We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It deserves everyone of its 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Hillside Crescent
Ranked #43 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This is my second stay at Two Hillside but it certainly won't be my last. It is a beautiful building in a great location, I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay in an hotel when Edinburgh has a gem like this. Elaine is a superb host, her attention to detail is second to none, the room I have stayed in on both occassions is number 1 and it is magnificent, the bathroom is as big as most hotel rooms. The toilitries are all from Purdies from Argyll..pure luxury, the beds are so comfortable that the only reason I managed to roll out of bed before 10.30am was the knowledge that a beautifully prepared breakfast was waiting for me. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

Elaine was the perfect host and made our stay at Two Hillside so very pleasant. Very conveniently located, it is a short bus ride away to Princes Street and Royal Mile or if youre up for it, you can walk it in 15-20 minutes.

Breakfast was excellent and our little one was taken care of very well. The room was huuuge and beautiful with high ceilings, a lovely bathroom and many amenities. The tea and cookies on arrival were very welcome after a long train ride.

Thanks Elaine for a lovely holiday. We highly recommened Two Hillside and will be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We spent seven wonderfully comfortable nights at Two Hillside Crescent. Elaine was a gracious hostess and only too keen to offer help with any questions we might have. Our room was spotlessly clean, very quiet and certainly comfortable. Breakfasts were amazing, far more than we should have eaten but so delicious we just devoured it all. The hotel is very central and also just a short few steps to the buses which are very frequent and the drivers are always helpful. There are many restaurants within walking distance and each evening we found a delicious meal. We loved Edinburgh and couldn't have had a more enjoyable introduction to Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewBrunswickVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Well my husband and I spent our brief honeymoon in Edinburgh and stayed at 2 Hillside which had been recommended by my sister. It was absolutley wonderful. A beautfiul house lovingly restored which felt very comfortable, very spacious.

We were offered fresh tea and coffee on arrival, tea and coffee facilities are provided in the rooms but you are told on arrival that should you ever wish for fresh tea or coffee then you simply need to call and ask for it (no extra cost) thisd comes with homemade shortbread.

There are no "designer" guests here, everyone has chosen this hotel becuase it is so well located (just next to Calton Hill, 5 min walk from the Balmoral) it is exceptional value for the luxury bedrooms and the breakfast is delicious.

Should we ever go back to Edinburgh we would only consider the Hillside Crescent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladylisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Exceptional b&b in a good location. Excellent breakfast with great attention to detail. Perfection could be achieved if the coffee in the room was fresh (even coffee bags would be acceptable) and also if fresh milk ( in a flask) could be provided.
Our host, whilst friendly, seemed a little disinterested at times - perhaps she was distracted by the other more 'designer' type guests. Apart from that, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splaydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I have been a bit tardy with my review as i stayed at this place over new years. However what more can i say that hasnt been said, this place is amazing. The host was brilliant, the food tasty, the location good and the rooms, oh the rooms. Wow!! Huge, luxurious, comfortable. Honestly, forget the best b and b i have ever stayed in, this is the best accomodation i have stayed in full stop. Expensive? A little. Worth it? Every penny

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I booked Two Hillside Crescent as a surprise weekend away for my boyfriends 30th birthday, and what a surprise this B&B is! It is in the perfect location and the hotel is absolutely beautiful, the staff are amazing very friendly and more than helpful with any of your needs. One evening on our return to the hotel after a long day exploring Edinburgh even though it was late it was no trouble for Elaine to take the time out to welcome us back and make us an amazing cup of tea for us which she brought to our room.The room we stayed in was beautiful and so was the breakfast.

This B&B is a must and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hantom1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,244 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#15 of 394 in Edinburgh
572 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#32 of 394 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McCraes B&B
#44 of 394 in Edinburgh
231 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#48 of 394 in Edinburgh
192 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Hillside Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Hillside Crescent

Address: Two Hillside Crescent | Calton, Edinburgh EH7 5DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £93 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Hillside Crescent is a beautifully restored Georgian Townhouse in the centre of Edinburgh offering luxury accommodation within a short walking distance of Princes Street and many city attractions. Its relaxed, welcoming atmosphere, convenient location and attention to detail make it ideal whether you’re stay is for business or leisure.We believe the two most important things about a Bed & Breakfast are indeed the Bed and the Breakfast. That is why all our beds are equipped with luxury linen, goose down duvets and Vi Spring mattresses to simply guarantee a great nights sleep (doubles are at least king sized and over 6’6” in length). Our delicious breakfast includes fresh seasonal fruit, homemade preserves and a choice of cooked breakfast all using responsibly sourced local, organic and free range produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Two Hillside Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Hillside Crescent Hotel Edinburgh
2 Hillside Crescent
Two Hillside Crescent Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing