We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved the missoni experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I loved the missoni experience!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My friends and I had a wonderful 2 night break in the missoni in edinburgh.the decor throughout is so bright and modern. The food was excellent and every member of staff was pleasant, welcoming and seemed to be loving their job.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Patricia H, Thank you for your excellent review! I am so glad to hear that you had great time with us and enjoyed your Missoni experience. We strive to make sure all our guests feel completely at home while staying with us, so we are very thankful to hear that you and your friends had such a nice break. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni. Please let me know if you are coming back to Edinburgh and I am more than happy to help you! With best wishes, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    638
    206
    62
    40
See reviews for
290
1,522
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

In town one night for business; the great service starts the moment you walk in.Very responsive whether it was in the bar (quickly requested our order) or in delivering the ice to the room. The colours and furnishings were a feast for the eyes. The rooms were thoughtfully set up. My only disappointments were the lack of a bathtub, the hard mattress,no electrical plugs at the bedside, and I could hear the street revellers after a late night football game from my first floor room.

Room Tip: Go high or avoid the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Lisa B, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am absolutely delighted to hear that you felt welcome and well looked after during your stay at Hotel Missoni. If you are planning on coming back to Edinburgh, please let me know and I would be more than happy to assist you and make sure are again well looked after. With best wishes, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Spent a very pleasant afternoon sampling the afternoon tea and cocktails on offer at Hotel Missoni. Choice of goodies on offer was excellent and the staff were very attentive - will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear kate n,Thank you for your great comments! I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us! We are soon launching our new spring/summer afternoon menu, you will definitively have to come back to the hotel and sample it too! I hope to see you soon, with kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we didn't get too much time in the hotel with a short but busy weekend planned although we can say this is a very smart, designer hotel with excellent service. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and all seemed focused on giving their guests a great experience.
In terms of location it is perfect. Right on the edge of Grassmarket (only a minutes walk away) with its quirky independent shops, 3 minutes walk away from the castle and only a short walk to the new side of town which is the other side of the train station. If location is important to you and you want a quality designer hotel then stay here.

We stayed in a Missoni room on the second floor. A nice size room, very smart and trendy with a Bang & Olufsen TV and a large modern bathroom with oversize walk in rainfall shower.
The pillows were very soft and only one each side so could have done with a couple more.

We had breakfast in our room which we enjoyed. £13.50 for continental breakfast but we also ordered hot food to complement it. Overall a very nice breakfast.

A very nice hotel and we would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank onenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear onenil, Thank you for your fabulous review! I am very pleased to hear that you found the room good size and comfortable, and the rainfall shower is amazing and so relaxing! I am also happy to hear that you opted for our breakfast in bed, it is nice to get the breakfast delivered to your room and enjoy it in your room. Please let me know if you are coming to stay with us again, and I will make sure that we will have extra pillows in the room for your arrival. With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the proximity to the castle and easy access to the attractions of Edinburgh. The rooms are modern and stark in style but at the same time are clean and comfortable. This hotel is fine for maybe 2 nights but I would not suggest a lengthy stay. The staff are helpful and attentive. The only complaint was that the AV equipment in the conference room failed on both days which was disruptive at the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear LondonSunseeker22, Thank you for your comments and taking the time to share it with all of us. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Missoni! I do apologise for the technical issues you experienced in our conference facilities, if I may ask you to contact me directly and we could discuss this in person. With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It was a great surprise i went for my birthday arranged by my partner it was outstanding the service we wer stayin for a night out and to go to a show we are young and great with us and obviously we wer drinkin and i took a notion for mash potato lol and at 3 oclock were more then happy to oblige and as it was my birthday the gave us a comlamentry blubery tart and a birthday card amazing well worth the money ovo expensive but lived up to the standard great sleep too

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Steph C, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with all of us! I am so glad to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us and you had a great birthday visit to Edinburgh. We hope to see you again, please let me know if there is anything I can assist you with. Best wishes, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 with my wife for a long weekend having never visited Edinburgh. The location of the hotel is perfect, nice walk to the castle and also a short walk to the German/Scottish Market (at Xmas time of year). Parking is available which saves the hassel of trying to park anywere else. The rooms are great, can tell this is a new hotel, Couldn't fault the service, with complementary drinks from the mini bar and free movies on the TV. Beds are comfy and the shower is great!. Loved this hotel and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Tal S, Thank you for taking the time to write your five star review, it is always nice to get great feedback from our guests! Christmas time is truly magical in Edinburgh with so many things to do and experience. If you haven’t been in the city in warmer months though, I can highly recommend visiting the city then too! Please let me know if you are planning on coming back to Edinburgh, I would be more than happy assist you with everything. With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing