We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Missoni - Give it a MISS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Missoni - Give it a MISS”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Give the Missoni a Miss! We stayed here for 3 nights at almost £200 per night (room only) and quite frankly would not stay here again.

The decor downstairs flatters to deceive. Our first room was cold so we asked to be moved. Our second room at least had air conditioning but was beside very noisy neighbours from New Zealand and we heard every single word they said.

For a 5 star hotel there is no Concierge.

Overnight parking is £25.

No pool, no business area ... nothing to do anywhere.

There is only one area to sit ... the bar ... which is shared with Reception and is not somewhere to have a private chat.

The room was "standard" not 5 star and had no bath.The floor is wooden, no carpet. The Bang & Olafsen tv is obviously what you pay for.

The free bar is coke, water and milk. Big swing.

We did not eat here as we knew we would be fleeced even further.

Plugs were hanging out of wall.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dinnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineGuestServices, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear "Dinnymac"
I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at Hotel Missoni. If a guest is unhappy for whatever reason, we urge them to get in touch with us at the time, so that we can sort things out. I'm glad you told us your room was cold and we organised a room move for you....but to get noisy neighbours after that is just frustrating! Unfortunately something like that can be part and parcel of staying in any hotel. But I agree, listening to people next door is not my idea of fun either! We would have gladly moved you to another room if we'd known you weren't happy with your second choice. I was surprised to read that you had nothing to do anywhere to be honest. We don't have a business centre or a pool, but there's a lot going on in Edinburgh so there's not really a massive demand for a swimming pool. For those guests that need to work or check emails, we offer laptop hire so you can take the laptop up to the room with you and chill out instead of sitting in a business centre. We also have over 50 complimentary movies on demand, and a fitness room on level one fthose who like a work-out. As for the concierge, we don't see the point in having just one concierge. We have a guest services team on hand who book chauffeurs, tours, tickets, flowers, romantic amenities and gifts, and have even helped take care of organising proposals! We also operate a "universal concierge" so that all staff are trained and can give personal recommendations in places to see and things to do. It's a shame you didn't ask.
Best regards,
Janine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    653
    210
    62
    42
See reviews for
302
1,549
98
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Can't praise Missoni highly enough. We stayed there after our Wedding and it was a wonderful experience. The staff made us feel very welcome and made sure we had an excellent room with stunning views and could not do enough for us.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone for a special occassion, or any occassion really.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

A great position and once we had arrived the front desk were friendly and helpful. The let down was the service at breakfast and in the restaurant. The staff seemed to lack direction and wandered around not achieving much!! If you asked it was never too much trouble but not a lot of thinking going on for themselves!! It was a good thing we only wanted the cold buffet for breakfast as we were not asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast, also had to ask for coffee despite tea being delivered. At dinner the service was a little imposing as few people were dining being continually topped up with your wine becomes a little irksome when each passing person grabs the bottle and pours!! Then as new diners arrive you are forgotten and the dessert you wished to have never gets ordered as no one seems to see you. So Hotel quirky good free mini bar laundry and movies and great position for Royal mile. Food book elsewhere !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Loved the rooms, the decor was great and just loved the bathroom. Having a complimentary mini bar was a bonus.
We didn't eat in the hotel but had drinks in the bar - Prosecco on tap what a great idea.
Couldn't fault anything and a good central location.
We will return !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This is a lovely hotel with very gracious staff. As it is still relatively new, there seem to be few little kinks to work out: our espresso machine stopped working, an iron was not available, room was cleaned at odd times. ..However, all requests were met with a pleasant response and accommodation. The meal at dinner was superb, and breakfasts were lovely. Location can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Fantastic stay, very special place, very expensive but where else would you get an espresso machine in your own room?? The complimentary toiletries were amazing and the slippers better than the ones i have at home! Would def go back :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8oops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We had a very pleasant weekend staying at Missoni in Edinburgh. The staff were very helpful & Friendly. However the Buffet in the Restaurant for Breakfast was poor, compared with other similar hotels, we have stayed in. Although the rooms were minimalistic, they were comfortable & well appointed. We came by car and found the Valet parking irritating.
we also found our room cleaner was not helpful

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,277 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing