We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely great!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #53 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Fraser Suites in Edinburgh are actually easy to review, as everything is great:

First of all there's the location: If you want to have a walk around in the historical center of Edinburgh, but also would like to have the shops close, there's no better place to stay than the Fraser Suites.

The location is at the corner of High Street, where you can find famous places like The Real Mary King's Close, and Giles street. Next to the hotel are steps down that bring you to the shopping part of Edinburgh. And if you walk five minutes, you're at the famous Edinburgh Castle. What can I say?! A more perfect location to stay in Edinburgh is hardly possible.

Than the hotel itself: Fraser Suites is fairly new, and that's clear when you enter the rooms: everything is brand new, absolutely stylish and lovely, and very comfortable.
The rooms have all the things you need, like digital television, internet, a spacious bath room, ... but also features a small kitchenette with a microwave, sink and fridge. This is very handy if you stay over very frequently and for a longer time, as I am.

The hotel has no own restaurant, but that's hardly a problem as you're located amidst a wealth of nice restaurants. They do offer breakfast, and also that is perfect. Price is 12,5 GBP, and for that you get fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh baked croissants and other baked goodies, fresh fruit, fresh fruit salad, etc. etc. And of course a cappucino is no problem at all.

Staff is very friendly and will go great lengths to help you out with whatever needed. A special notification goes out to the cleaning team and room staff, as everything is really clean and nicely maintained.

Whether you're in Edinburgh for business, historical visits or a romantic out, this is really the place you should consider staying.

Room Tip: I stayed at room 611, which was absolutely great, but I think they all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    578
    168
    69
    28
See reviews for
226
865
71
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed in the Fraser Suites during the Edinburgh Fringe in 2010. I stayed in an Executive Suite because that was supposedly the only room which was able to accommodate three persons.

The problem started when we checked in and found out that even though the third fold up bed (sleeping sofa) was made, everything else (bathrobe, cups, soap etc) for the third person was missing and had to be requested. The towels we had to request every single day. The room wasn’t cleaned before 2 PM and toilet paper also had to be requested. The sleep sofa was very uncomfortable and was instable. One had the impression that if one made one movement too fast the entire sofa would fold itself up! For a suite this was probably the cheapest sleeping sofa they could find. We only stayed for 5 days, so it was quite durable but if one stayed longer I do not recommend it.

We had room 208 with a beautiful view over Princess street, but the room was directly above public stairs leading down to Weaverly Station so the noise from people coming up and down the stairs was quite annoying. The room did have an AC system, but one couldn’t control it. Every time the system automatically blew cold air into the room as soon as (according to the system) the room got too cold. I think 18 degrees Celsius in August is too cold! Unfortunately the AC was above the double bed so it was very cold at night and created a nasty draft at night and made quite a noise too. We asked room service, but the girl told up that it was pre-programmed so she couldn’t do anything about it. Also, there were 2 TVs in the suite, but only one remote control! The bed was heaven to sleep in though.

Breakfast could use a bit more of a variety and was also very very greasy. The poor mushrooms were drowning in the grease, as were the egg. We used our paper napkins to get rid of the excess grease.

Breakfast tip: book accommodation only and go to one of the many nice restaurants or pubs on the Royal Mile for a cheap, less greasy breakfast.

On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and very helpful with tips and getting you checked in for my return flight. The driver of the shuttle bus was very nice and chatty and the shuttle bus service itself was fantastic!

For an executive suite the offered luxury was not good. I even had to pay for WiFi and get an access code from reception every single day I wanted to use it, because it was only valid for a hour to three hours. I think it was too expensive for what one gets.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here last night after getting a £85 room from booking.com and I can honestly say its the best hotel in Edinburgh (I've stayed in about 15 there) room was gorgeous, view was to die for, shower was a rain system, simply a great experience from checking in to checking out. Location was 10 steps to the royal mike and about 5 min walk to the castle. Breakfast was £12.50 but was well worth it and came with fresh food brought to the table for you and was steaming hot.

Don't waste your time booking elsewhere. I'm going back again really soon.

Thanks Fraser Suite.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed one night in October 2011. We originally were very happy with our choice. An attractive hotel in an excellent location just off the Royal Mile. Our room was on the top floor but was nice. Only problem it was extremely hot in the room. It was in the 50s outside and the windows were open. There was also a cooling unit in the room, which after consulting the front desk were assured would cool the room down if turned on. They admitted that the top floors of the hotel did get hot and that's why the cooling units were there. We left for dinner and returned 2 hours later to find not much changed. We requested a room on a lower floor and were moved to a huge suite - beautiful!
The next morning we awoke to no lights in the room, and as the bathroom is in the middle of the suite we could not use it. Maintenance arrived to fix the problem, but after a while we were told we would have to be moved to another room. Unbelievable! 3 rooms in a one night stay. It must be a record. The 3rd room was also beautiful with a magnificent view of the Scott Monument. At checkout I asked to speak to a manager about our experience but was informed that there was not one on duty. I asked for a refund of some kind, but since we had prepaid for the room through Orbitz I was told that this was not possible. However I was told by the front desk staff that a manger would contact me on their return. This never happened. I also contacted the hotel and Fraser's main office in London and have yet to hear from anyone. Too bad. It's a nice property but if their customer service is this bad, then I would not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angus1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire, scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

A wonderful two night stay at Fraser suites Edinburgh this Christmas-time, made all the more fun and enjoyable by Justin, who could not have done more to make us feel more welcome or taken care of! The rooms were perfect and well appointed with wonderful views and the staff in general were friendly and kind. Thanks Justin and his team.

Room Tip: corner suite on 5th floor was quiet, and well appointed with great views over the christmas fair and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights excellent location.5mins walk from waverley train station, via 100 steps or via the mount the long way adds another 10mins. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We had a standard room very nice. microwave oven, toaster and kettle with tea and coffee. Rang for more tea & coffee was there within minutes. Cafes & bars close by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daftdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here over New Years Eve, it is an excellent location off the Royal Mile! It was especially nice to wake up on New Years Eve to the sound of the Pipers'!! The room was great - everything we could want! Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kanuIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Property: Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing