We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and Missoni Hogmanay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Hit and Missoni Hogmanay”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A very popular choice at Hogmanay and at the heart of many New Year events.

Our four night stay was very nice but a bit pricy at this time of year.

The room was fine, with our only gripe being the television..what were you thinking?

But overall a great hotel and a bit of modern luxury in Edinburgh's historic old town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshMainka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Josh M,

Thank you for your review following your stay at Hogmanay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit overall but apologise that the Television in your room was not to your liking. I would like to touch base with you directly to discuss your feedback surrounding the television in person, but I am, unfortunately, struggling to identify your previous reservation from your tripadvisor profile. Please feel free to get in touch anytime on 00441312206666 and I would be delighted to hear your thoughts in more detail. Thank you for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    638
    206
    62
    40
See reviews for
290
1,522
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very central location just off the Royal Mile, excellent service (check in, bar and breakfast) which made the stay feel more special. Funky modern style using bright colours and mirrors (maybe not everyones taste but we liked it). Breakfast was excellent, don't miss it.

Can be a bit pricey, but there are deals to be had. Valet parking a bit pricey at £35 a day but great service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Hamish W,

“Luxury service”, “modern” and “funky” are words we all love here at Missoni! I am so pleased that you were made to feel so welcome during your stay and that you came away with such fond memories.

We pride ourselves on proving unique, friendly, relaxed, comfortable and superior 5 star service, and once again, it is great to read that our team are leading the way in Edinburgh. We really appreciate your comments which will no doubt encourage us all to achieve even greater goals in the future.

Please come back and sample “a little taste of Italy, in the heart of Edinburgh” again, and make sure that you touch base with me when you do so, so I can manage the reservation for you personally,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here at New Year for the last three years and love the hotel - all the rooms in the new building are great - good facilities and views. The location is as central as you could get - on the royal mile and a few minutes from the castle. The staff are incredibly helpful and do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 186338John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear 186338John,

We are genuinely very grateful for you taking the time to inform us, and other tripadvisor readers, of your successful stay. Hogmanay is special occasion and we were very pleased that you chose to stay with us to bring in the New Year; Edinburgh really is the best location in the world for New Year celebrations. Please do not forget about us; spread the Missoni word and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Do feel free to contact me directly when you are planning your next trip,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It was our second stay in this hotel, and, due to the smoking policy alone, probably our last. From checking in my attention was drawn to a disclaimer we had to sign agreeing to a £1000 fine for smoking in the room, with no alternative options for a smoking room. From then on I decided to head downstairs and out to the front of the building each time I needed a cigarette. Apparently there is no licence to consume alcohol on the front of the premises, so any drinks must be left inside. As someone recently conditioned to only smoking when drinking, I found this extremely frustrating and unhelpful.

Apart from this everything else was spotless and the staff were friendly enough, although one of the barmaids downstairs was apparently unwelcoming to one of our friends in the hotel bar on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street, as the views are better than the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Shaun W,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were unable to smoke in the hotel. Under Scottish law, the hotel is required to uphold a strict non-smoking policy in regards to all indoor areas including our guest rooms. If this was not explained to you correctly on check in then please accept my sincere apologies. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni in the future.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel had a great location, just off the Royal Mile. We had booked a long time in advance and had got quite a good rate. The room had a big, comfortable bed and a good view, although it was on the small side and we were disappointed that it had only a shower - albeit a fabulous one - in the bathroom. But the room was made special by the design. The free soft drink minibar and the coffee machine were great additions as was the television with free films (although we initially struggled to work out how to switch it off because the symbols on the remote control had worn away). There was no noise despite being in the heart of the Old Town. The room was clean, although it was unfortunate that the odd scuff mark really showed up against the bold colours. Elsewhere in the hotel I felt the design went a bit over the top - from the oversize baubles on the Christmas tree in the lobby to the Italian designer kilts worn by the porters and receptionists. For breakfast, there was a quite a lot of choice from the buffet and we could also order fresh hot food from the kitchen - always preferable to food kept warm. The full Scottish was good, although the scrambled egg was a bit overcooked. We also ate in the restaurant one evening. After initially struggling to make a choice from the pretentious-looking menu, the food was surprisingly well-executed. The service throughout the hotel was good - efficient, but friendly. All in all I felt that some minor imperfections did not detract from this hotel being an excellent base from which to explore the wonderful city of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viermabru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This was our third time to stay at the Missoni over Hogmanay and it never disappoints.

The room is always spotless the staff can not do enough for you, even the turn down service leaving bottles of water and glasses next to the bed. The free Wifi, minibar and movies are also a lovely touch. The location also can't be beaten in the royal mile. We ate in 3 amazing restaurants which were no more than a 3 minute walk every time. Ondeins, The Witchery & Angels with Bagpipes

Will definitely return for a fourth time

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley3575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Hayley3575,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the 3rd time at Hotel Missoni. I do hope that we are becoming your home away from home whilst you are in Edinburgh. We really appreciate your loyalty and always look forward to your visits. The restaurants you have recommended are all fantastic, you have great taste! Please come and see us again for your 4th stay, Hotel Missoni awaits.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Upon arrival, the staff was incredibly helpful and got us right into our rooms. The view was stunning and overlooked the Edinburgh Castle. Breakfast buffet was extensive and also included hot items from the kitchen so during our 4 day stay over the New Year's holiday we never had the same thing twice. The hotel is perfectly located to everything to include the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, End of the World Pub, tons of shopping and only a short hike from Aurther's Seat. Couldn't have asked for anything better except maybe a slightly softer bed.

Room Tip: They have a few that face Victoria Street that have great views of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traci b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear traci b,

I am delighted to read that you were allocated such a stunning room with a view of Edinburgh Castle. We actually only have one room that faces the Castle so it’s great that we were able to get your room allocation right for you. I have to agree with you about the location of the hotel, we are right in the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town surrounded by buildings with centuries of history. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni on your next visit,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#50 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing