We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards Slipping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Fraser Suites on Valentines day, having previously had a great time.

There were a number issues - the shower controls were so stiff my wife couldn't turn them. The bathroom radiator was leaking, room lights were so dim as to be useless, drinking glasses were mismatched and one badly cracked, the room door required force as it was sticking, cabinet doors were badly aligned. All in all it looks like there was a lack of attention to detail.

We raised our concerns when checking out and reception staff were very apologetic. We were assured this would be followed up and management would be in touch. Despite phoning 10 days later we have heard nothing. Perhaps customer service isn't a priority?

We certainly won't go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Gerry O,

Thank you for choosing the Fraser Suites for your Valentines break. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We pride ourselves on our comfortable rooms and service.

I can understand that these issues would have been upsetting on such a special occasion and can assure you that this is not our usual standard of service or product. We hope that every guest enjoys the gold standard of service which we pride ourselves on at Frasers however it seems we have fallen short on this occasion. I am disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to set matters right during your stay.

I shall investigate with our maintenance team to ensure that your issues have been corrected as we do action all customer feedback as soon as possible however I am sorry that you have not been contacted sooner. As your stay was some time ago perhaps you would prefer to contact me directly on 0131 221 7206 should you wish to discuss this matter further.

I hope that you will give stay with us in the future when we can prove the true experience of gold service and better your opinion of the Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Evlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by an extremely rude receptionist. Checked in and went to my dirty room (layers of dust, the floor hadn't been hoovered and the toilet wasn't clean...) then had to contact reception again to determine how to heat the room as it was freezing cold. Turns out the only way to do this is to plug in some portable heaters and that this room was "always cold". Terribly disappointed and will be ensuring my company takes this hotel off their supply list.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alison_curry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Sales Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi Ali,

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and for taking the time to talk through the issues with me on the phone. I want to re-iterate that this is not the Fraser standard and how disappointed I am that your stay was not as it should have been. We have investigated this internally and taken action as discussed.

I look forward to speaking with you upon your return to the city and making sure that you receive the service and experience that we expect for all our guests.

Best regards,
Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just come back from staying four nights at Fraser's, the hotel is beautiful, service is nice and location could not be better. Rooms were bright and relatively large.
All in all an excellent experience, would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waleed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Waleed G,

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. You were most welcome with us and I shall hope that you shall visit again soon.

Our spacious apartments are very comfortable, I am delighted that you were happy with our friendly team, we pride ourselves on a gold standard of service. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel facilities.

We shall look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Evlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was a really nice hotell/apartment, with large clean and nice rooms(we had 2 rom and a large bathrom, and also a small "kitchen" in the entrè), great location and good Service, with the possibilities for Room services.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Morten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Morten K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your apartment and time with us.

We shall hope that you visit again soon. You will be most welcome when you do.

Kind Regards,

Evlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

• Facilities: Very Good, had a gym, reliable lift however no off street car parking. Car parking cost 14 pounds per 24 hours and was located 15 minutes’ walk from the hotel. However, understand that off street parking is at a premium in Edinburgh.
• Bathroom: Excellent
• Room: Lovely big room with sitting area and kitchenette
• Breakfast: Good
• Location: Excellent, just off the royal mile and only a short walk to Edinburgh Castle
• Cleanliness: Excellent
• Service: Very good
• Security: Excellent – proper hotel with full reception
• Internet: Free wi-fi which worked well
Summary: A lovely stay in Edinburgh, whilst a little expensive, was good value for money with the quality of the hotel and its location

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Jess H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review of our facilities from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and apartment at the Fraser Suites.

You are correct, city centre parking is very limited and as such we cannot offer it on site however with the fantastic location of the hotel for attractions, bars and restaurants you need not drive around the city as most things are in easy walking distance or if not the public transport in Edinburgh is fantastic.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your spacious apartment and our onsite facilities such as our gym, restaurant and complimentary Wi-Fi.

I hope that you shall return to Edinburgh and chose to stay with us on your return. I see it is a fair distance for you from Brisbane however you will be most welcome should you manage!

Kind Regards,

Evlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at Fraser Suites. The location can't be beat! Right around the corner to the Royal Mile and a few minutes walk to just about everything including Edinburgh castle. Old Town attractions, lots of restaurants & pubs nearby. Airlink bus to and from the airport drops off at Waverley Bridge, also a short walk around the Mound or take The News Steps as a short cut. You can walk to Old Town and New Town easily.
We arrived early in the morning and our room was understandably not available so staff took our luggage so we can wander around. They were also very prompt in responding to my emails.
The junior suite was comfortable and clean. There were large windows in each room that brightened the rooms. We had a view of the building directly across. The kitchenette had tea and coffee facilities which is always a nice touch.
The bathroom has a large tub although care must be taken when getting in and out of it to take a shower. The shower knobs were quite tricky to operate. There just wasn't much room to put toiletries above the sink.
On a few nights when the winds were blowing hard, there was something that hit the walls and created sounds that kept us awake at times.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear JFE,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Fraser Suites. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The hotel is in a fantastic location for Edinburgh attractions, eateries and public transport links. With five nights in the city I am sure you managed to take in a great deal of them!

I am pleased you enjoyed your Junior Suite, the kitchenette within the room is perfect for when you have exhausted yourselves with walking all day!

I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the wind but hope that it did not upset your stay at all and I hope that you shall return to the Fraser Suites should you return to Edinburgh in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Evlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed here in February 2014 and had a wonderful time. We had a lovely twin room with a beautiful view towards Princes Street. The room was very clean, with a small kitchen area and modern bathroom. Everything we needed. Many thanks also to Shay on the front desk who was able to book us in at the last minute for an overnight tour to the highlands. Everyone from the front desk, to breakfast and housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location - under 10 minute stroll to Edinburgh Castle and just up the hill from the train station. We took a cab to save the climb - less than a 3 minute drive and easily walkable if you pack less than I did. Also an easy walk to Princes Street for shopping, the Scottish National Gallery (highly recommend), Holyrood Palace and many excellent restaurants. Would love to stay here on our next visit to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Would suggest a higher floor with a view over Princes Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSEManager, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Lynn Z,

I am delighted to hear that you and your daughter had a fantastic stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us in Edinburgh. I am happy that our friendly team were able to assist you with your travel plans. The Highland tours certainly can make a city break into a holiday and they are perfectly situated on our doorstep as are most of Edinburgh's attractions!

We shall look forward to your next visit with us where you can explore the city further.

Kind Regards,

Evlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £88 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing