We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Just back from a lovely night away in the Hotel Missoni ....... WOW! This has to be one of the BEST hotels we have ever stayed in.
After a little "Faux Pas" by reception staff not informing us our room was ready, we were given the keys to room 428, a beautiful room with a fantastic view and uber trendy gizmos and gadgets. After sampling the FREE MINI BAR AND MOVIES we decided to shower, to cut a long story short the plug/drain was slow running. We notified reception on the way our to dinner. After dinner we popped back to reception to see if they had fixed the problem, which they hadn't, so by way of an apology they upgraded us to a SUITE (room 501) and double WOW!! This room some how managed to make the other one look simply basic!
To sum it all up, FANTASTIC HOTEL, FANTASTIC SERVICE, FANTASTIC LOCATION, FANTASTIC AND INDEED PERFECT EXPERIENCE ...... Thank You HOTEL MISSONI!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay-Partyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,821)
There are newer reviews for G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,415 - 2,421 of 2,822 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2010

This is our first stay in the Missoni and we loved it. It is in one of our favourite locations in Edinburgh as you can easily stumble back after an evening in the Malt Shovel! The decor was great and the bed was really comfortable with beautiful linen! We did get woken up at 7.00 by the window cleaner which seemed a bit odd on a Sunday morning but we can forgive that.. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitlassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary and it didn't disappoint. The staff are fabulous and go out of their way to help. Bedrooms are really funky and it's great being able to iImpressive and again fairly reasonable prices.
Try it for yourself!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

If you like ultra modern ,funky ,beautifully clean,ideal location and the friendliest of staff stay here. When I booked I just knew it was going to be funky and it was. It was an experience to walk on black and white stripped carpets, to go in a lift with mirrors on all sides except the floor. To have huge clashes of colour and huge mirrors that turned into doors that you thought you could walk through. Not how I would furnish my home and my eyes were way out of their comfort zone but I knew this and loved the experience. All the controls were again ultra modern but it would be wrong to criticize . If I had understood the air conditioning I wouldn't have looked for a window to open -which didn't .The food was brilliant and breakfast again was first class.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englandsixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed here for one night but wished it could have been longer. Left with a lovely feeling mainly due to the kindness of the staff. Nothing is any trouble. Rooms are lovely, food is delicious and atmosphere is soooo... relaxing. Central Edinburgh with parking. Left car there while we went to a function in the afternoon. Decor amazing. Looking forward to opening of spa.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotAbroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The best way to start your day is waking up in your bedroom at Hotel Missoni, you can make the best coffee ever in your bedroom with the Nespresso machine which is so easy. Then blast yourself awake with a powerful shower with rainwater effect and large shower head. Believe me you need it as the pillows are so comfortable you will not want to get out of bed. Staff really "slick" but with a warm friendly vibe. Ordered a Hamburger in room service and it was delicious, then watched some free movies had some soft drinks and snacks from the free mini bar. Had a meeting at the hotel, with a delicious lunch and my car was pulled up front for me by the kilt wearing doorman ready for me to leave. The only problem was I didn't want to leave, I wanted to stay and ring some friends to come and join me so we could enjoy the vibe that is Hotel Missoni and the nightlife Edinburgh had to offer. Next time it will be leisure and not business hopefully!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNSHINE4ALL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Perfect location on the Royal Mile and George IV Bridge. In the heart of the Old Town, Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh Castle and Waverley Station are all within a few minutes walk. We managed to get a good online deal on a room. Although the room overlooked the Royal Mile and therefore there was late and early street noise, it didn't spoil the enjoyment of a room with a great bathroom, free drinks and snacks in the minibar, free films on demand and a luxurious walk in shower

The hotel is modern in style, and the bar in the lobby is cool and has a good vibe. The front of house staff were very friendly and service first class. On the food front there is an Italian on the premises and a Pizza Express immediately next door. Turn right outside the hotel and walk 4 minutes down the road and you come to The Elephant House, The Cafe in which JK Rowling first wrote the Harry Potter books. Overall a really nice experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,867 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £141 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing