We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #29 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Style and quality”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The service could not be faulted at this hotel, and the complimentary mini bar was a nice touch, although it may be more useful to actually find out what drinks the guest prefers, as much of ours was wasted on us! There is only a single pillow per guest, and although very luxurious, I would have liked two! I know that I could have called down and one would have appeared pretty quickly, but only realising at 2am meant I was just ready to go to sleep!
The cocktail bar looked fabulous, but we didn't try the cocktails. The breakfast was delicious however, with a wide selection of hot and cold fayre, and the Scottish breakfast was just the right amount of everything. It was lovely to have a proper hair dryer for a change, and the robes were Missoni design and better than the average. I like the fact that you had to insert your room key into the lift, a feature I have experienced in the Hilton Park Lane, giving that extra sense of security to your room and belongings.
Overall, a great hotel. It would just take a lot to earn a five star in my book!!

Room Tip: The corner suite on the fourth floor has floor to ceiling window on two sides, and you have a beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoc4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear cleoc4t,

Thank you for your glowing review of Hotel Missoni. We really appreciate you taking the time to inform us, and other Tripadvisor readers, of your experience in Edinburgh. I am very pleased that you had such a positive time with us. Thank you for letting us know that you prefer 2 pillows in your room. I would like to update your personal profile in our system with your pillow preference so we can be prepared for your next visit and ask that you touch base with me personally. We even have non feather and memory foam to choose from! Feel free to contact me whenever.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni in the future with the hope that you may review Hotel Missoni with 5 stars next time. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback!
Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,813
    658
    212
    62
    43
See reviews for
307
1,567
99
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Located by the Royal Mile, this modern hotel has everything you need for your visit. The staff is very friendly and accommodated. We arrived at 7:00 AM and without any hesitation they gave us our rooms. The rooms are big and modern, and you won't want to live the shower!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramosri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear ramosri,

I am so pleased you were able to access your room so early in the morning. As long as we have clean rooms available in the morning, we will always check in our guests, because we understand the importance of having as much time as possible to explore our beautiful city!

Thank you so much for your fabulous feedback. Have a super 2013 Festive Period and we look forward to hopefully seeing you in 2014,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a modern Hotel set in the Heart of Edinburgh's old town. The staff on arrival were superb and probably up there with best service and customer care we have ever experienced from a Hotel anywhere! The spacious room was decorated in a modern style in keeping with the theme of the Hotel, everything felt very new. Free mini bar, papers and robes were all included in the price. The bar in the evening had a great buzz, all ages seemed comfortable there.
The position of the room in relation to the street did pose a bit of a problem. Noisy booze fuelled revellers in the street below kept me awake until around 5:00am so in hindsight would have been better with a room away from the Royal Mile or perhaps a higher room, this did put a bit of a downer on an otherwise great weekend.
Breakfast was really good a buffet followed by a cooked offering from the kitchen I opted for the egg benedict with salmon (recommended).
Overall a good stay the staff were fantastic shame about the lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the Royal Mile ... very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear sharpG,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the hotel and staff. I am, however, sorry that we were not made aware of the noise disturbance you experienced during your stay. Being a city centre hotel, on rare occasions, street noise can be heard from guest bedrooms, but we would always want to be informed of any discomfort felt from our guests during their stay so that we can find a quick solution. I am sure we could have found an alternative for you had we been made aware of the situation at the time.

I would like to update your personal profile in our system to allocate you a quiet room, for your potential future visits; however I am unable to identify your reservation from your Tripadvisor user name. Please can you get in touch with me at the hotel so we can be prepared for your next visit? Thank you for your valuable feedback,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a little island of Italy in the midst of Scotland. The decor is Missoniesque. The zig zag patterned kilts on the porters are a hoot. Even the cleaners are well dressed. Perhaps the Missoni stripes could be a bit more subdued. I started to get dizzy after a while. The service was first class and the hotel had a few nice additions. Two pieces of clothing could be laundered at no charge each day. The shower was magnificent and the toiletries were gorgeous. Definitely will stay at a Missoni hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxSurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear MaxSurfers,

Thank you for your delightful review; I really liked your “little island of Italy,” description of the Hotel, I am definitely going to use that one in the future! We are very proud of our Missoni connection and our design really does make us stand out from the crowd in Edinburgh.

We offer unique, friendly, one on one, 5 star service well before arrival, all the way through to after departure, and want all of our guests to feel as comfortable and relaxed as possible throughout that journey. It is very pleasing to read that you will be back.

“The Little Island of Italy” awaits your return!

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a lovely modern hotel with great staff who are very welcoming and friendly. A good, lively bar with great selection of cocktails. However for the money the room was a little tatty, or maybe we were just unlucky, (seemed to be a disabled room as had red emergency strings hanging beside bed and in bathroom) but the wallpaper was peeling off in parts and just felt for this class of hotel it needed a little attention. Although all in all I would recommend it as its a super location very close to royal mile and shops

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear colholly,

Thank you for your comments on the modernity of the hotel and the friendlines of our team; your feedback is very welcome indeed. I am, however, sorry you felt the room needed some attention. We have reviewed the conditions of all of our accessible rooms in light of your feedback and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I would however like to touch base with you, personally, so I can update your profile notes in our system. We only have a small proportion of accessible rooms in the hotel and I understand that your allocated room room was unnecessary for your needs. I will ensure, on your next stay, that you are in a standard room and I ask you to give me a call at your earlier convenience so that we can be ready be prepared for your return.

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Modern, very stylish hotel with great staff. Rooms have everything you need with top quality equipment (including coffee machine), free minibar, free movies, great bathroom with fantastic shower. The staff throughout the hotel are very professional and helpful but also friendly. We visited the restaurant both nights, the food was good and the staff excellent. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Phil C,

Thank you for your positive review following your stay at Hotel Missoni. We hope to welcome you back in the future. I would be delighted to be your personal point of call prior to your next arrival; please let me know when you are next planning a trip and I will look after your reservation,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birtley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just when you thought hotel service had died, a stay here and you realise what you've been missing all these years. From walking through the front door to departure it is service with a capital S. Fantastic staff, a fab room and bar service that makes you want to go back. We will and I have no doubt the additional facilities will be used next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mark S,

Wow! Thank you for your amazing review. It is really reassuring to read that you felt you were so well looked after by our team at Hotel Missoni. We pride ourselves on our service standards and on applying the necessary attention to detail to continue to provide the very best, whilst creating a friendly and relaxing environment for everyone to enjoy their visit to Edinburgh.

We cannot wait to look after you again, thank you once again for your kind comments; I have of course ensured your feedback has been circulated.

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,314 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing