We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow... from the second you get there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #27 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wow... from the second you get there”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Fantastic... This place is a must, the staff are fantastic, nothing at all is too much trouble... The restaurant had some of the best food I have ever tasted, the rooms were just the best I have ever stayed in right down to the Nespresso Machine in your room, free soft drinks... the bed was so comfortable could have stayed there all day. Everything was there that you needed if not dial 0 and it was there straight away!

WOW - a must for all

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,812
    658
    212
    62
    43
See reviews for
307
1,566
99
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location, check-in was very efficient and friendly. We did have a bit of a saga in that we had 3 rooms in our 2-night stay, but our problems (with i-pod connection then noise coming from the laundry room, apparently) were sorted efficiently and we were very happy overall.

The rooms were very comfortable - bed huge, beautiful Missoni bedspread, crockery, towels, dressing gowns.

I would love to stay here again. It's a stylish and friendly hotel in a great location and I was very impressed with the friendly, efficient staff and the customer service was excellent. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsHMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Missoni at the end of December 2010 and were blown away by the excellent service, stylish decor, free films, cool bar... not to mention the Nespresso machine in our room!

As funky and cool as the hotel is, what really made it for us was the amazing staff. We were so well looked after and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly hosts. From the handwritten card in our room to the two free pieces of laundry, we couldn't believe our luck.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone tempted to stay there - we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Well I have to say my feelings towards my stay at the Missoni hotel are mixed. We arrived for a long weekend at the same time as a coach of Chinese tourist, including 15 sets of golf clubs. As mentioned in other reviews the central foyer is filled with a bar rather than a reception, which is actually tucked away to the left as you come in. Due to the coach party it took several minutes to even figure this out but we eventually made our way to the front to check in. We were told that the key card system was currently down and would be for some time, but would probably be fixed by the time we got back from dinner. We were escorted to our rooms, which really are finished to the most impeccable standard, and settled in. After returning from dinner the key cards were still not ready and we were escorted to our rooms again. My boyfriend who smokes had a few more trips like this as you needed a key for the lift as well as the door to your room. The hotel bed was one of the best I have ever slept in and a good night sleep was welcome. In the morning at breakfast we ordered some hot food from the menu (only the cold food was on the buffet, which was mainly cake). When mine arrived and I told the waiter I hadn't ordered that and also that he had managed to carry my plate all the way to the table without realising there was a hair on it he was very snotty and just muttered under his breath. I eventually got my breakfast and we headed out. The location of the hotel is great for the Grassmarket area, which is buzzing at night with all the pubs. When we got back the key cards still were not ready, at which point it started to feel like you were staying at home again and they wouldn't give you a key as they wanted to keep track of you. Eventually the checked us out and checked us back in again which seemed to do the trick, although very strange. Second morning for breakfast (Sunday) was worse than the first. We were told that there was no sausage or bacon available (haven't they ever heard of Tesco?). So we ordered our "mini" breakfast and hoped for the best. Not only did it take 20 mins to cook 4 fried eggs but the request for additional toast left me with a cold cup of coffee and a rather peeved look on my face. At each stage of every nighle the management were continually apologetic, but that gets old very quickly and even though each individual gripe was nothing major they all added up to putting one big downer on the weekend. Although a new hotel they had been open approximately 6 months by the time we stayed and you would think that would be time enough to sort out any teething problems. Would I stay there again? Yes, definately. But I will wait a little longer and hope they have gotten their act together.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseWilderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amber412
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

booked ourselves a room as had wanted to stay here since it was built! Was fantastic! All the minibar contents were free great toiletries chocolate at turndown. I would recommend spending the extra money and staying in the next room up.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amber412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

My wife and I spent a week and a half here over Christmas, so we had a good opportunity to scrutinize this fine hotel.

THE GOOD:
Just about everything: the staff, the perfect location, the staff, the gorgeous room, the staff, the extensive complimentary extras, the staff, the excellent food and, well…the staff.

The staff is wonderful: friendly, helpful, eager, and energetic without being solicitous or intrusive. (Thank you, Janine!)

Situated right on the Royal Mile at George IV Bridge, this very new, purpose-built hotel enjoys the best location in Edinburgh. Almost everything is within easy walking distance and, since it is right in the medieval city, it affords visitors easy access to early-morning, pre-tourist-crush strolls that can be quite ethereal.

As an architect, I am more critical of design issues than most. The lobby, bar, and restaurant are stylish and striking, with bold colors and unique flourishes throughout. The rooms are similarly stylish and striking, with wood floors, beautiful Missoni textiles, heavenly bed linens, high-quality fixtures, and beautiful unique finishes such as metallic glass tile and extensive lacquer surfaces. The building itself is more modest but is quite well done, with stone surfaces and detailing making a nod to the nearby Museum of Scotland by Benson & Forsyth.

Above the ground-floor lobby and bar is a mezzanine accommodating the restaurant and meeting rooms. Above that are four stone-clad floors of standard (“Missoni”) and superior (“Maggiore”) rooms, topped by a metal-and-glass penthouse accommodating the suites and a couple more superior rooms. As an inquisitive architect, I was shown many of the rooms by a very patient staff member. If you want great views, request the upper floors. If you want a very quiet room, request a room facing the inner “court”. If you want a wonderfully idiosyncratic room in a completely renovated, centuries-old stone structure, request the northwest wing (its top-floor suite, tucked into a former attic and accessible only by a semi-private radial stairway, is amazing!). And, if you want simply spectacular accommodations, book a suite.

The list of complimentary extras is quite extensive: evening turn-down service (with chocolates), in-room Nespresso, robes and slippers, mini-bar with snacks and drinks (including beer and wine in the superior rooms and suites), in-room wi-fi, in-lobby computer(s), first-run movies, fitness room—even two pieces of laundry per day! When comparing Hotel Missoni’s rates to competitors, it’s necessary to add quite a few pounds to the competitors’.

Growing up with an Italian grandmother who was an amazing cook and who measured love in calories makes me more critical than most when it comes to Cucina Italiana. It’s quite evident the key chefs here are Italian: no pseudo-Italian cooking here! Oh yeah, continental in-room breakfast is very reasonable.

THE BAD:
Nothing here rises (or falls?) to the level of “bad”. I suppose if you like your interiors beige on beige, you won’t like the bold colors here. Perhaps, a grizzled travel veteran could find the staff a bit young but we found that, for what any may have lacked in experience, all of them more than compensated with genuine warmth and an eagerness to please. Yeah, a couple more drawers in the room would be useful but we did just fine and we were not traveling light. Evidently, the ten-or-so rooms in the renovated structure in the northwest wing have single glazing facing the street and could, therefore, allow more street noise in. That’s all, folks.

THE UGLY:
Nothing. Other than having to leave.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaDreaminMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Just came back from a couple nights. Booked on their website and opted for their internet pre-book special. The hotel is perfectly situated for the best touristing of the city. The decor is Missoni through and through, a nice quirky and colorful mix - especially welcome during the cold and dark winter days!

The room was spacious and very well thought out. The extras were excellent - free Nespresso coffee, mini-bar (restocked every day), movies and tv channels in every possible language...

Do yourself a favour and order the breakfast in bed. It was excellent and well worth the price.

The service was excellent and very professional.

I often stay in 4-5 star holes in Europe, and most often Italy... this hotel is very much in keeping with this chic aesthetic, but with extras I have never seen anywhere else.

Any previous poor ratings have been by people with unrealistic expectations... I can very highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EintheM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,314 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing