We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at the Hotel Missoni”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Hotel Missoni”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

What a wonderful hotel! After reading the great reviews about the Hotel Missoni on TripAdvisor, I decided to book a two night stay for my husband and I on a recent weekend and I am so glad I did. We were welcomed by two of the friendliest hotel staff I have ever encountered and checked in to a beautiful room - spacious with vibrant decor and a gorgeous bathroom. And with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. And the little things were great too - complimentary minibar, complimentary 2 pieces of dry cleaning a night, nice toiletries and comfortable robes. There was even a little bottle of milk in the minibar for your coffee or tea. If we're lucky enough to come back to Edinburgh, I would defintiely book the Hotel Missoni again as it's a nice modern oasis in a beautiful Medieval city with a fantastic location and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrp9f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
287
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed 20th to 25th July (didn't want to leave). Absolutely loved Missoni. Rooms excellent and spotlessl Clean towels every day, replenished toiletries, mini bar, etc. etc. Comfy bed, had best nights sleep for a long time. Great shower. Loved all the staff, a shout out to David who mainly parked our car and brought it to us in a flash (there is a charge for this service) also Isabella, (Receptionist) very friendly and pleasant. We found all staff very friendly and courteous. Fantastic location, 200 yds from Castle. Will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Great hotel. Clean, classy & a great location. Nice rooms, attentive and helpful staff and good drinks at the bar.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgold24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

I returned to the Missoni for two nights in July. My last stay had been in the low season, when fewer demands were placed on the staff and premises. This was now high season. The Missoni once again came through with all cylinders clicking. The location is perfect for the old town and Royal mile, the rooms are airy, open and welcoming, the food is very, very good, and the service is just beyond.... Again, if you don't want the stuffy Scottish experience of the "traditional" 5 stars, do not hesitate to stay at the Missoni. Even in high season; you will leave smiling.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValuingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed for 1 night to go out for dinner (The Mussel and Steak bar in Grassmarket - really excellent) and drinks.
Good location. Member of staff valet parked our car which was great.
On checking in the receptionist didn't tell us that you needed to use your room key to get to the lift to go to your floor. We couldn't understand why the lift wouldn't work and felt quite stupid to have to go back to reception to ask. It felt like the staff were deliberately having a laugh at us.. However on the few times we used the lift we always met a customer who didn't know that they were meant to use their card....better information at check in required!
Room very comfortable, nice view, nice furniture, comfortable bed, excellent shower. Value for money - it's expensive but you are also paying for the location...which is great.
Went into the bar for drinks and were completely ignored by 2 waitresses...didn't feel welcome in the bar at all. Breakfast, had to wait quite a while once seated before staff took our order. I ordered Eggs Benedict which arrived cold, we had waited so long already that I didn't complain, but really would expect food to be hot! So overall, nice place to stay but service could be improved..expected better...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my partners birthday - we both live in Edinburgh but I'd booked the Missoni as I'd been looking forward to seeing what the hotel was like after seeing it in the building stage for months. We were not disappointed! The hotel is amazing - the decor is fantastic, and is definitely 5 star. Our room was incredible, every detail was perfect and it looked fab (see photos!). As I'd mentioned in my booking that it was my boyfriends birthday we'd been left a 'birthday flan' (Friends fans will appreciate that) in the room along with a card, which was a nice touch.

The bed was really comfy and had been turned down with a bit of shortbread (I think?) left on the pillow when we were out (never stayed in a hotel where they do that before, felt fancy, ha!). The bathroom was very cool, with audio from the TV in the bedroom played in when you shut the door (so we didn't miss any of the X Factor when at the loo!). The shower was huge with a rain feature and also a hand-held shower extension - and it had a little bench for sitting on which was a cool feature (made the shower look like a changing room cubicle!).

Breakfast was slightly confusing (table service for the menu, but a buffet for cereal) and as you can come in off the street to eat the menu had prices on it so we weren't entirely sure if it was included in our room price or if we'd have to pay (waiters didn't really speak). But when we did order the food was gorgeous. I had pancakes with syrup which was DIVINE and my partner had a cooked breakfast.

Service at the front desk and from porters was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a luxury, romantic break - and if we ever feel like splashing out on a fancy night again then I'll definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Missoni last night as part of my birthday treat - and what a treat!
The hotel lives up to the positive reviews, it definately deserves the 5*'s.
The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable, with the most amazing shower and bed, so much so, I struggled to get up this morning.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We ate lunch in the restaurant and the food there was delicious. We had drinks in the bar prior to going out in the evening and there was a friendly, vibrant atmosphere.
I only have good things to say about this hotel! I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing