We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in a fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was our second stay at the Missoni. We brought friends along to celebrate a birthday and a lovely cake was left in the room for John.

We arrived really early so weren't expecting the rooms to be ready, but we were able to check our bags in and were promised a call when they were ready - which we got at 12.30, went back to the hotel later in the afternoon and all the bags had been taken up. We were in room 424 which overlooked the front and had a lovely view. It was a nice quiet room.

The bar was very busy on the Friday night but the lovely bar manager saw me hovering for a table and put a reserved sign on one she knew would be available soon. We had a cocktail from the huge list before we went out.

We booked breakfast for the Sunday only and on Saturday evening had a note in the room to say that if we were able to go down before 9.30 then we would get a bucks fizz as they were expecting the restaurant to be busy later on. That suited us fine, and we had a really amazing breakfast which was perfectly cooked (I can recommend the eggs Benedict!). Lots of cakes, cereals, breads also available which we also sampled.

We left our bags on the Sunday as we weren't leaving until later in the day and we had a taxi sorted for us as soon as we needed it and our bags loaded in.

LOVE this hotel, everyone is just so friendly and helpful - am hoping to make it an annual trip now .. so look forward to seeing everyone again next year!

Room Tip: We were in 424 which overlooked front, but was still nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilldavies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear gilldavies4,

Absolutely delighted you decided to stay with us again and it’s really fabulous to read that your second time at Hotel Missoni was just as memorable as your first. We have a great system of pre checking in our guests, if rooms are not available before our guaranteed check in time of 1500, which is why I am pleased that you were able to access your room early at 1230. I never like waiting in Hotel receptions for rooms to become available, so we employ a system that allows our guests to pre register, then head out into Edinburgh to maximize their time in this wonderful city! We make sure guests are called as soon as the rooms become available and luggage is taken straight upstairs. On return a key is all you need to pick up from the front desk! Could not be easier!

Bar Missoni and Cucina are the main focal points of our Hotel and are as popular with our hotel guests as with the locals in Edinburgh. Thank you for your valued all round review of Hotel Missoni which no doubt gives other Tripadvisor readers an honest reflection of what it is like to stay with us. Go on, give us a try, you won’t be disappointed!

We look forward to your annual trip to Edinburgh; please allow me to arrange everything for you from now on and I’m sure we will touch base in the New Year,

Have a happy happy happy Christmas and New Year,

Kind regards,

James Archer

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
287
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I was in Edinburgh for a conference and treated myself to three nights here. The room was on a corner and was a great size for a solo traveller. I loved the missoni patterned robes. Lovely toiletries, espresso machine and a soft drink mini bar. Breakfast was good, with a freshly cooked hot option and a cold buffet. Staff were really helpful and the hotel has a lovely ambience. I,couldn't fault it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claire_10_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Claire_10_77,

Many thanks for your very kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Edinburgh and that you were so well looked after by our team at Hotel Missoni. It is always really nice to receive such positive feedback; we are all dedicated to providing simply the best level of service and its comments like your above review which makes it all worthwhile.

We look forward to your return. If you cannot live without the bathrobe, it’s called Ken and is available to purchase, please feel free to get in touch and I will point you in the right direction.

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We went for a weekend of shopping and treats and were totally bowled over by the Missoni. We stayed in the Rosa Suite (beyond perfect) and have never experienced such fab service. All the staff here are totally dedicated to making your stay here feel special - from the Missoni kilted door staff to the lovely reception staff. Our beautiful Red-haired receptionist even booked us the best table at a fabulous restaurant despite the city being full this weekend! If you want luxury and to feel like a VIP, this is perfect.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Waxy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Waxy13,

Congratulations! I am pleased to inform you that the 5 star review you left us following your stay is our 1000th which means that you are a winner! We really appreciate feedback and always encourage our guests to inform us of their experience so we can continue to provide the very best at all times.

With that in mind, I am delighted to inform you that you will receive a complementary lunch voucher for 4 people to use next time you are in Edinburgh. Please get in touch with me personally and I will let you know how to claim the prize.

I am so pleased you had such a fabulous stay. The Rosa suite really is spectacular; on a clear day you can see all the way across to Fife! It is my favorite room in the hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough! We cannot wait to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni in the future and I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a great night staying here. The hotel has a great bar with amazing cocktails and even better rooms! The rooms are decorated in a quirky fashion which was a nice change from other hotel rooms. The mini bar free supplies was a nice touch as was there being a free selection of films on the tv.

Perfect location for exploring Edinburgh or if you just want to eat around the Royal Mile.

Breakfast was slightly disappointing for the price etc. Both cooked breakfasts we received had different things on the plates and at particularly scarce quantity. The buffet did look slightly better however!

Would stay here again and will continue to enjoy the cocktail bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiggiSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear SiggiSm,

Thank you for your review and for the 4 stars you awarded us overall for your stay. It is a shame you found the breakfast disappointing, which may or may not have been the catalyst for not awarding us with the 5 and final star. We honestly believe that a Hotel Missoni breakfast is the very best way to start the day so it’s very disappointing when we read when we rarely, have not gotten in 100% right. I do hope you managed to speak to us about breakfast during your stay, if you didn’t then I would be interested in touching base with you to listen to your thoughts on how we can improve our offering. Please do touch base with me personally anytime!

Bar Missoni cocktails await your return, maybe a Charlie Chaplin or a Missoni Mojito? Thank you once again,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The best: the location and the “freebies”
The worst: hardly any place to put your clothes and no separate toilet
The hotel is located right off the top of the Royal mile and the corner of George IV bridge and thus ideally located for sight-seeing and shopping in this area. And even Princess Street is only an about 10min walk down the hill. Perfect! It offers free internet and (depending on the rate you chose) free mini-bar and free laundry for two items per day (you obviously do pay for it as part of the room rate...). Check-in/out are speedy and friendly, but sometimes the staff does get confused (we had somebody's luggage delivered to our room twice). The rooms (especially if you choose a larger one) are spacious, have nice views and the rather strong (funky) colour design is not bad. The bathroom and shower area are spacious.
However, you get TWO drawers to store your belongings so unless you can hang them you have to “live” out of your suitcase. And unless you don't mind that your partner is sitting on the toilet while you take a shower it means taking turns in the bathroom...
Maybe it is just us, but why can't designers be a bit more practical???

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear MJN,

Thank you for your valued feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our inclusive pricing and the location of the hotel. Further thanks for your comments about the hardware of the bedrooms, namely the storage and the bathroom, which have been duly noted and passed onto our Management Team.

It is important to mention that the Missoni design of our rooms is unique. Though rare, negative feedback surrounding the hardware of our bedrooms is harder to respond to than issues regarding service standards, which is why is was deeply disappointing to read that the wrong bags were delivered to your room. It is unfortunately, clear on this occasion we let our usual high standards slip, please accept my apologies. I do however take some rest in the fact that the error was rectified quickly, but you are right, it should not have happened!

I do hope your 1st experience has not put you off coming back in the future. Please get in touch with me personally next time and I will make sure that your personal needs are met,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I chose to stay here for my nephew's 30th birthday and the staff were just fantastic at making the whole time extra special for him. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was spectacularly good with service to complement. The hotel is in a superb location for access to Edinburgh's many attractions. Very central and easy walking distance from the railway station. We had a room on the fourth floor and there was no noise from outside at all. Breakfast is not included in the price and that meant we could explore the local cafes. I highly recommend Urban Angel on Hanover Street. Excellent Eggs Benedict. The city bus tour, on the other hand, was poor. Commentary was idiosyncratic to say the least! But it provided a means to get out to the Royal Yacht Britannia - another fabulous attraction.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Paula B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Missoni. We really enjoyed the chance to look after you and your nephew for his 30th birthday. Many happy returns once again! It's great that you both had such a fabulous stay and I am pleased you managed to get out and enjoy what Edinburgh has to offer; you are right Urban Angel is a good place for breakfast! A top tip!

Please do not forget about us, spread the Missoni word and do get in touch if you would like to stay with us again. I hope you had a safe journey home,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and enjoyed the stylish interiors and great service. Location was perfect and within easy walking distance of all the best attractions and lots of nice restaurants. We had breakfast out each day mainly because we don't like hotel breakfasts and would rather try out the local cafés. We found some excellent places down the road on north bridge. Try Elephant for a bohemian brunch! A couple of comments. Really appreciated the Nespresso machine in room. I have one at home so that was great. But would be good to provide hot milk without a room charge. Nespresso do free standing electric milk frothers for cappuccino which would be a great addition.
Also would love a rowing machine in the gym but now I'm just being picky! We are planning to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank competentcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear competentcrew,

Thank you so much for your review following your stay with us in Edinburgh. I am delighted you had such a fabulous time in our wonderful city. Our Guest Services has a detailed understanding and relationship with many attractions, restaurants and bars in Edinburgh. We pride ourselves on being able to offer a unique “universal concierge” approach to service, meaning that our all staff are given the necessary knowledge of the local area to be able to recommend place to see and things to do, thus making our guests stays even more enjoyable and relaxing. Simply let us know what you like doing and we will do the rest! It’s that simple!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the future,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing