We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner at Cucina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner at Cucina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I visited the hotel on the 13th of February to celebrate my partner's birthday. I was not sure if we would get a table at the restaurant as it would be taken over by couples celebrating their love. But we did!

We had first a drink at the bar before dinner and then head upstairs. The guys at the bar told us to do not worry about the bill as they would add it to our dinner. Nice touch! Nothing to worry then. We booked an early dinner as you need to be realistic when you try to book places at the very last minute.

We were welcomed and taken to our table, offered appertives and menus. We kindly accepted and then we started enjoying. We had starters, mains and fried courgettes as side dishes (must have them) so therefore we spent a good 2 hours in the restaurant.

I had a great time with different wines for starters and mains. I have been reading reviews saying that service is slow but in my opinion if I go to ENJOY dinner I would expect to be at least 2 hours in a restaurant. People has been writting that service is slow but I do not go to restaurants to be rushed and out in an hour! I go there to enjoy the time and talk with my partner. If you do not like the concept of talking, relax and enjoy a nice dinner without being rushed, maybe then Cucina is not your place.

Will be back many times as I have been before.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosePLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear JosePLP, I am very happy to hear that you had an amazing experience in our Cucina restaurant when celebrating your partner’s birthday. It is indeed ideal place for indulgent and relaxed dinner; you can just sit back and enjoy the excellent food and drinks. I hope we will see you at the hotel very soon, even if you are popping in for a nice refreshing cocktail. With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,725
    630
    204
    61
    38
See reviews for
281
1,493
96
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My family and i stayed at the start of December and although the hotel was very busy they was exceptionally attentive to us throughout our stay. Also the rooms are beautiful with incredible views of the city and its perfectly located. Breakfast was delicious and again the staff here were more that friendly and helpful.

One of the best stays at a hotel ive had and i would and i do constantly recommend this place to all!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazaroo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Dazaroo32, Thank you very much for your five star comments! December is such a nice time to visit Edinburgh and most of our rooms give you a spectacular view over the city. I am glad to hear that you had fantastic time! Please let me know if you are planning on returning to Edinburgh and I will more than happy to help you. Best wishes, Henna Kapulainen ,Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I went with my partner and our friends, our rooms were gorgeous. Ours looked over the Royal Mile and theirs has a roof top view where you could see over to Arthur's seat and the sea. The staff were really friendly and if you get a chance to try their Spa their staff and treatments are amazing. Cucina's food was definitely worth it's 5 stars. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Rowan M, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad to hear that you dined in our Cucina restaurant; the new menu is full of mouth watering Italian dishes! Have a great start for the spring and hope to see you soon! With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This is a fab hotel!! Loved every bit from the kilted welcome to dinner at Cucina!! Staff are super too, Ann, at the reception area was so helpful! Will deffo be back for seconds!

The bedrooms are lovely and the decor is just fantastic! Great mini bar!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOLOMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear SOLOMCC, thank you for your five stars review and that you have taken the time to share it with everyone! I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us! I will make sure that your comments will be passed on to the whole team and especially to Ann who you mentioned on your review. Hope to see you soon back again at Hotel Missoni! With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The decor of the room was super chic! Love the state of the art Bang and Olsen TV and walk in rain shower. All items in room of the highest spec and H Missoni does live up to its 5 star status. I thought the fresh milk in the fridge was an extra nice touch as most hotels provide UHT milk which tastes yucky! The staff were attentive to all requests and v willing to please. Continental breakfast was sufficient and fresh and no need for a cooked breakfast. Didn't try Cucina's food but perhaps next time. Would recommend this hotel for those seeking a bit of Italiano luxury.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Sandie C, I would like to thank you for your amazing review! I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel Missoni on you recent visit to Edinburgh. If you are planning on returning to the city, please let me know and I am more than happy to help you and be your point of contact at the hotel! With kind regards,
Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a gorgeous hotel. We stayed for a weekend in January and loved every minute. The rooms are beautiful, very spacious, very clean and the modern designs really make it stand out. The location is great and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Not being from the area the staff went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. The bar is also worth checking out. Overall the Missoni is a huge recommendation!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charl0tte_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Charl0tte_1992, Thank you very much for your five star review and your wonderful comments! Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away in January, hope the weather treated you well too? We hope to see you back at Hotel Missoni in not too distant future. Have a lovely start of March, With kind regards,
Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Was booked into this hotel with my wife for a night as a gift for Christmas (we were going to a show at theatre) the room was very comfortable robes , slippers supplied and also nespresso coffee machine in room also free morning paper ,staff were also very helpful and the breakfast selection was very good cooked , fruit cereals would visit again but would need to be on a special rate . Only down side would be extortionate prices for items from mini bar in room £2.50 for normal sized bag of crisps , £13 for half bottle of wine ???

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulstewart348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Paulstewart348,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Missoni. I am very pleased to read that you had such a great overall experience and that you found the room amenities so appealing. I am sorry however that you felt the minbar prices were expensive. I hope this does not deter you from coming back and enjoying out Missoni hospitality in the future. We look forward to the opportunity to look after you once again,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing