We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and eye watering!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #32 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cruden Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Modern and eye watering!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed two nights in this ultra modern hotel with eye watering choices of colours and designs throughout the hotel. From the Missoni design kilted doorman to the reception desk clerks and breakfast staff, we had nothing but excellent service. They were extremely helpful and friendly at all times. Bedroom was the Maggiore which was spacious and well appointed but why do hotels only provide one armchair and one desk chair when there is ample room for two armchairs so that a couple could sit and enjoy a coffee together? Bathroom had a rain drop shower and lovely toiletries.

Breakfast was a plentiful cold buffet selection but perhaps could have benefited from more Scottish breads, rolls, oatcakes etc rather than the ubiquitous and very boring small Danish pastries.
My biggest criticism would be that you are only allowed one item from the hot breakfast selection and for some unknown reason, in Scotland's capital city, porridge was included in this menu along with bacon, eggs etc. Surely porridge should be on offer with the other cereals and not included with the cooked items? We've just returned from a tour of Asia where delicious porridge was available every morning as standard, in all the hotels we stayed in. A lesson to be learned here
Missoni.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being just on the Royal Mile with the castle nearby. Perhaps not for the less able as there are many, many steps or hills to be negotiated in order to reach Princes Street and the rest of Edinburgh's attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Carol P,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with is in Edinburgh and that you felt so well looked after by our team at Hotel Missoni. Excellent service is what we strive for day in day out, so it is reviews like yours, that make all our hard work worthwhile.

I have made sure your feedback regarding the breakfast items has been passed onto our Head chef for review. We really appreciate your thoughts and thank you for bringing them to our attention. It is our number one aim to listen to what our guests are saying about us so that we can continue to adapt and strive for greater things in the future.
We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    645
    207
    62
    41
See reviews for
296
1,533
97
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Wonderful hotel to spent your long weekend in Edinburg. Even though the personnel are mostly from out of town they are knowledgable and so very helpful. The rooms are beautiful, the lobby welcoming and the food quite allright.
Pricey but beautifully located.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilanaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Ilanaki,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Missoni experience. I am delighted to read that you were so well looked after by our team in Edinburgh. We have a unique Universal Conceirge concept at the hotel where everyone is empowered and encouraged to engage and help our guests with all aspects of their stay, to ensure that they are as relaxed as possible. We really do provide a one stop shop for any information that are guests are looking for. Please do come back and stay again, you are very welcome anytime.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed there in March for one night as a deal. Really impressed by service from concierge in Missoni kilt ...reception staff ....and room. We had a room on the first floor which although had no view was lovely, clean and a bit quirky!

As part of our deal we had Prosecco in room and dinner and breakfast in Cucina which was excellent but because it was a Monday there was no atmosphere which is understandable. Breakfast was excellent and on checkout spoke to Jamie? Who was very pleasant.

I am returning next week with my daughter and hope to receive the same service.

Room Tip: Think a high floor would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Ilanaki,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Missoni experience. I am delighted to read that you were so well looked after by our team in Edinburgh. We have a unique Universal Conceirge concept at the hotel where everyone is empowered and encouraged to engage and help our guests with all aspects of their stay, to ensure that they are as relaxed as possible. We really do provide a one stop shop for any information that are guests are looking for. Please do come back and stay again, you are very welcome anytime.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My stay at the Hotel Missoni was wonderful. Our room was perfect and although it wasn't quite ready straight away, the porters had no problem taking our luggage and storing for the couple of hours needed.
Breakfast was lovely, fortunately not too busy as had been mentioned in other reviews.
Room facilities were perfect, very comfortable beds, plenty of towels and lovely dressing gowns. The shower was out of this world!
Overall, a fantastic stay, so much so that I am returning on July, this time with my mother, just to show off how wonderful a hotel this really is.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi Hannah D,

Absolutely delighted you had such a fabulous stay with us. I have ensured that your wonderful feedback has been shared with our fantastic team, which will no doubt ensure we all strive to provide even better 5 star service in the future!

I am very happy to be your personal point of call for your trip in July, please touch base with me directly if there is anything I can do prior to your arrival to make your upcoming stay more relaxing and comfortable.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is by far my favourite meeting place with friends - prosecco on tap is our tipple before we head on for dinner - usually next door to Ondine or Angels with Bagpipes. The bar at Missioni is funky and staff very professional - always great buzz.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mary S,

If prosecco is your tipple, then look no further. We are the only property in Edinburgh that serves prosecco on tap. Bar Missoni is the best destination to enjoy great prosecco and top 5 star friendly service in the city. Ondine and Angels with Bagpipes are fab, definitely worth a try if have time.
Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us. I too, like your restaurant recommendations.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Missoni is a beautiful excellent located with a perfect service hotel in Edinburgh, UK.
Excellent breakfast, excellent bar and boutique rooms.
When you get out, you are just few steps from all the attractions in Edinburgh.
I recommend it without any doubt.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear SBScreen,

I am so pleased you had such a fabulous stay with us and thank you so much for your kind plaudit of us being the Best Hotel in Edinburgh. We hope to become your home away from home if you are planning a return trip. Please get in touch with me directly for the best available rates and offers. Thank you for your review,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a party in Edinburgh. We were very impressed with the room which was beautifully designed and had lots of great features. There was a bang and olufson tv and nespresso coffee machine together with slippers bathrobes and a mini bar. The bathroom was like a wet room and had an amazing shower. The location of the hotel was fab and our room looked out onto the royal mile. We had a small problem as the sound on our tv wasn't working but we called reception and this was attended to and fixed within 10 minutes. All staff were courteous and helpful. The only thing that let this hotel down slightly was the breakfast on Sunday morning. When we went for breakfast the dining room was full and we were asked to wait in another rather drafty room. There were quite a few other people waiting and there wasn't great organisation as noone seemed to know who was first in the queue. A couple of women who came in after us complained and were seated before us which we didn't think was fair. However the breakfast was nice when we got it. The issues with breakfast were a shame as overall this is an excellent hotel and we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely come back, even if just for the amazing cocktails!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemmaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear GemmaM21,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Hotel Missoni experience following your stay in Edinburgh. I do hope that you and your husband enjoyed the party you attended? I am happy to read that you liked the design of your bedroom and the location of the hotel was well suited for your visit.

I am sorry you were made to wait for your breakfast however happy to read that you enjoyed your food when you did get seated. We always do out very best to communicate busy breakfast times to our guests. On the odd occasion there can be a short wait however disturbance is always kept to a minimum. I look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the future,
Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
911 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing