to simply guarantee a great nights sleep (doubles are at least king sized and over 6’6” in length). Our delicious breakfast includes fresh seasonal fruit, homemade preserves and a choice of cooked breakfast all using responsibly sourced local, organic and free range produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2 Hillside Crescent
Two Hillside Crescent Hotel Edinburgh
Two Hillside Crescent Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing