We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #49 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Had fantastic few days at the Fraser Suites. The location was perfect on the Royal Mile only minutes from the castle and also the train station. We could not fault the hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was very clean, comfortable and well furnished with good facilities (fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, iron / ironing board, hair dryer, safe) and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. We do not have any negative comments to make, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK-LK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
What wonderful feedback! Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    597
    173
    70
    29
See reviews for
235
894
72
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Fraser Suites Edinburgh on the last leg of our honeymoon and overall were really pleased with the hotel.

Positives:
- Location - 5 steps from the Royal Mile and walking distance to Waverley station and Princes Gardens, you couldn't really get any better.

- Rooms - we were given the Princes Suite and it was absolutely stunning. I was impressed with how well it was updated for all the modern conveniences without losing the period touches of the property (stained glass and original windows, ceiling coving).
The views were fantastic and we really liked the kitchenette for quick breakfasts (we did not eat at the hotel at all, so not able to comment on the quality of food offered). L'Occitane toiletries were a lovely touch as well.

- Service - the front desk were very polite and very helpful and we could not fault any of the staff, it really enhanced the stay for us.

Negatives:
- Housekeeping - this was the primary reason for downgrading my review to 4 instead of 5 stars. Whilst the rooms are clean and tidy overall, we did notice dust in some corners and underneath the sofa (which also harboured plastic men's shirt packaging from previous occupant).
Also, the biggest bugbear for us was the chaotic cleaning schedule. On the first night, despite putting out a sign to clean our room while we were out sightseeing all day, the room was not cleaned at all. We were too tired and back too late to request for this to be done.
The following day, we specifically requested for the room to be cleaned asap. It was a rainy day, so we returned about 2pm to warm up, but the room was still not cleaned. We had to ask reception once again and when housekeeping did arrive (about an hour later), the bedsheets were not changed and not all of the waste baskets were emptied.

- General room maintenance - whilst the rooms are very well appointed, there is evidence of wear and tear which is starting to become a little obvious (scuffed walls, dusty curtain edges that rest on the floor etc). These items are all minor and did not impact our stay, but they are becoming noticeable and should be addressed to maintain the ambience of the hotel.

Overall, with a couple of minor improvements, this could really be a truly fantastic hotel. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Princes Suite - excellent views and beautiful decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple_grape25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We greatly appreciate the time taken to review our property. We welcome all feedback to ensure continuous improvement and to help us to deliver a first class customer experience.
I am extremely disappointed to learn that the housekeeping standards fell short of our normal practice. I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping Manager who will deal with accordingly. The Princes Suite is arguably one of the most beautiful apartments in Edinburgh; I am sorry there were some issues during your stay. After an exceptionally busy summer we now launch our CARE program for all rooms which includes refreshing decoration and any replacement that is required.
I am confident that during your next visit there will be no negative points to raise! Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a couple of a days and it was the best place we have stayed in in Edinburgh. We were welcomed by really helpful friendly staff who were more than happy to help when it came to dinner reservations and places to visit! The rooms were luxurious the only thing I would criticise is the parking as there isn't any within the hotel but there is parking within walking distance. There are spaces to park out front of the hotel but these are often taken and if there are any sort of festivals in the city parking in the street isn't permitted as we found out at around 7 am when the lobby called our room to advise us to move the car as the police were wanting it moved. Our mistake tho! Will defiantly be back here again as Edinburgh is the best city in the world and I can't think of a better place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for such a complimentary review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you will return upon your next visit to Edinburgh. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent 3 nights on a Costco trip. The location was terrific, only a few steps from a busy pedestrian shopping area, which featured street entertainers, who were a hoot. This chain is one of 50 or so properties throughout the world, except for the United States. As a result, some of the western comforts were missing, such as washcloths, air conditioning, a business computer room, et. al. The room was very small. We had paid for an upgrade to a suite and a king bed, which we were told were "unavailable".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Many thanks for taking time to review your stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh. We are indeed part of the esteemed Fraser Hospitality group, but Fraser Suites Edinburgh is the only boutique hotel in the portfolio. I am sorry you did not receive face cloths during your stay, this is normally standard in all rooms. We have an eConcierge in Reception fro all guest to use, it is a excellent source of information for Edinburgh and the surrounding areas and free to use .

We have a variety of rooms types to suit all travellers ranging in size and character, I can only apologise that the room type booked did not meet your expectation. I hope that we have the opportunity in the not do distant future to welcome you once again to Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

i dont think i need to praise any aspect of this property. all are superb except the view from the rooms. we got a room which looked into a back alley with no view and little day light. apart from that superb well maintained rooms, you step out onto the royal mile which is the center of all the action in town, very prompt staff. ordered a drink in the bar in the lobby. the guy who took my order actually made me change my selection of single malt which i rarely do. he made me try a malt i hadn't tried earlier and viola i loved it. would love to stay here next time i am back in scotland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishalj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Such a lovely review, thank you. It’s superb to know we delivered! We hope to see you again soon......and you can try your next malt! Slange Var!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were pleased that it was within walking distance from the train station and shuttle bus stop to Edinburgh Airport. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Being on the Royal Mile, there were plenty of restaurants, shops, and sights. Edinburgh Castle,where the Tattoo is held is just down the street. The Fringe Festival was on as well and there was lots to see and do. The view from our room was very nice. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally1943155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and that you chose us as your accommodation provider. Thank you for your kind words; we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Fraser Suites Edinburgh - The location was excellent, just off the Royal Mile. The double bed could be divided to allow for two beds; however, the single bed was very, very narrow - it did not seem to be even twin size. The narrow bed was a disappointment. The room was clean, well lit and nicely appointed; however, our carpet was a bit stained. We were in a corner room and found it to be quiet. The windows could be opened to allow for fresh air and we found that refreshing. The view from our room was lovely. We enjoyed the small, well-stocked kitchenette area. The reception staff was helpful. The first day we were given wash-clothes. After that we were not given them except upon request from the reception desk when they were available. You may want to bring your own wash-clothes (face-clothes.) The full breakfast was okay but not outstanding. If breakfast is not included in a discounted room rate you might prefer to grab breakfast somewhere on the Royal Mile. We were given two cups of coffee per person in the morning and would have had to make coffee in our room to have a third cup. Someone asked for a to-go cup and they couldn't find any to-go cups. It was very nice to have laundry facilities on the premises!
In one of our rooms, the shower glass door allowed water to leak onto the floor so we had to very careful with it. All in all, we had a pleasant stay at the Fraser Suites - Edinburgh

Room Tip: I wish we had chosen a corner suite with two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear your stay was satisfactory. We value all guest feedback, it is vital for our continuous growth. I will pass on your comments to all relevant departments so improvements to our guest experience can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#64 of 148 in Edinburgh
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Property: Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing