We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cocktails in Edinburgh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best cocktails in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have been in the G&V hotel many times, never as a guest unfortunately but to visit the amazing cocktail bar! It has a sophisticated vibe and it's the perfect place for a few drinks with girlfriends or even a romantic date. Recently I was in and had first class service from a bartender named Ollie. He was attentive and very friendly, my friends and I were more than happy to go with his recommendations on cocktails and we were extremely impressed! This is a must go for locals and tourists!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Fiona J,
Thank you for your amazing review! It is always so nice to get excellent feedback and I am very happy to hear that Ollie gave you good recommendations and most importantly that you enjoyed your cocktails! The bar really is an ideal spot for great cocktails and we hope to see you again at the hotel!
With kind regards,
Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    638
    206
    62
    40
See reviews for
290
1,522
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic stay at the G&V over the Fringe weekend. The Front Office Manager, Ann, couldn't do enough to help us. I told her I was planning to propose and she did everything to make it a memorable experience. She kindly gave us an amazing room upgrade with wonderful views of the city. Stylish, amazing decor, great location and the most comfortable bed I have every slept on (currently trying to buy the same mattress). Ann was a pleasure to deal with, along with all the other staff. Highly recommend staying here if you can. We definitely will be.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear RBS86,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your stay with us in Edinburgh. We are very lucky to have such friendly, dedicated, professional service minded individuals who care passionately about providing only the very best service for all of our guests, especially Ann, who has been informed for your super feedback. She represents everything that is great about our hotel. Please do come back and stay with us again, maybe for your wedding night? We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It's not called The Missoni anymore, but the good news is - they still have all the Missoni decor, and - the staff wear the stylish kilts! It's not convenient if you are bringing a car, but that's not the hotel's fault - it as as central as it is possible to be, located beside the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kenneth A,

Thank you for your review. You are correct; we changed our name to G&V 12 weeks ago but have still retained most of our Missoni design, until our planned refurbishment next year. I am so pleased you had such a successful stay with us in Edinburgh. Please come back and stay soon, you are welcome back any time. If anyone at all has any questions about out re brand, please do not hesitate to get in touch,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

If you want a treat then stay here. The hotel has retained it's colourful Missoni decor which is so different from corporate brown and olive green so often appearing in hotels.
It is in a great position so you can nip back with shopping or for a break when visiting the many nearby attractions. We went during the festival which is always a delight.
Staff are helpful and friendly, breakfast is good and cooked to order.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkwells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear clarkwells1,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. I am so pleased you were able to stay with us during the Festival,which really is one of the best times of year to visit our amazing city. I do hope you plan a return trip to Edinburgh in the future. If you do I would be delighted to be your personal point of call and promise to look after your reservation for you. See you soon!

Kind regards,
James Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It doesn’t get much better than this – a great hotel in a great location in a great city. The G&V Royal Mile Hotel, formerly the Hotel Missoni, is advantageously situated in the heart of the Scottish capital just off the Royal Mile, close to shopping and many local attractions, and just a few minutes' walk from Edinburgh Castle.

My second-floor accommodations in this stylish hostelry provided a strong signal for the free Wi-Fi, good lighting with multiple controls, robe and slippers, an adjustable thermostat controlling the efficient heating and cooling system, an in-room safe, a fridge/mini-bar, and a small flat-screen TV with a large selection of British channels plus the USA Network. Furnishings included a comfortable king-sized bed, an easy chair, and a swivel desk chair, along with an electrical converter and plug adapter for North American travelers. The closet was adequate and included a couple of small drawers.

The bathroom provided fairly quick hot water at all hours and an exceptional shower complete with set-and-forget water temperature control, ceiling & hand spray, and even a seat! Bath amenities included ample towels, shower cap, facial tissue dispenser, lotions, and hair dryer. The modern sink featured a single faucet and unified hot/cold control, along with a quick-set drain plug (press down to close, press again to open) – highly useful for dealing with contact lenses and hand laundry

You should note that the hair dryer won't plug into the two-pronged bathroom electric socket, presumably to avoid a short-circuit. But it works perfectly on the three-pronged UK outlets elsewhere in the hotel room.

Apart from the room, the hotel featured an attractive lobby and a spa offering nail treatment, massage, and other guilty pleasures for hotel guests. The restaurant provided an excellent breakfast, featuring hot dishes made to order and a good assortment of cold dishes on the buffet tables.

I stayed in several very good hotels during an extended tour of England, Scotland, and Wales in August 2014, but the G&V Royal Mile was in a class by itself.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonKVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear RonKVA,
Thank you so much for your detailed review following your stay with us in Edinburgh. I am absolutely delighted that we were able to tick all the boxes for you during your stay and look after you so well. We are perfectly located right in the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town only a stone’s throw away from everything that Edinburgh has to offer, which makes us such a popular destination for our guests. We sincerely hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to G&V in the future.
Kind regards,
James Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here with some friends. for three nights during the Fringe festival.

It was our second visit and like the first time we were again very happy.

The hotel is in an excellent position right in the centre of the old town near the Castle and the property itself is well maintained with a boutique feel as you would expect from its Missoni roots.

The bedrooms are quite small and although we found ours perfectly ok for three nights I probably wouldn't want an extended stay in such a small room and as some others have commented apart from a few hanging racks and a couple of tiny drawers there is practically no other storage space whatsoever.

We thought that the breakfast was very good with a nice selection of both hot and cold items and "real" fresh orange juice as opposed to the concentrated variety that you find in some places ! - I really don't know why another reviewer thought that the breakfast was inadequate maybe he/she just chose the wrong thing !

All of the staff were very nice and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear EssexBoy, Great to receive such nice feedback! I appreciate you mentioning the storage space; the rooms may have limited storage space however if requested, we can provide some more to our guests. I am very happy to hear that everyone you encountered was helpful and friendly! Thrilled to hear that your second visit to us was as good as the first one, and I hope the third visit won't be too far away? With best wishes, Henna Kapulainen Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The G & V Hotel on the Royal Mile is a great location for sightseeing, restaurants and people watching! Although, the front entrance had an odd smell when you first walked in the hotel itself was just that a hotel. Nothing overly amazing or horrible bad! The hallways to the rooms are not very friendly for "American sized luggage" and the rooms defiantly have a compact European feel but overall stay was nice. Our room faced Royal Mile so on Friday and Saturday nights the street noise could be an issue for lite sleepers. The staff is extremely nice & helpful. The hotel bar menu is nothing great just your standard bar with tapas.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Courtney B,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found the location excellent and your overall stay was good, however I am little disappointed to hear that we weren't able to exceed your expectations. I hope you will be back in Edinburgh and will come and stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to book.
With kind regards,
Henna Kapulainen
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#50 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing