We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”
Review of Metro West End

Metro West End
Reserve with OpenTable
Metro West End is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,664 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$0 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: In the heart of the Haymarket area of Edinburgh, the Metro West End Restaurant and Bar is just a stone’s throw away from the city centre. The restaurant and bar offers quiet, informal dining in a relaxed atmosphere to both hotel guests and visitors alike. Metro West End is friendly and welcoming, with the modern colours and shapes adding to the contemporary feel that is offered by the fresh food on both the bar and restaurant menus. The food is both traditional in the form of a Taste of Scotland menu offering many Scottish favourites and meets more contemporary tastes throughout the al a carte menu that contains world-wide influences.
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had planned a lovely evening out and were a bit disappointed with the meal. The starters were good and my husband's cheesecake was excellent. We rarely buy steak out and were not impressed with how it was cooked or served. The large chips were not really as crispy as expected and the salsa was nothing to write home about.

The dining room was lovely and the staff were efficient, courteous and we could not fault them.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent and quiet”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Booked here as was in Edinburgh with family visiting. Very close to Haymarket station but a bit tucked away unless you were passing for Murrayfield. Booked because I had the Groupon discount card. Empty when we arrived and only one other guest was there. Service fine but you would hope that being the only customers! Food good but not sure I would buy from alacarte - the Taste of Scotland menu seems to offer better value. Nice restaurant none the less.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food....only thing I can say”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were staying here on 30th June for a couple of nights. After a long day at the zoo, we thought it would be more convenient to eat at the restaurant.
However, walking into the restaurant, we went to the bar and stood for ages. Not because there were a lot of people, but because there was no staff!
When we eventually got seated, we sat for 20mins before anyone came for our order. To which we ordered our drinks at the same time. We got our meals but had to ask for our drinks. We were asked again what we ordered and waited for the drinks.
The food was nice but overshadowed by the staff's rudeness and bad service. My son wanted a dessert but I didn't want to sit there any longer and we left after our main course. Was a really bad atmosphere and the staff need customer service training

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hbmsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food rude staff”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant a few weeks ago, found the food very nice but very pricey for what we received! The staff however, were very unwelcoming and quite rude! I found that our presence seemed to be a hinderance to them and so the atmosphere in the restaurant wasn't very pleasant! Wouldn't eat there again due to the service we received

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Metro West End, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to porivde us with feedback regarding your recent dining experience at Metro West End. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the food but the rest of your comments are extremeely concerning to me.
If you would, please contact me on adam.gray@apexhotels.co.uk so we can discuss this matter further. Customer service and approachability as characteristics that the restaurant staff always portray when at work and i am concerned that on this occasion this clearly wasnt the case. Please be assured this is not the normal level of customer care we provide and that it will certainly not happen again.
As i said, if you wish to contact me regarding your stay it would be good to hear from you.
Kind Regards,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top class meal”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We found this restaurant by chance and we were really pleased we did! The food was first class as was the service! The staff were fab with the kids and we got to enjoy the beautiful meal in peace! We would recommend the salmon and the steak as well as the starters ribs and goats cheese! Best meal I've had for a long time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGray1, Manager at Metro West End, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Claire,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Metro West End. It was extremely pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed your food. The ribs are also one of my favourites, good choice!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant again soon.

Kind Regards,
Adam Gray
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro West End also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Metro West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing