We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I went with my partner and our friends, our rooms were gorgeous. Ours looked over the Royal Mile and theirs has a roof top view where you could see over to Arthur's seat and the sea. The staff were really friendly and if you get a chance to try their Spa their staff and treatments are amazing. Cucina's food was definitely worth it's 5 stars. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Rowan M, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad to hear that you dined in our Cucina restaurant; the new menu is full of mouth watering Italian dishes! Have a great start for the spring and hope to see you soon! With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,740
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
286
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This is a fab hotel!! Loved every bit from the kilted welcome to dinner at Cucina!! Staff are super too, Ann, at the reception area was so helpful! Will deffo be back for seconds!

The bedrooms are lovely and the decor is just fantastic! Great mini bar!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOLOMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear SOLOMCC, thank you for your five stars review and that you have taken the time to share it with everyone! I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us! I will make sure that your comments will be passed on to the whole team and especially to Ann who you mentioned on your review. Hope to see you soon back again at Hotel Missoni! With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The decor of the room was super chic! Love the state of the art Bang and Olsen TV and walk in rain shower. All items in room of the highest spec and H Missoni does live up to its 5 star status. I thought the fresh milk in the fridge was an extra nice touch as most hotels provide UHT milk which tastes yucky! The staff were attentive to all requests and v willing to please. Continental breakfast was sufficient and fresh and no need for a cooked breakfast. Didn't try Cucina's food but perhaps next time. Would recommend this hotel for those seeking a bit of Italiano luxury.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Sandie C, I would like to thank you for your amazing review! I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel Missoni on you recent visit to Edinburgh. If you are planning on returning to the city, please let me know and I am more than happy to help you and be your point of contact at the hotel! With kind regards,
Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a gorgeous hotel. We stayed for a weekend in January and loved every minute. The rooms are beautiful, very spacious, very clean and the modern designs really make it stand out. The location is great and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Not being from the area the staff went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. The bar is also worth checking out. Overall the Missoni is a huge recommendation!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charl0tte_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Charl0tte_1992, Thank you very much for your five star review and your wonderful comments! Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away in January, hope the weather treated you well too? We hope to see you back at Hotel Missoni in not too distant future. Have a lovely start of March, With kind regards,
Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Was booked into this hotel with my wife for a night as a gift for Christmas (we were going to a show at theatre) the room was very comfortable robes , slippers supplied and also nespresso coffee machine in room also free morning paper ,staff were also very helpful and the breakfast selection was very good cooked , fruit cereals would visit again but would need to be on a special rate . Only down side would be extortionate prices for items from mini bar in room £2.50 for normal sized bag of crisps , £13 for half bottle of wine ???

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulstewart348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Paulstewart348,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Missoni. I am very pleased to read that you had such a great overall experience and that you found the room amenities so appealing. I am sorry however that you felt the minbar prices were expensive. I hope this does not deter you from coming back and enjoying out Missoni hospitality in the future. We look forward to the opportunity to look after you once again,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Missoni hotel décor is fabulous and the food did not disappoint
beautifully presented ,friendly helpful service and not too pricey
lovely for a special occasion.
very easily accessible from Waverly station

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Jackie L,

Thank you so much for your short but sweet review of Hotel Missoni. Absolutely delighted you had such a positive experience with us in Edinburgh and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future. Please get in touch with me if you are planning another trip to Scotland,
Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location. There seems to be a number of poor reviews regarding the breakfast but we found the service to be excellent and there was plenty to choose from on the buffet and our cooked breakfast was lovely. Reason it lost a star - electric shocks whenever we touched anything in the corridors, especially the lift (apparently a problem with the new carpet), and when we arrived back from a long day of sightseeing at around 3.30pm our room still hadn't been cleaned, so we ended up having to vacate the room whilst housekeeping came, delaying our afternoon nap and resulting in an even larger bar bill!! There was a minor discrepancy with the bill but this was resolved immediately and politely.
Loved the Nespresso machine in the room rather than the usual crappy Nescafé sachets that are normally provided!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beckopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Beckopt,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased you had a great stay with us in Edinburgh and that you felt the hotel was ideally situated. We are located in the heart of the city on the royal mile only a stone’s throw away from the many major attractions that our wonderful city has to offer.

It is however a shame that we missed out on receiving the illusive 5th star rating on this forum after you encountered a few niggles. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni in order to make it up to you. Honestly, we really enjoyed the chance to look after you and cannot wait for your return; do please get in touch with me directly if you are planning another trip. I hope you had a safe journey home,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing