We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
paisley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here Saturday to Sunday there, the service was appauling, 90 minutes for 2 courses, not one person asked if we enjoyed our stay/food.. nothing.

£8 for a bottle of sparkling water!!!

marks on the walls in our room, paint all chipped, bathrobes had the threads dangling from them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammcg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Sammcg4,

It is with great disappointment that you did not enjoy your stay with us in Edinburgh and that you felt you received sub standard service during you meal with us in Cucina. Please accept my sincere apologies that were not able to get everything right. Rest assured that your feedback has been taken very seriously which will no doubt ensure we provide superior service in the future. I appreciate you taking the time to speak to me directly on the phone about your stay and that we left it on amicable terms,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    638
    206
    62
    40
See reviews for
290
1,522
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I visted this hotel for 1 night. The location is good and the welcome by reception staff is ok.
The atmosphere in bar and restaurant is not very special. The quality of the food in the restaurant is very dispappointing. the service is slow and not well organized, while it was not busy at all. Long wait to take the order and to get the food. The room has a lot of extra's but it covers not the basic quality of the room. The pillows are cheap and soft, the wooden floor looks badly maintained, the TV has limited stations. There are far too many colors used in the room and in the whole hotel. It drives you crazy! Design is good, but over the top looks very cheap!! The breakfast service was bad. No welcome, limited buffet offering, cold tea and no guest contact at all. This is not a 5* but more a 3-4* hotel. A lot of attentions was given to create a very colorfull, busy design (too many coliors, patterns etc.) but it lacked quality comfort!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Alfred B,

I am truly disappointed that you have left Hotel Missoni feeling let down by your experience. This is certainly not the level of service that we want to be remembered for, or what we are used. Please accept my sincere apologies that your weekend did not turn out as you would have expected. I would seriously appreciate the opportunity to apologise to you directly about your experience over the phone. Unfortunately I am unable to identify your profile in our system from your tripadvisor user name. Would you be able to give me a call at your earliest convenience with the hope that I might be able to restore your faith in Hotel Missoni. I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very happy with a recent 3 night stay in the Missoni. Very stylish set up and we found it extremely comfortable with friendly and proactive staff. Its got a good Italian restaurant if you are feeling lazy but is in a superb position to explore the Old Town and its sundry attraqctions. Would be awesome during the festival but cannot imagine you would get the very reasonable rates we got in Feb. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis_Ma_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Lewis_Ma_48, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and have taken the time to share it with us! We aim to provide excellent and friendly service consistently in every department and your comments will be definitively shared with the whole team. The hotel really is located in the prime spot in Edinburgh and whether you are here to catch up with friends and family or on a business trip, there are plenty of things to do and see in the vicinity of the hotel. We hope to see you again, perhaps in August as it is such an amazing time to visit Edinburgh with so many things going on. Please contact me directly if there is anything I can help you with. Best regards, Henna Kapulainen Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Missoni and it was amazing.

From the moment we came in through the doors to the moment we left.

Amazing food, great service - I dont know why people whine so much in previous comments there crazy - the location is amazing and also the spa treatments where to die for!!

.My partner and I loved our treatments.

Room was lovely and clean and had everything we needed.

Excellent location!!

We will be back thank you Hotel Missoni :)))

Room Tip: suits are amazing - all rooms are faB1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear VictoriaW1, Thank you so much for your fantastic comments; it is always great to receive positive feedback! I am pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend tried our lovely Spa Missoni as well, its treatments truly are a treat and you feel well rested afterwards. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in not too distant future and please get in touch with me directly if there is anything I can assist you with. Have a lovely start of March! Kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Saturday for the night with my boyfriend after getting a great deal. The service was brilliant and so friendly the minute we stepped through the door. The rooms were amazing and very comfortable. I would also recommend the restaurant cucina attached to the hotel - the food was delicious!!!! Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Kate S,

Thank you so much! I am so pleased you had such a fabulous stay with your boyfriend and that you had a chance to eat in our award winning Italian Restaurant Cucina. We cannot wait to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni soon, please let me know when you will be returning and we will all be delighted to look after you once again!
Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I would like to pass on my experience after staying in your hotel on Saturday the 23.02.2014 after being relocated from the Radison Blu due to over capacity issues (despite our advanced booking)

Both my partner and I had come to Edinburgh to celebrate a very special evening and understandably where quite disheartened after being told the Radison had no room for us on our arrival... However we were informed we had been booked in with yourselves at the Missoni.

Our stay from start to finish was exemplary, even down to the finest levels of detail. Can you please pass on our extreme thanks and gratitude to ALL of your professional and attentive staff who continually went above and beyond to accommodate our stay with a first class service and a smile (a true credit to the hotel)

Our stay was very special for us both indeed and I firmly believe 90% of hotels can learn allot from your example.

A truly memorable stay and experience for us both.

Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haines-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Haines,

Thank you so much for your kind comments once again. We really enjoyed your unexpected visit to Hotel Missoni and I am delighted that you felt so welcome and at home staying with us. I have personally passed on your feedback to the team who are truly grateful.

Please feel free to get in touch with me when you are next planning a trip to Edinburgh and I will be delighted to look after you both once again,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent the weekend in edinburgh and wanted something a little different. This was in a great location just off the hight street, close to Royal mile. Handy for Grassmarket bars and restaurants. Parking is a pain so book in advance and drop off with valet at the door. if they are fully booked they have arrangement with closeby hotel. Thought room was lovely - full length windows looking over Edinburgh. Great to have what I call proper coffee available - Nespresso machine plus selection of capsules. Watch though with the half bottle of wine which is sitting out beside the water - we were in a Superior room so thought this was part of the perks - mistaken! Was sent a quite abrupt letter on the subject but in fairness when we spoke to the hotel directly they were very apologetic and offered upgrade for next time. Cocktail bar busy and pretty vibrant. Great selection of cocktails but can take ages to get served because of the time to make the cocktails! Would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear LindasScotland,

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you were able to make use of our valet parking service. For the benefit of other Tripadvisor users, we have a few secure and cctv'd parking spaces underneath the hotel and run the service at £35 per night. Our kilted doormen will help guests into the hotel with their bags and swiftly whisk cars away to be safely parked until it is required again.

Please accept my apologies for the confusion with the minibar items in your room however I am pleased that we were able to speak to you directly about the matter. It is great that you will be recommending us to others. Thank you once again for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing