We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Was going to Edinburgh to visit the Military Tattoo with some friends and chose the Missoni on the strength of the reviews on this site. The hotel was absolutely perfect for us - only a few minutes walk from the Castle and right in the middle of the Old Town.
Lots of wonderful restaurants nearby - you have to visit Howies on Victoria Street for lunch or dinner - the food and staff are amazing!!!! Also a short stroll downhill has you in the shopper's heaven of George Street etc. Apart from the location the Missoni's rooms are fabulous - huge beds with pillows and duvets to die for. Check out the sound system in the bathroom! The free water, soft drinks,milk and crisps in the mini bar were a great touch. Also towels were replaced night and morning - how often does that happen in a hotel? The guys on reception made our very early check in hassle free - they stored our luggage and phoned us when the room was ready and when we got back our luggage was already in our room. They were helpful, pleasant and chatty as were the kilted porters. We had breakfast in the restaurant both mornings and one dinner - the food was excellent - especially breakfast. The service at breakfast would be my only area of minor criticism - despite asking for tea not to be brought out until our cooked breakfast was brought it still arrived as we were having cereal. On the second morning our cooked breakfasts were brought out when we were still eating our cereal - also some of the waiting staff would need to learn to smile especially the female staff - one young lady could have curdled the miilk she was so sour! But overall the Missoni was spectacular and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedyreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    653
    210
    62
    42
See reviews for
302
1,551
98
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I went to UK for our anniversary in Jun. We stayed in Missoni hotel for two nights and the experice is wonderful. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and offers every help they can to us not only before I wrote emails for information consulting but also after we checked in. And when we stepped in our room, the big chocolate tart with "Happy Anniverary" on it just suppried us and let us feel very sweet. The room decaration is in typical Missoni color which is vivid and eye-catching. With the super great location of in the middle of "royal mile", you can go any famous places of interest by walking distance. Two free laundry every day and free mini bar are also giving us lots of supprise which we never met before. Next time, if i come back, i will definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2010

What a fantastically different hotel. You'll either love the decor or you'll hate it. I loved it. The rooms are definitely out of this world with amazing bathrooms, great entertainment systems and real dreamy beds. Never ate in the hotel so i can't comment on the food but if its the same standard as everything else i experienced, then I'm sure it will be great. Especially good if you're travelling alone as they have a great dvd selection to suit everyone. After a hard days shopping, I asked at the bar for some ice for the room. Within 5 minutes a really tasty barman arrived at the room with 2 ice buckets full of ice. A great experience, TOP TIP:- Don't book through any website or even the hotels own website, you get a much better rate phoning the hotel direct.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Loved this hotel at first sight. The reception area and bar is bright and "bling" with very friendly and welcoming staff. Our room, the basic Missoni, was smallish, but well designed to make the most of the space and the odd shape. It had wooden floors, a comfy king size bed, desk, Nespresso coffee machine and a free mini bar containing soft drinks and a bag of crisps. The bathroom was also small (no bath), decorated in purple and grey tiles with a good selection of toileteries, slippers and robes. The sash windows to our room (238) overlooked a busy road and were not double glazed so it can get noisy (pack ear plugs and it shouldn't be a problem): there are shutters which do a good job of keeping out the light. The only slight flaw in the design of the room was the TV, which is hung off the wall in a position designed to get you every time you go past it! The free internet access worked well.
We didn't eat in the hotel, but there is a good Pizza Express next door and lots of other choices nearby. We did use the bar: very friendly staff and prices not too bad (well, not for those of us from London!). Breakfast, which was included in our rate, was an excellent buffet, complemented by a very good Scottish Breakfast or other hot choices.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the heart of the Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Fabulous modern hotel that really has acheived the visual WoW factor.
Great design, fantastic room, with very quirky high quality furnishings.
Staff very helpful & friendly
Breakfast was very continental...........cakes galore!!
Great location in the centre of the city.
A fabulous hotel........save this one for a treat !!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Hotel Missoni is first and foremost a fantastic hotel. If you were to come here for a weekend stay, you would on no level be disappointed, however, having stayed there for in the region of 40-60 nights, I feel well placed to give a more balanced view of the hotel. In terms of location, George IV Bridge is ideal, not only are you within walking distance of some good restaurants, (I would recommend the nearby understated Outsider) but you are also close Princes Street and minutes away from the Grassmarket (which boasts Muscle & Steak, a great little restaurant.) In terms of the actual hotel, the standard of rooms can be variable from the very spacious to the quite small. Also, if you stay on one particular side of the hotel it can very noisy at night, especially towards the end of the week (i.e. Thursday night onwards.) When calling to book, it's worth requesting a room on one of the higher floors, or better still, a Maggiore room which is one level above standard but very worth it.

The gym is terrible, it's very small with practically no equipment, in fact you can barely call it a gym. The standard of the room service is also poor, the selection is bad, the food is bad and it's very expensive, you're much better placed going next door to Pizza Express and bringing something back. If you intend on using this hotel for business, ask for express checkout as the staff are slow in the morning and there is often a queue to check out. In terms of breakfast, if you go to the restaurant, it is fantastic, however, if you request it to the room, it is often late and always arrives cold which is disappointing if you've ordered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

Having practically lived in this hotel, I think perhaps I may have been overly critical. Many of my colleagues tried some of the other hotels in Edinburgh and they all came back to The Missoni. The vast majority of things about The Missoni are positive, although sometimes slightly incompetent, the staff are friendly and on the whole quite good, the hotel is trendy with a great bar (with trained cocktail waiters/waitresses) and situated in a great location. The rooms, on the whole are fantastic, two free pieces of laundry, a free mini bar and free films are a treat and the bathrooms are a particular highlight. I think anyone coming away for a holiday would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklabel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

What a wonderful hotel! After reading the great reviews about the Hotel Missoni on TripAdvisor, I decided to book a two night stay for my husband and I on a recent weekend and I am so glad I did. We were welcomed by two of the friendliest hotel staff I have ever encountered and checked in to a beautiful room - spacious with vibrant decor and a gorgeous bathroom. And with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. And the little things were great too - complimentary minibar, complimentary 2 pieces of dry cleaning a night, nice toiletries and comfortable robes. There was even a little bottle of milk in the minibar for your coffee or tea. If we're lucky enough to come back to Edinburgh, I would defintiely book the Hotel Missoni again as it's a nice modern oasis in a beautiful Medieval city with a fantastic location and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrp9f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,279 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing