We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern hotel with wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“modern hotel with wonderful location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we loved that this hotel is so stylish and trendy in the heart of old Edinburgh. Rooms are well equipped, complete amenities; Nespresso machine and Bang & Olufsen TV. Used to be a Missoni hotel, that's why interiors look are so stylish.

Breakfast is very good, they cook the hot meal upon order, while cold selection is buffet style.

Staff is very helpful in giving directions to various sites.

A short walk to the Edinburgh castle. And it's on the same street as the coffee shop (the Elephant Cafe) where JK Rowling wrote the Harry Potter series =)

Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: we stayed in the 4th floor, had a nice view of St George St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear pael,

Thank you for the fantastic review! Needless to say the most rewarding part of your feedback to read is the appraisal of the staff you have encountered. Top class, personal, 5 star service is what we are all about at G&V and I'm happy to hear that we contributed to make your stay as memorable as possible. Please come back soon, you are very welcome anytime!

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    653
    210
    62
    42
See reviews for
302
1,549
98
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Loved the decor here. Lots of colour everywhere. The dining room was bright!
Great room. Shower could have had a bit more water pressure but a small issue. Fab toiletries. Nice espresso machine.

We had a 4th floor room. Great views but some traffic noise in the morning as it overlooked the street. Not excessive however.

Breakfast was excellent. Freshly cooked food, and a good choice also.

The bar is smallish and trendy.

Great location. Plenty nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Public Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear yugs,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the style of the hotel and that the staff were able to look after you so well. We are so fortunate to have such a fabulous and experienced team who care passionately about providing only the very best for all of our guests at all times. We cannot wait to welcome you through our doors next and I am sure we will be able to repeat your positive experience once again!

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in April for 2 nights on a Travelzoo deal but you would never have known it as there was no compromise in service ,room or attitude.From the minute we checked in the staff were friendly,courteous & helpful.The rooms are very well equipped & our deal was including a free mini bar which was re stocked daily. The location could not be better for anything you are after in Edinburgh as its close to all of the cities sites & landmarks.We will definately be back the next time we are in the city,especially if the same deal was available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Gerry B,

Thank you for your fabulous review following your stay. I am delighted that our team were able to tick all the boxes to make your stay perfect. Please come back and bring all your friends!

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spectacular hotel in Edinburgh Scotland! The Staff was very delightful! The breakfast is very good with a variety of hot/cold meals. This is the first time that I have stayed in a top ranked hotel that did not have carpeting in the room, but it was VERY clean and well maintained! The amenities were well up to date. The only thing missing from this nice room was a refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. I'm not sure why hotels are skimping on the iron/ironing boards, but when people travel for business, this IS a necessity! I suppose you can call downstairs and have one delivered, but they are not that expensive and they should be included in ALL rooms.

The lights in the hall seemed to be motion activated. This was a nice touch such that the bright lights were not "blinding" after coming in from a light night at the office.

Overall, you will not be disappointed with this hotel. My compliments to the management that has kept their employees motivated.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms towards the center of the hotel on the lower floor. There seems to be small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Duck1963,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies that we did not show you the mini fridge in your room on arrival. I would also like to make a note of your preference for an iron and a board in your room so that we can be ready for your next stay but I am struggling to identify your reservation from your tripadvisor profile. Please feel free get in touch with me anytime so I can update your profile on our system. I do hope you had a safe journey home? We look forward to a next time,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stay for 2 nights, booked via hotels.com and did not feel like we were given an inferior room for booking through a 3rd party website. Really enjoyed this hotel!

Pros:
-easy to walk to from Waverly station
-pleasant check in
-delicious complimentary candies in the lobby
-helpful staff, especially Sam (I think that was her name) who provided us with a map and excellent meal recommendations despite our preference not to eat in the hotel
-close to the castle...close to pretty much everything, we were able to walk everywhere
-friendly doorman
-comfortable bed
-excellent amenities, well appointed room
-rain shower with good water pressure
-nice view from our 2nd story room
-held our bags in the lobby for us on check out day until we were ready to leave
-plenty of great places to eat nearby - try the Edinburgh Larder for breakfast

Things to know:
-we were granted a 30 min late check out, yet the doorman was sent to knock on our door before that time while we were showering/getting ready to leave
-we were lucky to have warm (yes, warm!) weather during our stay, and the lobby was kept very hot (maybe there isn't AC in the lobby) which was uncomfortable
-while Sam was very pleasant to work with, she was not there on our last day, and her replacement was not personable (for example, he acted like he did not remember us checking in our bags 5 minutes beforehand - odd on a quiet weekday)
-some things (like tissues for example) were not repleted in our room when it was serviced
-I had read when it was Hotel Missoni that the minibar was complimentary. During our stay, only the water and tea/coffee were complimentary. Not a problem for us, just FYI.

Overall will definitely stay here again on our future visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blimp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Blimp L,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us in Edinburgh; I can guarantee that we enjoyed looking after you. We realize there are plenty of places to choose from in our wonderful city so thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please do feel free to get in touch with me if you are ever planning a return to Edinburgh, we would be delighted to welcome you back,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in mid-May on a Travelzoo deal, which gave us the room, an upgrade and breakfast for £120. On check-in we were upgraded again to a 'muckle' room, which was perfect. From the 5th floor there's a great view out across the city, and the bed and bathroom were superb. If you like modern design this is the place for you, with bright colour combinations big mirrors and quirky details everywhere! You're perfectly placed for the city's main sights too, close to the Castle on the Royal Mile. There were many nice-looking restaurants nearby, but we chose to eat in the hotel's Cucina Italian, which was delicious. If I had any niggles, they were very minor: the pillows were too soft for us, even when we requested two extra; and while the food was excellent in the restaurant, the service was just a little slow, especially as it wasn't particularly busy. To balance that though, the staff were outstanding throughout - very helpful and attentive, obviously very well-trained. Overall, I'd recommend a stay here. I'd also recommend a visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia, a fascinating tour and brilliant value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear johnnyboy1959,

I am delighted to read that we were in a position to upgrade you to one of our Muckle rooms on the 5th floor over your stay in May. You are right; the views from the top floor of G&V are spectacular and well worth an upgrade, which start from only £35 per night!
It is a shame that we weren’t made aware of your pillow preference; we do have different pillows at the hotel so I would always urge guests to get in touch with our dedicated 24hr guest services team if there is anything we can do to make our guests’ stays more relaxing and comfortable, just ask, we are all very happy to help as best we can!

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the staff. I will make personal sure that your feedback is circulated to the team. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014 when it was still badged as Hotel Missoni. It is in a great location just off the Royal Mile which means most major tourist attractions are within walking distance. It has complimentary wi-fi available in the rooms and provided water, Nespresso coffee and a newspaper when we visited. It has great quirky decor and was clean and modern.
I am confined to a wheelchair and the disabled room was well set out and appropriate for use.
I especially liked the complimentary sweets in the reception area!
The only issue we had was a very noisy neighbour in the room adjoining us, thankfully they we only there one night - perhaps the sound proofing between adjoining rooms could be improved.

Room Tip: The disabled room is Room #410
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTravellersOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear DisTrav,

Thank you so much for your comments following your stay. I am very pleased to read that you found the hotel well situated in Edinburgh and that the accessible room well set out/ appropriate for use. Since your review I have been in touch with our maintenance team to check the sound proofing in all of our accessible rooms so that other guests do not experience the same disruption. Thank you for bringing this to our attention which will no doubt allow us to provide superior service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to G&V soon,

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
931 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,277 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing