We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Stay Central Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Inn Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,025)
Filter reviews
3,025 results
Traveller rating
1,980
709
225
64
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,980
709
225
64
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milefree mini barcucina restaurantgeorge iv bridgenespresso machinevictoria streetstylish hotelfloor to ceiling windowsrain showerturn down serviceeggs benedicthotel barperfect locationfabulous hotelarthur's seatbirthday treatloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,239 - 1,244 of 3,025 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at the G&V Hotel in the month of june.The location of the hotel is its first highlight.The staff at the reception and concierge was extremely helpful .Would like to mention Mark at the door,helped us with information of the city.
Rooms were good comfortable and well designed.I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lemoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear lemoner, Thank you for your amazing five star review! I am so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that our team at the hotel was helpful. Thank you also mentioning Mark, he truly is an asset to the hotel and I will make sure your comments are passed on to him. Hope to see you again! Best wishes, Henna Kapulainen Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thanks to its previous incarnation as the Missoni, the G&V is a very attractively designed hotel, with its lovely cocktail bar being particularly eye-catching. We were fortunate enough to be allocated a bright, colourful room on a high floor and so had plenty of natural light and a great view over the Royal Mile. The dramatic black-tiled bathroom had a nice powerful rain shower, lovely toiletries and good lighting.

We really enjoyed our five-night stay at this well-located hotel in the Old Town, but did, however, have two complaints. One concern was with the wi-fi which was extremely unreliable and kept dropping out, and the other was with the parking which, at 35 pounds a night, seemed exorbitant to me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Royal Mile, if possible, rather than one on George IV Bridge.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelLover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear TravelLover50, Thank you for your comments and feedback! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rain showers really are amazing and rooms themselves bright and comfortable as you mentioned. We offer valet parking service for our guests and as being in the city centre, the charge is indeed £35, I do appreciate your opinion for it being rather expensive though. I am sorry to hear that you had a poor WIFI connection, I hope one of my colleagues was able to help you with that during your stay! I hope you will be visiting us and Edinburgh again, and I wish you a lovely summer! With kind regards, Henna Kapulainen Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was amazing. Very modern.Very good position...close to everything.
Very close to Edinburgh castle. Concierge was very helpful. We had a fire alarm while there and the staff handled it with such efficiency. I would definitely stay there again and would recommed to my friends

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Helen B,

Thank you for your amazing review. I am pleased to read that your stay was not too disrupted by the fire alarm you experienced, which as you can imagine was completely unexpected. It is reassuring to know that all our health and safety training paid off and that we were able to handle the evacuation efficiently. Please come back and stay with your friends as soon as possible, you are all very welcome indeed!!

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The G&V is in a superb situation for Edinburgh Castle and The Royal Mile.It is my first stay in this hotel and itfulfilled all its claims as a 5 star property.the Italian influence is still primary and unless you dislike dots,squares and wavy lines you will appreciate its quirky decor.the rooms are of a high standard as you would expect for the price,staff are excellent and very helpful.breakfast was well presented and of good quality.if you are attending a gig or the Tattoo then this is the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afa22a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This place is clean and well managed. The decor was being updated when we visited and will be much more appealing when complete. The bar was open and modern with good food. The concierge was very helpful. The spa is tiny and not a significant feature of the hotel. The location near Edinburgh Castle, the museum, and the Royal Mile shopping area is excellent. However, it is not close to the train station or Princes Street. The rooms while creatively decorated are quite small and not very functional. It is a good hotel but not the best in Edinburgh.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BillinHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear BillinHam,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience at G&V during your stay in Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the location of the hotel suited the purpose of your visit. We are in a central location and, for the benefit of other tripadvisor users, only a 8 minute downhill walk to Waverley Station and Princes Street. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to G&V sometime soon. Have a fantastic summer!

Kind regards,

James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews