We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, Even better location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #31 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, Even better location”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Upon arrival, the staff was incredibly helpful and got us right into our rooms. The view was stunning and overlooked the Edinburgh Castle. Breakfast buffet was extensive and also included hot items from the kitchen so during our 4 day stay over the New Year's holiday we never had the same thing twice. The hotel is perfectly located to everything to include the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, End of the World Pub, tons of shopping and only a short hike from Aurther's Seat. Couldn't have asked for anything better except maybe a slightly softer bed.

Room Tip: They have a few that face Victoria Street that have great views of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traci b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear traci b,

I am delighted to read that you were allocated such a stunning room with a view of Edinburgh Castle. We actually only have one room that faces the Castle so it’s great that we were able to get your room allocation right for you. I have to agree with you about the location of the hotel, we are right in the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town surrounded by buildings with centuries of history. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni on your next visit,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    645
    207
    62
    41
See reviews for
296
1,533
97
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

A really well located hotel in between the Royal Mile and Glassmarket but still in a quiet little spot. Upon arrival we were greeted and looked after by well trained and friendly staff in a nicely decorated foyer area. Lots of good things about the room; very clean, great level of amenities eg superb coffee maker and toiletries. Bathroom was gorgeous, room nice but floor a bit dated and dirty and bed a bit disappointingly small with uncomfortable pillows!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mayyapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear mayyapps,

I am so pleased to read your comments about the our well trained and friendly staff, who we are very proud of at Hotel Missoni and work nonstop to ensure that everyone is well looked after and given the 5 star treatment that they deserve. I am sorry that you felt the bathroom was dated and dirty. I do hope you mentioned this to the Duty Manager during your stay and that we were able to rectify before you left the hotel?

We do have different pillow options for our guests. Our Guest Services team are on hand 24 hours a day to assist with anything at all and are fully dedicated in ensuring that our guests are as comfortable as possible. It is a shame that we did not know about your pillow preference at the time, I am sure that we could have offered a solution. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni in the future, thank you once again for your valuable feedback,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Excellent weekend stay, arrived p.m. on Black Friday and the hotel was buzzing. Helpful staff,quirky accomodation offering every comfort,well though out i.e. freemini bar(non Alcoholic) of course, slippers, beautiful presentation at breakfast, all in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66minnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear 66minnie,

Thank you so much for your brief but very kind review following your stay over Christmas. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to stay again in the future and I will be delighted to look after your reservation,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our first part of the Christmass break was spent in Edinburgh and none justified the warm hospitality of the Scots than Hotel Missoni and its fine people there. It is a beautiful designer hotel. Everyone else commented on the excellent location already and that is the hardware part of the hotel. The design is intriging, as some of Missoni's signature patterns can be seen in bathrobes, all things fabric, lobby vases, kilts, uniforms, etc. Guest room design is efficient, though if you are staying long, it may still be a challenge. The nespresso machine is fantastic and the shower was hansgrohe hardware and fairly good water pressure.
Because we arrived on Christmas Day and the ensuing stormy weather oersisted, we had the unusual chance to linger in the hotel more than we typically would have. We had dinner at Cucina and found the service good and pasta delicious. The cocktail bar is excellent though the two cocktails I tried were low on alcohol, bubbly on fruit juice, but the whiskey my husband had was excellent.
The front desk and guest service are owed most for their ability to Multi-task and quick to a laugh and vast warmth. They absolutely embody and typify the hospitality of this wonderful part of England.
Off we are to Glasgow now, but we will remember and recommend Missoni to friends in New York and a world over.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmw245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear jmw245,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are all delighted that you had such a positive experience with us in Edinburgh and I am sure that other Tripadvisor readers will welcome your comments, just as much as we do at Hotel Missoni. Please recommend away to your friends in New York, and I am sure, if they choose to stay with us, they will enjoy the hotel just as much as you did. I hope you had a safe journey back across the lake.

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is, in my view, one of the friendliest hotels of its type I have ever been lucky enough to stay in. Our visit was a Christmas treat, allowing trips to see family/friends around Scotland.

The rooms were well laid out, the bathroom facilities all you could wish for and we were entirely oblivious to the high jinks of nearby Grassmarket come bedtime.

A car breakdown meaning we arrived back at the hotel on Christmas night in a breakdown truck did not pose anything but a challenge to be met for the hotel staff...they did so splendidly.

Well located and seriously funky, this hotel appealed to us greatly. A good bed, clean and everything needed is as far as it goes for me, facility- wise, but a bit of luxury and the aforementioned staff turned a good experience into a great one.

We ate breakfast twice in the hotel and enjoyed it. The options are clearly advised and hard working staff ensure everything is as it should be.

Even to a philistine such as myself, the artistic beauty of the hotel's décor cannot be denied. It certainly isn't, however, a case of style over substance, as the Missoni is a lovely place to stay as a treat and the staff, as mentioned, are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterfroggiefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear misterfroggiefrog,

I do hope that you managed to get you car fixed following your breakdown on Christmas Day? It is very reassuring to read that you were so well looked after by our staff at Hotel Missoni. We are very fortunate to have such a great team; each and every member of staff has a positive approach to friendly 5 star guest services which allows us to stand out in the Edinburgh market. We all have such a great passion for the Missoni brand and are very proud to work in such a fabulous city, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and I hope that you will return in the near future,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just back from a two night stay and we loved every single minute

Arrived to a warm welcome from the door staff and reception, I had phoned ahead of our stay to request a Castle view if possible as we were celebrating my husbands 50th birthday and wanted it to be as special as possible. We got room 507 on the fifth and top floor and it had the most amazing view of the castle, we spent a lot of time looking out of our window :-) The rest of the room was stunning love the vibrant colours.

All of the staff we encountered were so friendly and professional and I love the uniforms.

Breakfast was so good I tried the eggs benedict the first morning and the pancakes the second day enjoyed both but the eggs benedict was the best, My husband had the full Scottish breakfast both days and loved it, the buffet selection was extensive.

we didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but we did have cocktails in the bar on our first evening, the bar was very busy but we didn't have long to wait to be served and our cocktails were made quickly.

Totally loved our stay and as we are coming back to Edinburgh twice next year I'm off to check out availability thanks so much to everyone for making our stay so pleasant and hope to see you soon

Room Tip: Room 507 best view ever !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear monkeyhols,

I am so pleased you loved every minute of your stay, we loved looking after you. Thank you for choosing Hotel Missoni for your husband’s 50th birthday. We fully understand at Hotel Missoni, that time away from work and family is rare which is why we always ensure that we go the extra mile to make sure that everything is perfect for guests wanting to enjoy a special weekend away! I am delighted to read that we were able to allocate you room 507, which in fact, is our only room in the hotel that faces the castle.

Please get in touch with me personally before you book again and I will look after your reservation for you, I promise,

Thank you once again,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the Missoni Hotel and had a great experience, especially the willingness of the Client Services Manager, Hanna whi assisted us. That was until this evening when, for the third evening in a row we went down with our 16 and 17 year old kids to have drink (the kids had tea and hot chocolate and tea each evening) in the bar area. The previous two evenings were fine but tonight the same lady that served us on the first night, told us we were not welcome due to the age of the kids. She then called the manager on duty who reiterated that the kids aren't allowed. When we queried why it was allowed the previous two evenings we were told it was a mistake. We left and I googled the liqueur law for the United Kingdom which stated:

"Legislation does allow for the consumption of alcohol by those under 18 in the following circumstances:

The individual is aged 5 or older and has the consent of their parent and/or legal guardian.
The individual is aged 16 or 17 and the alcohol is to be consumed on site and with food.
In both the above cases, the person making the purchase must still be older than 18 themselves."

Clearly this manager does not know the Liqueur Law! You would have thought this would be a basic requirement when you manage a hotel??!!!



Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank André M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear André,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Once again may I apologise that we were unable to serve you and your children at our bar on Monday night. I really am very sorry to read that you felt unwelcome as this was certainly not our intention, but unfortunately our Premises License only allows those under the age of 18 to be in our bar until 8pm.

I do appreciate that the change in how we are required to operate our bar at specific times of the day can seem inconsistent and challenging for our guests travelling with young families, and I’m sorry that the alternative table that was offered away from the immediate bar area was not to your liking.

I hope that you have continued to enjoy the rest of your stay with us, and should you wish to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at your convenience.

Kind regards,

Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#91 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing