We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendido Missoni”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Splendido Missoni”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had one of the best hotel experiences ever. I am from Edinburgh originally and have a good knowledge of other hotels locally but this surpasses them all! I think the staff were among the most Friendly/ Efficient I have ever come across. and always had a welcoming smile. The location could not be better, yes this can lead to associated street noise but if this bothers you just ask for a quieter room on check-in. Breakfast was plentiful and varied with a great choice of hot options. Our room was beautifully appointed with all and more than we could ask for. We received an upgrade which is a very welcome bonus. The bar is a great place to enjoy a wide range of drinks which can sometimes make it difficult to leave due to the great atmosphere. Afternoon tea with prosecco is a must! I did not have the opportunity to sample dinner but that will be on my to do list for next time. Finally I have to mention 'Dan the Man' on reception/check-in who would without doubt receive our certificate of excellence for his welcome, kindness, banter and Aussie charm ***** :)!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard at the back may not have the view but are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Annieevans,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your stay. Hotel Missoni is situated in the heart of the city and like all city centre hotels we do have to deal with a certain level of street noise, however I am really pleased to read that you would encourage guests to call prior to arrival or let us know on check in of any rooms preferences they may have. This is music to my ears! We have a 24rs hour Guest Services team dedicated to getting to know as much information as possible about our guests before, during and after their visit to our fabulous hotel. We do our very best to meet all guest requests so if there is anything that would make our guests more comfortable and relaxed during their time with us we would want to be informed!

Thank you again for singling out “Dan the Man” who works at the Front Desk. He is a real asset to the hotel and personifies all that is great about Hotel Missoni. I have made sure that your feedback has been circulated, which will no doubt ensure we strive for even greater things in the future. You are very welcome back anytime and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,740
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
286
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Brill hotel. Great location for us. Always love staying close to the Mile and Grassmarket area. This was perfect.
Rooms were bright, spacious, lovely bathroom. Good facilities available
Staff could not have been nicer. So chatty and helpful.
Hotel bar do brilliant cocktails, reasonably priced.
I cannot wait to go back and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear jc1102,

Thank you for your fabulous review. I am delighted that you have mentioned the location of Hotel Missoni. There really is no other hotel better situated, right in the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town, only a stone throw away from major sites and attractions, which is why we are such a popular choice for guests travelling to our wonderful city. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

One of the best hotels i´ve ever stayed. The location is perfect. The staff was incredible. They´re were always trying to help, so friendly. Breakfast delicious, go for the eggs benedict. The room is really beautiful and confortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maikel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Maikel D,

What a delight to read your review! Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Please do not forget about us; spread the Missoni word and we look forward to welcoming you back with friends and family next time,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First visit to Missoni and wont be the last.

The only issue I had was with the restaurant staff, we ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and on both occasions the staff werent attentive and their attitude towards us was quite off. I cant fault the food as it was delicious and the variety and selection was outstanding.

The room was spotless and view from the 4th floor over Edinburgh was spectacular.

Dont let the restaurant staff put you off going to the Missoni. Its well worth a stay and highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Foodlover392,

Thank you so much for your review. I am very pleased to ready that it won’t be your last stay with us in Edinburgh. I would however like the opportunity to speak to you directly regarding your feedback concerning Cucina. I am truly sorry that you felt the service wasn’t as attentive as it should have been. I hope to reassure you on the telephone that this certainly is not our normal standard so please feel free to contact me on 0131 220 6666 to discuss your comments in more detail. I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for a business event. A small meeting on day 1 followed by the mixology course, which went down a treat. Much larger meeting on day 2 followed by private dining. Service was excellent, last minute changes and additions to accommodate dietary needs. Nothing was too much trouble. For the private dining we selected from the Italian sharing menu, everybody, even our most notorious 'plain eater' loved the selections. Cocktails at the bar were excellent... Now a chocolate martini fan ;0)...who knew. Rooms were really modern and funky but in a good way. Not the cheapest place to stay, but was definitely good value for money for the level of service and quality provided. Will be saving up to take hubby for a visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear MrsHoff,

I am so pleased you “absolutely loved it,” we absolutely love your review! Thank you so much for providing valuable feedback on your experience, which will no doubt encourage us to strive to deliver even better 5 star service in the future. You are very welcome back anytime; please touch base with me directly if you would like to stay again,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khor, Qatar
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This was one of my best experiences I ever had with a hotel. Precisely as it was advertised for, nothing less than expected. Spacious room, comfy bed, fantastic bathroom. Service is at it's best, nothing was ever late, either on time or before time. Whatever you may need they'll make sure it will be done, in or out of the hotel. Very friendly staff, smiling all the time and taking care if every detail in your stay. In room dining was okay but the restaurant, Cucina, that's a place you don't want to miss; breakfast makes you start your day HAPPY. Lunch and dinner are absolutely wonderful. Excellent excellent service. Thank you million times.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank abdulaziz_alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Lucyjt02,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. I am absolutely delighted to read that you plan to return in the future and will be recommending us to friends and family. Please feel free to get in touch with me when you are next up in Edinburgh and I will be very happy to look after your booking. Have a great Easter weekend!

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent location, right on the Royal Mile within 200 yards of Edinburgh Castle. Also great for the buses and 10 mins walk from the train station.

The hotel is very modern, trendy and colourful. We were given a room upgrade upon arrival and had an excellent room on the third floor. All really trendy and colourful. The little touches are there - a lovely walk in shower to fit two people, sliding mirrors, etc.

The breakfast was very good, as was the staff service in general.

Highly recommended.

PS - Thank you for the Thorntons Easter egg. A very nice touch indeed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Pieman79,

Thank you so much for your glowing 5 star review of Hotel Missoni following your stay in Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had such a fantastic experience and that you enjoyed your easter egg. I hope you have a fantastic Easter weekend and look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,535 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing