We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Museum on the Mound
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.34*
and up
Edinburgh Harry Potter Walking Tour
Ranked #46 of 402 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Decided to visit this museum on the spur of the moment mainly as I wanted to see what a million pounds looks like. it is a small and compact museum but very informative. No guides as you just walk through various rooms and glean the information from display cases and wall plaques. Young children who are more used to interactive screens will probably not enjoy a visit but those who are more hands on will enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank carbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    169
    40
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
365 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Small and interesting Museum”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very interesting museum where you can learn about all facets of money. It is set up by Bank of Scotland at its head quarters. You can see million pounds and there is demonstration in the afternoon when I visited as to how coins are struck. There are many visual displays that are educative and informative.
This is not a Museum for Children and general visitors. But would certainly appeal to people interested in Money and Finance

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KRAMA200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very interesting museum about the history of money, Scottish banks etc. Lots of visual displays, hands on exhibits for children to learn the fun way and display cases full of historical items. All very interesting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnywunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wouldn't hurry back...”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I didn't much enjoy my trip to the Bank museum, despite the glass case with a 'million pounds' in it. I found it rather dull however it did supply many facts about money and historical information about coins, pennies and notes. Despite what the other reviews say, this is really NOT the place for young children, but for historian adults who have a certain interest in money and historical currency artefacts.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank longbeans523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaFOH, Front Office Manager at Museum on the Mound, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review, we always appreciate receiving visitor feedback as it is important for us to ensure our visitors get the best experience possible.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit, and would be happy for you to send us any suggestions you may have to improve your experience.

As you have seen from other reviews, many adults and children find it very interesting, and we have a children's activity booklet and many hands on activities that children enjoy doing during their visit. Throughout July and August we are also running our popular free coin striking activity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice to get something free from a bank!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't choose to visit because it was free but I guess the bank can afford it! It is a genuinely interesting place if you are interested in the history of how banking developed and it would appear that in principle, not much has changed! There is probably more than most people can take in in a single visit but you can always go back. Not great for small kids but teenagers would probably enjoy it. Closed on Mondays but open every other day and easy to find at the top of the mound.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum on the Mound also viewed

 

Been to Museum on the Mound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing