We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missoni is Marvelous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #31 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Missoni is Marvelous!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent 2 nights here on a deal we found on the British Airways website. We are a married couple in our 50s who live in London, and this was our first trip to Scotland. The Missoni is marvelous in every way!

From check-in to check-out, the staff were efficient and friendly. Our room on the 5th floor (an upgrade, much appreciated - thank you!) had a fantastic view, and was immaculately clean. We did not eat at the restaurant for dinner, but our deal included breakfast, and we loved it - service was excellent and the food selection and quality was brilliant.The location of the hotel is perfect - we walked everywhere we wanted/needed to go and saw a lot of Edinburgh thanks to the great location.

If you want a great hotel in a great location with great service, the Missoni is the Edinburgh hotel you should book. We will definitely recommend Missoni to everyone, and if we're ever back in Edinburgh, would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: 507 has a corner window with a FABULOUS view over Edinburgh (see my photograph)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear TealnLondon,

Thank you for your amazing review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your Missoni experience here in Edinburgh! The location of the hotel is indeed excellent and it gives you a very good starting point to explore the beautiful city. We hope to see you again at Hotel Missoni, summer for example is also a great time of the year to visit Edinburgh, with so many festivals and events going on. Have a lovely spring!

With best wishes
Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    637
    206
    62
    40
See reviews for
290
1,521
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My friend and I spent two nights this week at the Hotel and our experience was perfect. It is in an ideal location being just feet away from the Royal Mile and an easy walk from Princes Street. From start to finish the service was spot on; starting with the charming kilted man who opened our taxi door on arrival and carried in our cases to the charming kilted man who saw us out the door at the end of the stay. The hotel is stylishly decorated in the Missoni signature colours and design, also replicated in the staff uniforms and the whole experience is wonderful.

When we arrived, we discovered we had been given an upgrade to a Grandioso room, which was amazing. It was a great size, with good wardrobe space with enough hangers. There was a smart sitting area with a setee and armchair and a fantastic bathroom with a huge walk in shower, more like a wet room. The beds were very comfy and we loved the turn down service. The room also had a complimentary Nespresso machine and a large flat screen TV. Something I also loved were the large mirrors, often lacking in hotel rooms. Our room was located on the 1st floor of accomodation on the front corner of the hotel and we felt it was quiet and did not notice much noise; this was a Monday and Tuesday night.

We were impressed when we booked into the hotel to be personally shown up to our room by Ann who was on reception, she was very welcoming and so enthusiastic about the services the hotel has to offer, even filling the Nespresso machine and showing us how to work it.

We ate breakfast on two days, what a treat! The cold spread laid out for self service was varied and interesting and catered for all tastes. We had the cooked ' full scottish' on both days all delicious with really good quality ingredients. Nothing was too much trouble- I requested tomato juice, not on the menu, no problem.The woman on the next table ordered porridge, changed her mind and wanted pancakes so they brought her both. All of the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful, for particular mention was Pasquale, who did most of the serving at our table and was very helpful and charming.

We ate in Cucina, the hotel's dining room on our second night, we had a delicious meal. The menu was exciting and varied and the each course was cooked to perfection and again served by helpful and polite staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our waitress that night was Elaria (hope I have spelt this right), she was so lovely and helped to make our meal such a success. When there was a small glitch with my coffee order, she was very apologetic and gave us some complimentary sweets to make up.

Throughout our stay, we punctuated all our activities with stop offs in the hotel bar. The cocktails are amazing, with lots on offer. The bar staff are reflective of the whole service ethos of the hotel and are happy to spend time helping you to select the right drink, supplimenting them with big jars of nuts and complimentary italian custard filled doughnuts. Many of the cocktails have been designed by the bar staff and they show genuine pride in talking you through them.

I know I have written a book here, there is so much more I could write such is my enthusiasm about the hotel. In summary, it is not cheap but I think it is very good value and you get so much for the money you pay. Would I recommend the Missoni to others; without a doubt and we will not now stay anywhere else on our annual trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sharon K,

I am very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us at Hotel Missoni! Thank you also mentioning especially Ann, Pasquale and Elaria, I will make sure that they will receive your kind comments. I hope that you will be returning to the hotel and to Edinburgh soon, please let me know if there is anything I can assist you with!

With best wishes
Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from Edinburgh after booking a Travel Zoo deal to this hotel for my birthday and what a treat it was. Definitely different to other hotels, particularly for the helpful staff attitude - a case of yes, no problem, we will everything we can to help you. As a tour manager I rarely see such willingness and proactive behaviour at this level so big 5* tick from me. The rooms were colourful and trendy with just about everything you might need with plenty of space. Lovely products to try in the bathroom, a coffee machine, several different types of tea, big bed, free Wi-Fi and plenty of towels. If you book the hotel car parking (£35) you can park for a long as you need, no restrictions, so we did not have to dash back after checking out. The hotel was in a good location for sightseeing. Breakfast was good, we had a full cooked and fruit/yoghurt from the buffet although we also noticed they didn't clear pots away very well. You will be impressed with the hotel overall, we were.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Denor2014,

Thank you for your amazing comments and taking the time to share your experience with everyone! I am delighted to hear that you had excellent stay with us at Hotel Missoni. We hope to see you soon at the hotel again! With kind regards,

Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had one of the best hotel experiences ever. I am from Edinburgh originally and have a good knowledge of other hotels locally but this surpasses them all! I think the staff were among the most Friendly/ Efficient I have ever come across. and always had a welcoming smile. The location could not be better, yes this can lead to associated street noise but if this bothers you just ask for a quieter room on check-in. Breakfast was plentiful and varied with a great choice of hot options. Our room was beautifully appointed with all and more than we could ask for. We received an upgrade which is a very welcome bonus. The bar is a great place to enjoy a wide range of drinks which can sometimes make it difficult to leave due to the great atmosphere. Afternoon tea with prosecco is a must! I did not have the opportunity to sample dinner but that will be on my to do list for next time. Finally I have to mention 'Dan the Man' on reception/check-in who would without doubt receive our certificate of excellence for his welcome, kindness, banter and Aussie charm ***** :)!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard at the back may not have the view but are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Annieevans,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your stay. Hotel Missoni is situated in the heart of the city and like all city centre hotels we do have to deal with a certain level of street noise, however I am really pleased to read that you would encourage guests to call prior to arrival or let us know on check in of any rooms preferences they may have. This is music to my ears! We have a 24rs hour Guest Services team dedicated to getting to know as much information as possible about our guests before, during and after their visit to our fabulous hotel. We do our very best to meet all guest requests so if there is anything that would make our guests more comfortable and relaxed during their time with us we would want to be informed!

Thank you again for singling out “Dan the Man” who works at the Front Desk. He is a real asset to the hotel and personifies all that is great about Hotel Missoni. I have made sure that your feedback has been circulated, which will no doubt ensure we strive for even greater things in the future. You are very welcome back anytime and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Brill hotel. Great location for us. Always love staying close to the Mile and Grassmarket area. This was perfect.
Rooms were bright, spacious, lovely bathroom. Good facilities available
Staff could not have been nicer. So chatty and helpful.
Hotel bar do brilliant cocktails, reasonably priced.
I cannot wait to go back and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear jc1102,

Thank you for your fabulous review. I am delighted that you have mentioned the location of Hotel Missoni. There really is no other hotel better situated, right in the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town, only a stone throw away from major sites and attractions, which is why we are such a popular choice for guests travelling to our wonderful city. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

One of the best hotels i´ve ever stayed. The location is perfect. The staff was incredible. They´re were always trying to help, so friendly. Breakfast delicious, go for the eggs benedict. The room is really beautiful and confortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maikel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Maikel D,

What a delight to read your review! Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Please do not forget about us; spread the Missoni word and we look forward to welcoming you back with friends and family next time,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First visit to Missoni and wont be the last.

The only issue I had was with the restaurant staff, we ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and on both occasions the staff werent attentive and their attitude towards us was quite off. I cant fault the food as it was delicious and the variety and selection was outstanding.

The room was spotless and view from the 4th floor over Edinburgh was spectacular.

Dont let the restaurant staff put you off going to the Missoni. Its well worth a stay and highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Foodlover392,

Thank you so much for your review. I am very pleased to ready that it won’t be your last stay with us in Edinburgh. I would however like the opportunity to speak to you directly regarding your feedback concerning Cucina. I am truly sorry that you felt the service wasn’t as attentive as it should have been. I hope to reassure you on the telephone that this certainly is not our normal standard so please feel free to contact me on 0131 220 6666 to discuss your comments in more detail. I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing