We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missoni Got Everything Right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Missoni Got Everything Right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Missoni is a stunning, modern, contemporary hotel based in the centre of Edinburgh. 5 star but without the stuffiness, which will definitely appeal to a younger yet sophisticated demographic. Older travellers would definitely feel more at home at The Balmoral as I fear the easy familiarity of the staff at Missoni would not be quite what they're used to.

I stayed for one night in the Grandioso Room with my partner. Everything about the experience at Missoni was perfect. The staff were friendly, attentive, and utterly professional. The room was immaculate and well represented by the website, no hidden (unpleasant) surprises at all.

The use of bold colours throughout the hotel was refreshing, the fittings and decor modern, and the atmosphere relaxed.

I had the pleasure of dining in Cucina, recently awarded best Italian restaurant in Scotland. The food was simply outstanding. I could rave about it for at least another 2 paragraphs, but I won't. If you stay at Missoni then you'd be a fool not to dine in. Marta, our waitress was fantastic, she helped make the experience special.

A thoroughly excellent experience all around. Top marks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jahnzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
287
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
288 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was an overnight treat for a friends 50th birthday. The hotel is in a great location just off the Royal Mile at the castle end. You are welcomed at the door by helpful and nattily styled staff in Missoni designed kilts. Coming into reception and the main bar it does not look 5 star. Security is quite good as you cannot access the lift without your room key. The corridors are quite warren like. The room did not have a view but was immensely comfortable. This was a twin,it was not large but stylishly designed. The beds and linen gave a great nights sleep. The nespresso machine was a step up from a kettle . The bathroom was one of the highlights,a double shower with the facility to sit. The Missoni toilettries and Missoni bathrobes.
The bar gets busy of an evening and serves good cocktails. In the restaurant we were served an excellent meal by attentive waiting staff. The breakfast also did not disappoint although when we came down for breakfast we did have to wait as the restaurant was full. However an area was set aside to wait where you coulsd help yourself to tea/coffe and muffins.After a short wait we were shown to our table. The buffet was extensive and well stocked and a hot breakfast order was taken and cooked freshly in the kitchen. I would call this hotel a 4 1/2 *rather than a 5* but would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Menu not powerfully but the food makes up for this their again you don't eat a menu. You eat the food. bill for seven people 560 £ inc tipp nice staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I could live in Hotel Missoni. I had long wondered why the revered Italian house would have their debut hotel open in Edinburgh, Scotland, but after one day in the city, visiting my brother attending university there, I instantly knew why. I was pleasantly surprised by the youthful, artsy, music-driven, fashion-forward culture of the medieval college town. It even has a bustling cocktail scene, led by Bartender Magazine's 15th best bar in the world, The Bramble. The hotel soaks up all these elements, encapsulating them into a package of all-things Missoni, from the robes to the sheets to the cocktails in the avant-garde lobby bar. Each piece of furniture, fixture and element of style was curated and hand-picked by the Missoni family. As a fan of the fashion brand, I like to see how they view interior design and hospitality...and it turns out that it's just as fashion-forward and delightful as any runway show the house has put on.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I always love my trips to Edinburgh but this break was made even more enjoyable by my decision to experience Hotel Missoni. Absolutely fabulous...from the warm easy welcome I received when booking in to the "haste ye back" farewell from the concierge on departure, it was a very enjoyable stay. Staff were friendly, extremely efficient and nothing seemed too much trouble. Room was very well appointed with attention to the tiniest detail. Food was first class with an excellent choice catering for all tastes. The decor was modern and bright contributing to the overall ambiancece. The valet parking is well worth the additional expense as parking in this part of town can be difficult. Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Have just spent a weekend at this hotel for the first time. It was an outstanding experience. It has all the incredibly high service standards of a Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental, but with a personal touch that is more akin to a very fine small hotel. The staff were incredible with little touches that constantly surprised us. It is refreshing to be able to deal with intelligent, helpful staff with a can-do attitude and who anticipate your every need. The decor is modern and cool though if you don't like Missoni furnishings you will not like this place. The location is good (more for tourists than business) and is relatively easy to get to - a current advantage with Edinburgh's ludicrous tram/traffic works making more expensive options like the Balmoral harder to reach. We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast (which was first rate) so can't really comment on the dining. The bar was okay - nothing to write home about. I'm a regular traveller to Edinburgh and have previously tended to stay in the Balmoral which is good if a little stuffy and dated. Going forward, the Missoni would be my first choice in Edinburgh - good location, good rooms but with some of the best staff I've encountered world-wide. A refreshing and excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Samesamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a fantastic stay in Edinburgh and at the Missoni.
We had a warm welcome from the doorman dressed in his kilt and in fact all the staff during our stay were helpul without exception. The hotel decor is distinctive Missoni all the way including the bedroom design. Our room was very clean ,not massive but ok for a few days, with a long narrow window which due to its design cannot be opened. We had a Nespresso coffee machine with which we were so impressed we brought one as soon as we got home. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom area spacious. The only small downside was there is not much storage space in the way of drawers and only a small hanging space for clothes. The bar area is chic and is obviously a popular place. The cocktails are great especially the peach bellini. We ate at the hotels Italian restuarant twice which is high praise from us. The waiting staff again were very friendly and attentive. We would definately stay here again next time we visit Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor as you do get a slightly better view although our rom was at te fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W9729STjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing