We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Hillside Crescent

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Two Hillside Crescent
Ranked #47 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

This is without a doubt the most special of places to stay. Conveniently located a short 7 minute walk from Princes Street in a lovingly restored Georgian townhouse, this b&b has a distinct feel of a luxury boutique hotel only better. The immaculate rooms are tastefully decorated with high quality furnishings. The breakfast is cooked to order. The hospitality and warmth of the owner are felt in every detail. Simply perfect! If only every city had a place to stay like this!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussianJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
106
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We had a wonderful room, large and confortable. Good shower. Good bed, good breakfast, fresh fruit. Nice and helpful owner. Relaxing admosphere. This beats a hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarTNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Amazing property. We were stunned at how brillian this B&B was and the location was great. Having heard that Edinburgh was hilly and all the talk being about staying near the Royal Mile we had no concept of just how close we were to everything. It was a reasonable walk to the castle but we were sight seeing on the way so it was no hassle. The park opposite is a must to see in any event (and yes it is a steep climb to get to the top but regardless of the angle you enter the park it is still uphill). We had alreay seen the Royal Britannia but it is also a comfortable walk from this B&B making it a great central location to sites & restaurants.

The property is impressive inside and impressively maintained. The actual room was enormous and brilliantly furnished. It would better most suites in hotels and at a fraction of the cost. The bathroom itself is probably bigger than most hotel rooms. (We stayed in the room at the rear). Breakfast, service and all the other expectations you may have will be well and truly met.

We had tried to make sure that the last few nights of our holiday would be wonderful (we had had a brilliant holiday staying at some fabulouse properties) and we were also celebrating our anniversary whilst in Edinburgh. This B&B did not let us down. We could not have asked for better.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed two nights over a weekend and arrived late on the Friday which was no problem and were given tea on arrival. The rooms were spacious, sleek and contemporary. Breakfast was cooked to order and is a definite must. Hillside Crescent is located approximately 15 to 20 minutes walk from Waverley station and about 30 minutes to the castle (depending on whether you take the scenic route or not. Overall an excellent experience with a very attentive host, would definitely stay again and recommend highly to anybody planning to visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blipped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Two Hillside Crescent is really a very special place indeed! My partner and I had been planning a short break in Edinburgh for months and after having read the great reviews on Trip Adviser we decided to book by phone. Edinburgh is such a beautiful city and from the moment we arrived at Two Hillside Crescent we knew we had struck gold. Our room was spacious, calm and beautifully furnished with a bed that was just ludicrously comfortable!! We had the best nights sleep we had had in ages. Our host Elaine was simply charming, she clearly loves what she does and nothing was too much trouble (her poached pears are something else!) and her recommendations for restaurants were spot on! We left Two Hillside Crescent with a heavy heart but feeling completely rested. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingman054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

This is my second stay at Two Hillside but it certainly won't be my last. It is a beautiful building in a great location, I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay in an hotel when Edinburgh has a gem like this. Elaine is a superb host, her attention to detail is second to none, the room I have stayed in on both occassions is number 1 and it is magnificent, the bathroom is as big as most hotel rooms. The toilitries are all from Purdies from Argyll..pure luxury, the beds are so comfortable that the only reason I managed to roll out of bed before 10.30am was the knowledge that a beautifully prepared breakfast was waiting for me. Fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Elaine was the perfect host and made our stay at Two Hillside so very pleasant. Very conveniently located, it is a short bus ride away to Princes Street and Royal Mile or if youre up for it, you can walk it in 15-20 minutes.

Breakfast was excellent and our little one was taken care of very well. The room was huuuge and beautiful with high ceilings, a lovely bathroom and many amenities. The tea and cookies on arrival were very welcome after a long train ride.

Thanks Elaine for a lovely holiday. We highly recommened Two Hillside and will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Hedges Guest House
#23 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Millers 64
#79 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#12 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Hillside Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Hillside Crescent

Property: Two Hillside Crescent
Address: Two Hillside Crescent | Calton, Edinburgh EH7 5DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Hillside Crescent is a beautifully restored Georgian Townhouse in the centre of Edinburgh offering luxury accommodation within a short walking distance of Princes Street and many city attractions. Its relaxed, welcoming atmosphere, convenient location and attention to detail make it ideal whether you’re stay is for business or leisure.We believe the two most important things about a Bed & Breakfast are indeed the Bed and the Breakfast. That is why all our beds are equipped with luxury linen, goose down duvets and Vi Spring mattresses to simply guarantee a great nights sleep (doubles are at least king sized and over 6’6” in length). Our delicious breakfast includes fresh seasonal fruit, homemade preserves and a choice of cooked breakfast all using responsibly sourced local, organic and free range produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Hillside Crescent Hotel Edinburgh
2 Hillside Crescent
Two Hillside Crescent Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing