We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of the best in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and the check in process was quick. Room was excellent with great attention to detail and very clean. Breakfast was nice with a good selection to choose from including several tasty cakes and pastries. I didn't have time to use the gym but had a look in and had everything required for a decent work-out. Missoni is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh and the rooms are among the best in the city at this price point and the most unique in my opinion. Only stayed for one night but was delighted with service and room so I will be back again. Well done and thank you.

Room Tip: Gym is on the first floor so if you want to avoid wandering around in your gym gear ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank privateinfo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
287
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We came to Edinburgh for a wedding and had a great time, the Hotel was stylish and staff were great, in particular the bar staff. The decor was on the edge of looking tired so I hope it is refresshed soon to ensure it doesn't lose its appeal. Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melbobjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Simply stunning hotel. It is quite exquisite and if you're a fan of the Missoni style you won't be disappointed.

The rooms are opulence personified and the bar is amazing. The bar staff will make drinks on request and made the best Old Fashioned I've ever had. The breakfasts and restaurant are also faultless.

I wish there were more Hotel Missoni's around. It's such a fantastic venue I chose it as the place to propose to my fiancée in!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryuvsken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I love this hotel so much and cnoot wait to return. The staff are very cheery and helpful, the reception and door staff are particulary friendly. The hotel itself is in an excellent location in reach of great facilities.

My room was modern and very trendy. Everything was beautifully decorated. The toilets are spotless which is a must for me and my bed was made each morning. The food served here is also of a high standard. Just a great place!

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShakenstienLol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durris, Scotland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Having thoroughly enjoyed our first stay last year, we were slightly apprehensive that the Missoni would be able to maintain the high standards. No problems, though. The reception and door staff are still the friendliest, the amenities are still fantastic, breakfast is great and the decor is still a matter of personal taste!

Room Tip: Maggiore rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We visited the Missoni over New year 2012/13. We found the check in staff very helpful and friendly. The room was compact and beautifully decorated but not exactly comfortable.The bed was hard and there was poor storage for clothing.
Our Hogmanay meal was excellent despite the waiting staff being poorly organised.
We had a lovely time in Edinburgh for Hogmanay but would give the Missoni a miss for future visits.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Very trendy hotel in an excellent location - literally on the Royal Mile, 5 min walk to the castle! My husband and I stayed here two nights for my birthday (1st to 3rd Sept) and overall we really enjoyed Edinburgh and the hotel.

The hotel was fully booked on arrival so we couldn't request a room with a view or anything. The room we got was facing inwards towards the hotel restaurant courtyard and was very quiet.
On the first night, as we were trying to fall asleep we could hear a constant light beep coming from the fire alarm (installed just top left to the bed) and we called to complain/ask what it was and someone from reception came up to view it but they said they couldn't hear it and that they would be happy to move us into a different room the next day since they had no other rooms available that night. We just stuffed a bit of tissue into our ears which got rid of the noise and we managed to fall asleep. I would suggest taking some ear plugs just incase this happens to you too!

We had breakfast included in our stay and it was great. You can order hot items and coffees off the menu and they had a wide range of continental breakfast items on the buffet. The room service menu is very overpriced and not that tasty though. We had two burger and fries and a desert for £39 so I would just go to the pub across the road, it was quite good.

Overall a beautiful hotel and I would definitely recomment to my friends that visit Edinburgh.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all the rooms would've been stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing