We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Fashion triumphs over function”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #31 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Fashion triumphs over function”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Previously we have stayed at the Glasshouse Hotel and loved it, they were full this weekend so we took the opportunity to try this new addition to Edinburgh's hotels, and were very impressed with the location, friendly and helpful staff, and dazzling style of the place. I was impressed when we were rung the week before our stay to ask if we had any requirements. I said that we would prefer both rooms to be close by, and was told they would both be on the 4th floor, and ready for an early arrival on the noon train.
I was only slightly disappointed on arrival to find that our rooms were on the 1st and 5th floors, and that only one was ready. The 5th floor was an upgrade to a junior suite so any disappointment was softened.
The room had aspectacular view and was well decorated, but there were niggles. There was nowhere to leave your coats near the door, the TV did not work without 2 phonecalls to reception and an eventual visit from the engineer, and even then the remotes interfered with each other. The lighting only worked with a room key, and was either on or off. Lying on the fashionable couch under the fashionable light was a bit like lying on the operating table. Nowhere to plug a hairdryer near a mirror was another niggle.

The cocktail bar was excellent and the staff corteous and efficient. Breakfast was delicious and well served. Staff throughout were engaged, interested and well trained.

Overall a very nice hotel, well located and I would certainly stay again. With a little more priority to details it could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redletterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineGuestServices, Guest Services Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Hi there,

Thanks for your review of the hotel and lovely comments about staff. We want to be known as the friendliest 5* hotel in town, so I'm glad to hear that you found everyone helpful, friendly and well-trained. Our people & development manager Dale has been a busy man :-)

I'm sorry about the issues with your tv, and I have to admit it was just plain odd that the remote control had the power to affect two tvs at either side of your bedroom/suite! Thankfully we have corrected this - it was just a matter of putting a little chip into the remote controls so that it can only affect one tv at a time.

With regards to the lights in the room, we have a "reponsible business" policy. Not to bore you (or other readers) with all the details, but we try to recycle & save energy where possible to help the environment. All of our bedrooms have a key box that operates the electricity, and you need to keep your key in the box to keep the lights on. It just means that the lights are only ever on when someone is in the room, hence saving energy. Don't be afraid to ask for a spare key the next time though. We want our guests to be comfortable and happy here, so whatever we can do to help, just ask!

Thanks again for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience and said you'd come back. If you come back again feel free with me directly and I'll look after you all.

Kind regards
Janine Gelston
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    637
    206
    62
    40
See reviews for
290
1,519
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Whilst staying at the hotel the first thing that struck me was the warm welcome and the attentiveness of the staff. From the minute you walk in the door you are made to feel at home and that nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are spacious and light with spectacular views of the City. With a mini bar, nespresso machine, kettle and movies on demand I would have been happy to stay wrapped up warm in my room if the weather got too brisk outside!

Location wise you can't beat it. Just moments walk from the Castle and walking distance from most things I can imagine wanting to see whilst in Edinburgh, it's just amazing.

The food in the restaurant, Cucina, is plentyful - no small portions here! Hearty, classic cuisine that makes you feel like you are eating with an italian family rather than in a hotel restaurant. And the bar is beyond spectacular!

Overall, having stayed at many other hotels in the city, Hotel Missoni is beyond compare.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supercat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Extremely comfortable room and beds, wonderful view towards Royal Mile. Clean rooms, lovely selection of teas and coffee. Perfect location.
Customer service was superb - all staff very friendly and attentive. I contacted the hotel in advance to say that we were visiting Edinburgh for my sister's birthday, and they made a big fuss of her. In particular, Janine at the front desk was exceptionally helpful.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat. We loved this hotel!
The only addition that we felt would have made the stay perfect was the inclusion of breakfast in the price of the stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed for 2 nights for my husbands birthday,we were upgraded to a room with views over the city.The hotel is just off the royal mile and 2 minutes walk from the castle.The hotel was very clean and the decor is very modern,all of the staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help.We ate in the restaurant one night and we found the food superb with all the staff very attentive and knowledgeable about the food and wine.I am a coeliac and they happily prepared fresh food for me including making a special Tiramisu which was gorgeous.
The beds were comfortable and there is only a little noise from the street,there is a great T.V with free movies and a mini bar with some complimentary drinks.The coffee machine was hard to work at first as there are not any instructions,but there was also a kettle in the room.The hotel is 5-10 minute walk from the train station-although it is all uphill,there are many restaurants,shops and pubs within a short distance,and Princes street is a 10 minute walk away-downhill going but lots of steps on the way back to keep you fit!
We had a great time and would stay again,we also found the public transport very frequent and cheap £1.20 for the bus to go anywhere it seemed.There are plenty of Taxis and lots of attractions to chose from.I would recommend a tour of the Royal Yacht Brittania which was very interesting and visiting the castle.We ate at a restaurant called The Wee Windaes on the Royal Mile which served some great traditional scottish food,the worlds end pub is also worth a visit.It was our first visit to Edinburgh but we hope to return with our 3 children as there are lots of things for children to do too,perhaps when the weather is warmer- but the lovely crisp weather added to the charm (remember to pack your thermals if visiting in January).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbieMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My wife and I had a fantastic Anniversary Weekend stay at the Missoni.
It is a beautifully desgined hotel with gorgeous interior design and furnishing.
It's lovely throughout. The staff were all excellent, friendly and courteous.
We had breakfast-in-bed which was really good, plenty of variety.

Beyond the beautiful design and comfy furnishings, there were a few drawbacks unfortunately. We had to change rooms because our huge mirrored bathroom door came off its runner and became quite dangerous. It was broken by a maid when cleaning our room. The room switch was all very quick and efficient though.
There were a few other small glitches and irritations: one of the cleaners had a trolley with an incredibly loud squeaky wheel (which woke everybody up nice and early); the tv only had about 10 channels; it boasted of being able to link your ipod up to the tv (there seemed no apparent way to do this - and my wife and I are good with technology); the bathroom had weak water pressure and slightly luke warm water. Also, as has been mentioned by some other reviewers, the front desk always seemed to be understaffed, especially at check-in and check-out time. And the free wifi didn't seem to work. And the tv was a mess to work, with layers of unnecessary menus and pish supplanted onto it.

Overall, despite the minor irritations listed above, it was a fantastic beautiful hotel with excellent and charming staff.

The interior and furnishing was beautiful. I would wholeheartedly recommend it and would definitely stay again. It also has an utterly perfect location in a stunning city.

Hopefully, by our next visit they will have ironed out the aforementioned minor niggles.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Following a recent very disappointing stay at the Hotel Missoni I e-mailed the hotel as suggested by staff but after two weeks had not received a reply.I posted a review on Tripadvisor including my disappointment at this lack of acknowledgement, and the very apologetic and helpful customer service manager, Janine, asked me to contact her directly. She was extremely concerned to hear about the poor service which we had received during our stay and refunded the cost of our breakfast. Looking at the other reviews it does seem that we were very unlucky - the weekend that we stayed in the hotel was extremely cold in Edinburgh and this accounted for the temperature in the bar area. However it does have to be said that the service at the time was very poor and although the location is fantastic and the interior is stunning I would not chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

This hotel has it just right. A balance of quirky colour and vibrance coupled with smart service. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable. It was not stuffy which was refreshing, staff were more than willing to help making it a great stay. The location at the top of the Royal mile is perfect. 2mins uphill to the castle and less than a minute to the heart of Edingburgh. Perfect.
The only downside was the lack of information about the hotel in the room, although there were plenty of guides to the city and to the hotel chain simple information like when checkout and breakfast were, were missing.
A lovely late Christmas treat well worth the little extra cost. For a unique place to have dinner try David Bann's Vegitarian restaurant on St Mary's Street, lovely.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing