We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here for four nights in the end of July. The G&V is probably the best and most friendly hotel I have ever stayed at. Everyone, from the door staff to housekeeping, were extremely nice and friendly and really made a good impression.

I had a Braw Room which is a superior room. It turned out to be a corner room with a nice view of the Royal Mile and the George IV Bridge. The room had free perfectly working wifi, a laptop sized safe, lots of complimentary mineral water and a very nice bathroom with floor heating. The bed was comfortable, and although the room was facing the street and a pub just outside, the sound was not disturbing. The room was very clean and decorated in happy colors.

Breakfast was good and not at all crowded. Some days it was just me and different airline crews having breakfast in the morning.

I think this is the first time I find nothing to complain about at a hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I ever come back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anders31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Anders31,

I am delighted to read that you were so well looked after by all the team during your visit to G&V in July. We are all dedicated, professional, friendly service minded individuals who thrive on providing the very best 5 star service to everyone who walks through our doors. One of our mission statements is to be the "most friendly hotel in the world," which is why your review is even more pleasing. We promise to keep up the good work, please do come back and visit us again sometime soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 2,922 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We hadn't planned to stay at the G&V but were delighted with our 6 night stay after escaping from the horrors of Channings Hotel in the New Town.

The hotel successfully offers an urban / trendy experience in the Old Town, making you feel comfortable and welcome. The location couldn’t be better. Everything is walking distance enabling you to easily pop back to the hotel during the day.

The room was a good size and very comfortable. We overlooked the stunning Castle Terrace; good sound proofing meant noise was not a problem. We travelled up by motorbike and took advantage of the free parking just round the corner, which couldn’t have been more convenient.

Our two disappointments; having to leave the hotel and the coffee at breakfast being too weak. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Good views from rooms overlooking Castle Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear AlisonHitchin,

What a review! Thank you so much for your valuable feedback following your stay with us at G&V. I am delighted to read that you had such a positive experience in Edinburgh. Please do not forget about us, come back and bring your friends and family with you! Honestly, it's feedback like this that makes all the hard work worthwhile, thank you once again, on behalf of all the team,

Kind regards,
James Archer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The minute that I saw the funky kilt on the doorman I twigged that this hotel was trying to do something a bit special. And they have succeeded. Bold 70s influnced design throughout, great features and high end products in the rooms, and a fantastic location at the castle end of the Royal Mile. This is a great hotel experience which added to my brief visit to a fantastic city. Thanks also to the very helpful staff.

Room Tip: I loved my full length window view of the historic buildings across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Christopher G,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. I am pleased you had such a fantastic stay with us in Edinburgh and that you were so well looked after by our team at G&V. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future. If you have any further feedback please do not hesitate to get in touch,

Kind regards,
James Archer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for a night while traveling in Scotland. I didn't know but they had changed the name from Missoni to G&V, so we drove by and got lost in Edinburgh traffic :-( No parking, so you have to valet park, and pricing bordered on highway robbery but what can you do, you're a captive audience... With that said, the hotel itself was very pleasant. Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and quiet. Not sure what it is with wifi and British hotels and why apparently they can't co-exist in the same universe but wifi at the G&V was as bad as in almost all other hotels we stayed at during our trip. Oh well.

The hotel is very conveniently located, right at the corner of the Royal Mile, so you're at the castle in 5 minutes. Plenty of restaurants and other entertainment in walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear mix579,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you had difficulty locating the hotel on arrival in Edinburgh and I do hope that this did not cause too much inconvenience for you. We changed names 2 months ago from Missoni to G&V, so apologise if this was not communicated to you directly.

As you correctly mentioned we do have a car park at the hotel with limited spaces that need to be pre booked to avoid disappointment. We run a professional and friendly valet service with our doormen, who whisk cars away to be stored in our manned, secure, CCTV'd and patrolled car park at a rate of £35 per night. It is important to note that there is not a big difference in price between NPC parking and parking with us which is why this is a popular service that we offer.
I do hope this has not put you off coming back in the future. We would be delighted to welcome you back to G&V anytime. Please touch base with me directly,

Kind regards,
James Archer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The G&V was until recently the Missoni. We booked it as the Missoni and were concerned to receive an email informing us of the change just before we were due to arrive. However the property lived up to our high expectations. It is a new building in Old Town which is a perfect mix for travellers. There are excellent places to eat nearby such as The Outsider and Angels with Bagpipes. It is only 20 metres to the Royal Mile and a short walk to the castle. It is also in walking distance of the shops on Princess Street. The rooms still have the funky Missoni colour scheme and are very comfortable. The staff are young, friendly and helpful with an excellent local knowledge.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise on Level 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear DBT53,

I am so pleased that your stay lived up to your high expectations and that we were able to deliver a truly 5 star experience for your trip to Edinburgh. We all care passionately about providing only the very best personal service for all of our guests at G&V which is why I am delighted to read that we looked after you so well. Please feel free to book again if you are planning a return trip in the future. We would all be delighted to welcome you back. I hope you have a nice summer and I am sure we will see you soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Staff was warming and welcoming. They directed us to local eateries and the bar tender even had us try a new whiskey cocktail he had just made! Delicious! Room was clean and funky and the location was ideal for exploring the city! We were leaving in Scottish Routes tour the next day and the meeting place was 2 minutes away- perfect!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Ethan G, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for all your comments! Glad to hear that you had time to sample our cocktails at the G&V Bar and that you enjoyed your stay, come back soon! With best wishes, Henna Kapulainen Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at the G&V Hotel in the month of june.The location of the hotel is its first highlight.The staff at the reception and concierge was extremely helpful .Would like to mention Mark at the door,helped us with information of the city.
Rooms were good comfortable and well designed.I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lemoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear lemoner, Thank you for your amazing five star review! I am so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that our team at the hotel was helpful. Thank you also mentioning Mark, he truly is an asset to the hotel and I will make sure your comments are passed on to him. Hope to see you again! Best wishes, Henna Kapulainen Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,952 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £138 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing