We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

This is a lovely hotel with very gracious staff. As it is still relatively new, there seem to be few little kinks to work out: our espresso machine stopped working, an iron was not available, room was cleaned at odd times. ..However, all requests were met with a pleasant response and accommodation. The meal at dinner was superb, and breakfasts were lovely. Location can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
287
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Fantastic stay, very special place, very expensive but where else would you get an espresso machine in your own room?? The complimentary toiletries were amazing and the slippers better than the ones i have at home! Would def go back :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8oops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We had a very pleasant weekend staying at Missoni in Edinburgh. The staff were very helpful & Friendly. However the Buffet in the Restaurant for Breakfast was poor, compared with other similar hotels, we have stayed in. Although the rooms were minimalistic, they were comfortable & well appointed. We came by car and found the Valet parking irritating.
we also found our room cleaner was not helpful

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

first impression on entrance was fantastic was helped to our room with luggage
room was very clean and to a high standard
left hotel to do stuff in town and upon my return found the door to our room was not closed properly there for room was open but everything was ok
when going in to bathroom found the door to be catching to floor did not seem to fit properly
we ordered food to the room service at night which in my opinion was very poor we got chips which were frozen ones which would not have expected from a 5 star hotel also got a cheeseburger which appeared to have been microwaved
concerned customer

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and to get over an incredibly stressful year! On the surface the hotel looks fabulous. Brilliant decor, nice welcome, and lively bar.
However...
- The room was 'standard'. I feel that spending £185 a night should offer more than just some nice decoration. A bit of a facade.
- The free 'healthy' mini bar only offered water, fanta, coke and milk. Water and milk should be complimentary anyway!
- We ordered an assiette of meats from room service on the first evening...substandard! Very tiny plate, with luncheon meat which I used to have on sandwiches when I was 10!
- Housekeeping was at strange times. Our room was never turned over as they came to do this at about 18:45 in the evening. At this time we were always getting ready to leave the hotel for dinner/drinks. As we were still in the room, they just gave us a chocolate each and never returned! Surely they should return when we were out! In addition, the room was cleaned at about 16:45! When getting back from a busy day of sightseeing, and you just want a shower or a power nap, this was never possible!
- Unfortunately the room was noisy! If you do stay here, ask for a room away from the main road!
- Room was cold
-Plugs hanging out of wall.. bit of a hazard!

One good point..
- Breakfast was yummy and the service for breakfast was excellent!

I would not recommend staying here to a friend. However I may recommend the bar for an evening drink. The staff were friendly and nice atmosphere. They were also helpful when we were looking for a nice restaurant to celebrate our anniversary!

Great shame! It has potential! We are always looking for great hotels to recommend to friends and family, this one won't be one of them.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityHoppersLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

The Hotel Missoni was right in the center of the Royal Mile - a great location. The hotel itself was stylish and trendy, and the rooms were clean and hip as well. They were a bit small, but nothing major that affected our stay. The nice touches really made a difference - the movies were all free, as well as the items in the minibar, and WiFi. They also offered complimentary laundering of two items per day. The restaurant in the hotel is great as well. For the price this is a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgertraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is a stylish hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. In my view it is expensive but is definately top end of the market and for your money you get a large room with gorgeous en-suite bathroom.
I would recommend to anyone wanting to treat themselves to a special break in Edinburgh and wanting to be close to all local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scullyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing