We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Spent 5 nights her visiting my daughter who was studying at U Edinburgh. Fantastic location about 5 min from the Castle, right on High St/The Royal Mile, which is the main drag in the Old Town area. Service was fantastic, very upbeat and helpful. Room was a decent size, not huge, but very nicely appointed. Loved the colorful decor. Average bathroom but huge shower and heated mirror which is really nice. Great "scene" at the bar, very trendy. Dinner at the restaurant was VERY expensive but quite good. All in all an excellent experience, would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkeppler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
287
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Stayed with my partner for his birthday, and had a lovely room, high floor with amazing view. The style and design is excellent. Especialy liked the bathrooms with the heated floors!!
The restaurant was very good also.
Staff very friendly

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

My husband and I spent the 30th and 31st December in Edinburgh at the Missoni for Hogmanay. The hotel is in a great location in Edinburgh and within walking distance of anywhere you’d want to go – Grassmarket, Royal Mile, Princes St etc.

The hotel itself was great, the rooms were spacious, free minibar and movies. The décor was very modern but not too over the top (in our room anyway). I was a bit confused when I first walked in to the hotel, as you walk straight into the bar area. Reception is located on the left as you come in. We knew they provided valet parking, but when we found out that it was 35 GBP per day, we decided to park at the SAS Radisson, just 5 mins walk, where it’s 18 GBP per day.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Service is a bit slow in the restaurant for breakfast, but if you’re in no hurry it’s not too bad.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCal_bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

OK Central doesnt have an 'S' now does it!

Really enjoyed our stay at the new Missoni. We expected the style and it certainly delivered.

Check-in staff were ever smiling and helpful. All the staff were very well turned out and stylish which suited the hotel decor.

Rooms are very modern and surprisingly large. Excellent bed and fabulous pillows. Very well insulated and despite fronting onto the High Street our room was very quiet. Mini bar and coffee machine included in price made a nice difference.

We also took breakfast in our room and were blown away by the quality and quantity. For me its better value in your room than going downstairs.

Dinner was excellent. Quality of food and quantity really good. TIP: The slightly cheaper "Show mealtime" from 6pm until 7pm might suit many people. Serving staff excellent.

We used their carparking. Its expensive but it is valet parking. There is a NCP car park about 5 mins walk away if you want to spend a lot less.

Having stayed at most of the 4 and 5 star hotels in Edinburgh over the last 15 years, this one is up there with the best.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

I just thought I would write a quick review for the superb Hotel Missoni Experience that myself and my friends enjoyed (4-6 DEC 2009)
I expected the hotel to look fantastic – which of course it did – but I was impressed by the cleanliness and attention to detail.
Above all the Staff employed could not have been any more professional, helpful and attentive.

The “Missoni Kilted” welcome on the door was a genius idea for our arrival to the fusion Missoni /Scotland experience.
Check in and all dealings with Reception were thorough and painless!

The hotel service was sexy and slick. All food great with fantastic presentation with such attention to detail – from the bar lunch ,quick coffee or service at breakfast -

I travel a lot and stay in many hotels and the rooms catered to every detail – even including kettle alongside “Nespresso” machine – brilliant
I cannot praise you high enough for the “Hotel Missoni” experience.

I have a true passion for the brand and understand the importance of keeping this brand exclusive and luxury. I am so delighted see how well you have achieved this and think I will make it my goal to travel to each of the Hotel Missoni projects and continue to enjoy the experience in a different location!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

I honestly have no idea why this hotel is not rated as one of the top 5 places to stay in Edinburgh. We stayed for only 2 nights in the beginning of November and I'd highly recommend staying here. Yes is it a tad more expensive than other places but you already know that when you are booking. So I'd also rate it on all the other things you would look for in a hotel like cleanliness, service, location and value. It exceeded our expectations in all of these - great location on the Royal Mile, outstanding service, extremely clean and great value and quality. If there was anything you wanted, the conceirge was just a phone call away. I phoned ahead after we booked and the guy on night duty (can't remember his name) was excellent - I asked if he could arrange for an early checkin since we were arriving at noon which he said was no problem and also to make sure that we had a double/queen bed. Checkin was a breeze and the front desk staff were excellent. The rooms are not huge but we loved the big rain shower, the wood floors (much cleaner than carpet!), the free mini bar and movies and the bright modern feel with the missoni colors everywhere. For a boutique hotel I'd say the price is cheaper than you'd find in any other major city in the world. The bar and restaurant seem to be the place to be on a Saturday night. After an extremely rainy Sunday, we didn't feel like going back out to find a place to eat so we had a few cocktails at the bar and then asked the maitre d in the restaurant upstairs if we could order food and have it served in the bar downstairs since we were already comfortable there. Since they weren't that busy he said it was no problem at all. All in all, an excellent stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-dot_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

We stayed in December. Hotel is in the pefect location. Loved our room, very modern, clean and comfortable. Had a big problem on the Sunday though, no hot water, had to have a cold shower, not what you expect in a five star hotel. You expect perfection and unfortunately we didnt get it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firelady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineGuestServices, Guest Services Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 January 2010
Dear "Firelady 22"
Thanks for your review and your great comments about the hotel and the rooms. I'm sorry about the cold water in your shower - you're right, of course this isn't five star and certainly not the norm! I am so sorry. If you want to get in touch with more details I will look into this. I hope it hasn't put you off coming back.
Please let me know if you ever stay with us again and I will look after your reservation personally.
Best regards
Janine
Guest Services Manager
janine.gelston@hotelmissoni.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing