We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish modern hotel in the heart of Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #26 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is a stylish hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. In my view it is expensive but is definately top end of the market and for your money you get a large room with gorgeous en-suite bathroom.
I would recommend to anyone wanting to treat themselves to a special break in Edinburgh and wanting to be close to all local attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scullyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,819)
There are newer reviews for G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,443 - 2,449 of 2,819 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

We have just returned from The Missoni where we went to celebrate my 50th birthday and we had an excellent stay. The hotel has real WOW factor, is in a prime location, just on the corner of The Royal Mile and has the most friendly, efficient staff we have encountered anywhere. We were given a room with a good view of the curving street below with a lovely night time view of the Castle glowing, fantastic! Although the rooms were on the small side with not alot of storage, they have just about everything needed on a weekend break with the added bonus of being so trendy, the Bang & Olufsen media centre was great to watch free movies or plug in my i-pod to play my own music, the bathroom was so slinky and really comfortable beds, I could just go on and on all day. But what made it special was the staff, all of who were so polite and helpful but chatty and very friendly and not at all aloof, which you can get at some upmarket hotels, (special thanks to all the bar staff, with who I spent most of the weekend!). Even the bar toilets were out of this world, amazing! The whole place has real style, they only serve 1 draught beer but that just happens to be the Italian one in very stylish branded glasses (lager drinkers know the one), but the bar was very popular with the cocktail crowd, in a nutshell...if you can afford it GO!! amazing place, Malmaison are now a poor second in our ratings!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Got a great deal here for £157 per room per night, on expedia. Thought it was worth it. I travel frequently with work and have had opportunity to try out some lush hotels and I thought this compared favourably. That distinctive Missoni look everywhere setting it out from the usual generic lux-hotel. This is a seriously stylish hotel.

Great shower, coffee machine, bed, pillows and Italian style breakfast in bed for £12 - great! Bar food was lush, prosecco on draught-yes really!!

Staff profressional and super helpful, centrally located. Only small parking capacity but other options close by -less than 10 min walk away for £19 per day. Would def. stay again

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wee_Minx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

comedy festival for us and a special hotel for my wifes bday ( kids stayed at home with a promise of camping and hotel stay in n wales ). floor 6 and the best suite wow . view was stunning and room spotless , great bar and facilities , nice lounge bar downstairs . great staff nothing too much and nice breakfast in bed . ideal location for walking to festival events .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The hotel was out of this world - can't say enough how amazing it was. Great staff, great location, spotless and spacious rooms! All the extra touches in the room and bathroom - like the bath robes, slippers, espresso machine, awesome bathroom with speakers from the TV ( I stayed in the shower for about 30 mins having a disco! lol). We loved every minute of our stay.

My boyfriend organised our trip as a surprise and on our first night he proposed and it was so lovely to be staying somewhere so amazing! The staff were so excited for us and looked after us so well. It was nice to have that given that we were away from home and didn't have anyone to share the moment with. They also sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate when we returned to our room. Nothing was too much for them and they were more than happy to help in any way they could. One thing (which some might see as a negative) its not is cheap (but there are cheaper places to drink and eat so no need to splash out in the bar or restaurant if you don't want to). But if you want luxury and something special and you can afford to splash out for the accomodation then don't look any further than Hotel Missoni! We love Edinburgh and visit at least twice a year and now we've been to Hotel Missoni we'll never stay anywhere else - even if it means spending a bit more than we usually do! It's definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seas0ned_traveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I've stayed here 3 times, the first time was excellent. However, my subsequent stays have been disapointing.

My last two visits have involved late arrivals and I have been allocate wheelchair accessible rooms on both occasions. This means that I have a room with a tiny sink at knee height and a room with various orange cords for emergency assistance.

The tiny sink is useless for shaving and the orange cords hardly add to the environment.

I have no problem with wheelchair accessible rooms for wheelchair guest but they are unsuitable for non wheelchair users.

When I asked to move rooms, they said they were full. Not impressed.... Hardly a boutique experience. The Radisson is far more consistent.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ujhyu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Having been unable to get a booking in the more conservative Hotel I would have chosen, I searched the net and found Hotel Missoni, attracted by the bright and welcoming interiors booked for 3 night stay. It really is a super Hotel, wonderful decor, very Italian, smart but, practical. Staff are outstanding, from the missoni kilted Kiwi door to the Restaurant staff, all very friendly, helpful and professional. We enjoyed several meals in the lively Restaurant, the food is superlative and the dishes with fresh porchino mushrooms were to die for! We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUCKYMIKE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,864 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £142 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing