We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent location, right on the Royal Mile within 200 yards of Edinburgh Castle. Also great for the buses and 10 mins walk from the train station.

The hotel is very modern, trendy and colourful. We were given a room upgrade upon arrival and had an excellent room on the third floor. All really trendy and colourful. The little touches are there - a lovely walk in shower to fit two people, sliding mirrors, etc.

The breakfast was very good, as was the staff service in general.

Highly recommended.

PS - Thank you for the Thorntons Easter egg. A very nice touch indeed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Pieman79,

Thank you so much for your glowing 5 star review of Hotel Missoni following your stay in Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had such a fantastic experience and that you enjoyed your easter egg. I hope you have a fantastic Easter weekend and look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is one of the best Hotels we have stayed in! So beautifully modern and attention to detail throughout was exceptional! I loved all the wonderful colours and patterns. My husband and I stayed for one night bed and breakfast and loved it! Room was very clean and luxurious with lots of lovely little extra's plus we got a lovely card and Easter egg in our room! Staff were very attentive and very friendly. There was something for everyone at breakfast with a massive choice of breads, cakes, pastries, cereals, fruit, meats and of course something hot! Also so central just off the Royal mile excellent location! We will definitely be staying again and recommending to friends and family! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyjt02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Lucyjt02,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. I am absolutely delighted to read that you plan to return in the future and will be recommending us to friends and family. Please feel free to get in touch with me when you are next up in Edinburgh and I will be very happy to look after your booking. Have a great Easter weekend.

James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for 4 nights for a conference on booking.com with two colleagues and we were all allocated dud rooms - mine was overlooking back road which was basically just above a student night club - I was kept awake the whole of one night and then asked to move rooms - the girl on reception had the cheek to offer me another room on same side of hotel but higher up - obviously this is what booking.com guests get - only after further complaints did I get a good room - but still overlooking front road - it was somewhat noisy and I had to put air con on to get to sleep. The bed however was way better than first room. My facit - if you book via booking.com you only get the worst rooms - which isn't ok! Rooms are well designed and have a great rain shower, TV and mini bar. Breakfast was fab, reception and bar were a bit weird and basic - ambiance could be alot better with a bit more of a hint of luxury. Location excellent - just beware fo room incase of exterior noise and use of air con can be useful to SLEEP....

Room Tip: Rooms facing interior rear are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaZug_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear lindaZug_Switzerland,
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise coming from the streets. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future and please let me assure that we do not choose the rooms based on via guests have booked the hotel and I am sorry to hear that you felt this way. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.

With kind regards,

Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Decided to have a night out in Edinburgh for my Husbands birthday, saw a great deal with Travel Zoo and so decided to go to the Hotel Missoni, B+B package, free mini bar ( limited refreshments, but which included 2 half bottles of wine, so really very good). Room was very modern, decent size well furnished , nice shower room , high floor nice view. High spec fixtures and fittings, very modern I liked it, but may not be every ones taste. Breakfast was really good and service from staff excellent, very friendly and attentive. Parking for the one night was exorbitant £35 however that's what it costs in the city centre I suppose, and it was easy, keys taken off you and car parked for you and delivered back to you at the front door on departure. Considering the deal we got through travel zoo, it was a steal for Edinburgh 5* hotel, if paying rack rate would be very pricy. Victoria street, grass market and high street all on the door step, so lots to choice for eating out or for a night out. We did not use the spa on this visit but I am sure it would be good.

Room Tip: High floor front facing is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Astons,

Thank you so much for your comments following your stay with us in Edinburgh. I am pleased that you mentioned our car park in your review. We have a small underground area underneath the hotel and run a personal valet service. Simply park your car outside the front of the hotel in the lay by, our famous Missoni kilted doormen will help you in with your bags and whisk your car away to be parked in our manned and secure car park. Charges are £35 per day and is slightly more expensive than a public car park in Edinburgh however, with the peace of mind of having your car parked safely onsite, our guests prefer the service we offer. Please however note that this must be prebooked to avoid disappointment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed two nights in this ultra modern hotel with eye watering choices of colours and designs throughout the hotel. From the Missoni design kilted doorman to the reception desk clerks and breakfast staff, we had nothing but excellent service. They were extremely helpful and friendly at all times. Bedroom was the Maggiore which was spacious and well appointed but why do hotels only provide one armchair and one desk chair when there is ample room for two armchairs so that a couple could sit and enjoy a coffee together? Bathroom had a rain drop shower and lovely toiletries.

Breakfast was a plentiful cold buffet selection but perhaps could have benefited from more Scottish breads, rolls, oatcakes etc rather than the ubiquitous and very boring small Danish pastries.
My biggest criticism would be that you are only allowed one item from the hot breakfast selection and for some unknown reason, in Scotland's capital city, porridge was included in this menu along with bacon, eggs etc. Surely porridge should be on offer with the other cereals and not included with the cooked items? We've just returned from a tour of Asia where delicious porridge was available every morning as standard, in all the hotels we stayed in. A lesson to be learned here
Missoni.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being just on the Royal Mile with the castle nearby. Perhaps not for the less able as there are many, many steps or hills to be negotiated in order to reach Princes Street and the rest of Edinburgh's attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Carol P,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with is in Edinburgh and that you felt so well looked after by our team at Hotel Missoni. Excellent service is what we strive for day in day out, so it is reviews like yours, that make all our hard work worthwhile.

I have made sure your feedback regarding the breakfast items has been passed onto our Head chef for review. We really appreciate your thoughts and thank you for bringing them to our attention. It is our number one aim to listen to what our guests are saying about us so that we can continue to adapt and strive for greater things in the future.
We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Wonderful hotel to spent your long weekend in Edinburg. Even though the personnel are mostly from out of town they are knowledgable and so very helpful. The rooms are beautiful, the lobby welcoming and the food quite allright.
Pricey but beautifully located.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilanaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Ilanaki,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Missoni experience. I am delighted to read that you were so well looked after by our team in Edinburgh. We have a unique Universal Conceirge concept at the hotel where everyone is empowered and encouraged to engage and help our guests with all aspects of their stay, to ensure that they are as relaxed as possible. We really do provide a one stop shop for any information that are guests are looking for. Please do come back and stay again, you are very welcome anytime.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed there in March for one night as a deal. Really impressed by service from concierge in Missoni kilt ...reception staff ....and room. We had a room on the first floor which although had no view was lovely, clean and a bit quirky!

As part of our deal we had Prosecco in room and dinner and breakfast in Cucina which was excellent but because it was a Monday there was no atmosphere which is understandable. Breakfast was excellent and on checkout spoke to Jamie? Who was very pleasant.

I am returning next week with my daughter and hope to receive the same service.

Room Tip: Think a high floor would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Ilanaki,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Missoni experience. I am delighted to read that you were so well looked after by our team in Edinburgh. We have a unique Universal Conceirge concept at the hotel where everyone is empowered and encouraged to engage and help our guests with all aspects of their stay, to ensure that they are as relaxed as possible. We really do provide a one stop shop for any information that are guests are looking for. Please do come back and stay again, you are very welcome anytime.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £147 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing