We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic boutique style in heart of edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lavenham suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“chic boutique style in heart of edinburgh”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

If you want somewhere really different in the heart of the old city of edinburgh you will not do better than the Missoni, On the Royal Mile steps from the Witchery (another must)

The decor is Missoni right down to the chinaware, the rooms are large and very comfortable, the bar is exciting as is the restaurant.

They even lend you a laptop if you need one. This is a very top quality Hotel product.

Room Tip: ask for a king size 3rd floor or higher for a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolk_sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    653
    210
    62
    42
See reviews for
302
1,551
98
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Recently stayed at the Missoni to attend concert in Edinburgh. Great location right by the Castle and many other tourist locations. Stayed in a superior room, very stylish as is whole hotel, chic and modern. Only had breakfast which was very good, all staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel I think only has valet parking which is normal in all cities. Room was a little pricey but there were a couple of concerts on at the time, Madonna being one, hence demand may have been high.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta , georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great location. Staff very attentive and helpful. Decor was suppose to be classy Italian, but appeared to be lower quality furnishings. Bed was a slightly hard. Free wifi and drinks in the room were great. I would recommend the location strongly. Easy access to the Royal Mile sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwillen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Booked 2 nights in the Missoni for my girlfriends birthday, and we were both more than happy with the hotel itself, the staff and the location. Seems a little pricey, but if you're like like us and are not restricted to staying away at weekends only then you can get some good mid-week deals.

Clean, tidy hotel with some nice touches. Bang & Olufsen T.V. in the room with free movies (new releases), Nespresso coffee machine, free laundry service, Missoni bedding, pillows and robes etc.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay even though it was raining 2 days out of the 3. Will definitely be back here at some point.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyCodona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My wife decided that I deserved a birthday treat and so she booked us in to the Hotel Missoni in Edinburgh. This was not our first trip to the hotel but I have to say that the experience was just fantastic. We drove which was probably unwise. Anyone attempting to reach the Old Town from the Bridge at the moment has to be long suffering and tolerant to a very high degree. A Tram nuisance.
We were welcomed by the kilted antipodeans who admired the illegal turning to reach the door and whisked away the vehicle immediately. All of the staff were highly professional, friendly and could not do enough to help us. They knew it was my birthday ( possibly because I mentioned it several times) and when we reached our room there was a lovely birthday card and a fabulous pastry creation with fresh fruit etc. It was very exotic and helped calm me down after the traffic mess. What have they done to our Capital City. Out of principal I could not use the trams if they ever come.
The Hotel is so stylish. The decor throughout is fantastic and works so well. Even a trip to the loo is worth while. Our room was great and the bed very comfortable. The shower room was very good indeed and I loved the laypout of everything.There was a Nespresso coffee machine and plenty in the free mini bar, including fresh milk..
We had a drink in the bar which was most enjoyable, but had chosen to eat out which was a mistake!
We had a super stay and I would be hard pushed to find a hotel we have stayed in in this country that can even approach it. Well done guys.

Room Tip: Second floor looking down Royal Mile. View of Courts, St Giles etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reelandjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We loved this hotel. It is located in the best part of town. Everyone on the staff is so nice and they all go out of their way to help you. The decor is exotic and modern. Stay here if you can--you will not regret it. They had double pane windows to ensure peace and quiet at night. The beds were comfortable and we got a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naidon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel is modern boutique style, decor very colourful to say the least! The Doormen/Greeters looked great in their kilts with a modern twist! Location perfect, near Royal Mile. Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Our room was adequate, a fair size and the double rain shower in the bathroom great after a day spent walking around the city. The bar area was relaxing and the staff on the ball with service, nuts served witout having to ask. We had breakfast included(continental) and this was good and plentiful, all the usual, fresh friut, cereals, cakes/pastries. cheese and meat.We did eat in the restaurant one eve and the food was good, not huge amounts but enough, wine list quite pricey but suppose it is a 5* hotel. The one niggle that we had during our stay was with the restaurant, we booked a table at breakfast for dinner but when we arrived they didnt have us on the list, it wasnt an issue as they could seat us but it was a special occasion, our anniversay so would have been disappointed if this hadnt been the case. One minor thing but it didnt spoil a great stay. Would def stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoodsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,278 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing