We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Convenient Place to Stay in Edinburgh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #53 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Convenient Place to Stay in Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Frasier Suites in Edinburgh during the 2013 Tattoo and the Fringe Festival in August for four nights. It was very charming, extremely convenient, with everything we visited within walking distance (Edinburgh Castle, Camera Obscura, St. Giles Church, shops and restaurants) or bus (Princes St, the botanical gardens). The front desk staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. We ate breakfast twice during our stay by getting the cheaper day before deal and found it to be pretty good. The room (second floor) was a nice size, with fridge and microwave, dresser and closet, nice big windows, with a quiet but beautiful view of the side street. We did have to ask for some room items to be restocked, but when we did the woman at the front desk was so friendly. They did stock shortbread cookies and tea in the room, which was wonderful. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelQuint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. Edinburgh is indeed a great place to be at the annual International Festival in August with Fraser Suites Edinburgh being located in the heart of the action. We look forward to seeing you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    578
    169
    69
    28
See reviews for
226
866
71
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

On arrival we were upgraded to an executive suite for no reason... This never happens to us !!
The room was amazing, consisting of kitchenette, small lounge, bedroom with large luxurious bed and bathroom with l'occitane toiletries :). This hotel helped make our trip around Scotland a lovely experience. The staff were lovely and very helpful..... All of them !!!! The hotel is in a great location and situated just off the Royal Mile in the old town and not far from Princes Street.

Just brilliant
Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are absolutely delighted your stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh was exceptional! We thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of accommodation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Its a great location but a twin room was small 2 2ft 6 beds -does any adult really want to sleep in such a small bed? Surely if 2 friends book a room we should each get an adult sized bed. Then we went out about 9 30 am and came back at 3 30 to rest and freshen up before a 5.30 pre theatre meal and the room had not been cleaned and the hotel was not remotely apologetic and said they didnt expectt to finish cleaning rooms before 4 and they did the rooms of people staying 2 nights last. We checked out and did not stay the second night. A nice building, good bathroom but vastly overpriced and really nice reception staff let down by poor management

Room Tip: No probkems with noise so go fir a room with a view some rooms face staight onto walls avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonlawyer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
I am disappointed that your experience at Fraser Suites Edinburgh fell short of expectation. With such high occupancy rates throughout the year Housekeeping do focus on arrivals, however we cater for all requests and if guests specifically ask for their room to be serviced for a require time we endeavour to deliver. If you had made your schedule clear to us we would have certainly serviced your room within the required timeframe. The beds are standard zip and link hotel beds, I am sorry you found them to be uncomfortable. A Duty Manager is on daily, I am sorry you did not speak to them at the time so we could resolve any issues at the time of stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed only one night in Fraser Suites. Staff very friendly and attentive. Room was slightly small for a junior suite but it had lovely decor and a beautiful bathroom with l'occitane toiletries. Our room was on the second floor and we had a wall as a view which was a bit of a let down but only minor. The location is perfect right off the Royal Mile and 5 minute walk to the Castle and all the main attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We really appreciate the time taken to write your very complimentary review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Everything was nice except that the couch that opened up as a bed had a thin, uncomfortable mattress. Breakfast was costly and only fair. We chose to eat elsewhere on our second morning before we left.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for your comments. The sofa beds cater for children under 12years, and any adults who require this are informed that it is a pull out bed so they know in advance if this is the right option for them, I am sorry if you did not get this information at time of reservation. The breakfast offer has since changed, the hot item buffet has been replaced with a full plated Scottish breakfast which has been very well received. I am sure during your next stay you will see the marked improvement and will be impressed with the standard that is served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed my stay. Very centrally located and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the room was small it was very well layed out and the washroom was a nice size and very nicely finished. The free Wi-Fi was fast and easy to set up and the restaurant for breakfast was also quite nice with a decent selection.
Overall the hotel and staff are really quite good. The only bad thing I could say is there is a bit of wear and tear on some surfaces ( walls and baseboards) in the hotel but nothing major and also purely cosmetic.
Would stay again for sure

Room Tip: Note: There are 7 floors in the hotel and I stayed on the 6th floor. The elevator only goes to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Great feedback, thank you kindly. We have a continuous maintenance program where we paint, repair and replace. I am sure upon your next visit you will see our efforts and investment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The room was large and well appointed. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Location just off the Miracle Mile, was superb. Breakfast buffet was the only negative--it was average, at best. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback! Since your stay the breakfast offer has changed to fully plated Scottish fayre, we look forward to your review of breakfast after your next stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Property: Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing