We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where you should stay!”
Review of McCraes B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCraes B&B
Ranked #43 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I stayed 2 nights at mac crae's in Nov, 2012. First impression of this B&B is modern. beding and toilet can't be more clean. Full scotish breakfast I was offered was absolutely nice. Also the owner gave us a lot travel information so I would reccomend this B&B if you visit Edinburgh

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yunsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

My room with an en suite bathroom was large--the shower was huge and nicely modern. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the owner of the B&B made my stay relaxed and enjoyable. The location was perfect. From McCrae's B&B, it is a very close & enjoyable walk to Princes Street and the Royal Mile, yet the B&B is situated in a very nice neighborhood with many restaurants to choose from that are very good but not overpriced. I cannot imagine staying at a better B&B for the value it offered in regard to location and overall comfort. Last but not least, the WiFi connection was free, easy to access, stable, and all around great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed at Craes's for one night. The rooms are clean and spacious. You can choose from a full breakfast or a small one. Both of them are very good and you have all you need. The owner was very nice and helpful. Its a great and lovely B&B, which is close to the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BretJ1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

It was such a nice and excellent stay in Edinburgh. I was happy with everything including cozy and clean room, reasonable price and good breakfast. Easy access to the main sightseeing placese can be also one of the advantages. You can expect warm welcoming and hospitality from John as well.

Thanks for everything, John.
(SongmI RYU, from Korea)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie8309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We went to the Craes's at the end of August and stayed 2 nights there. It was clean, quiet, relaxing. I found that it was a bit apart from the city centre, we got to walk more than I expected to visit Edinburgh. The owner was really nice and friendly.

Room Tip: The road is a bit busy but it's just during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gretelle_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed for 2 nights with my girlfriend and first impressions of the room were that it was very spacious, the pictures don’t do it justice, John was very welcoming and helpful and with him been downstairs it was easy to get in contact with him if needed.
Very close to the city centre, we managed to walk into the city and back every day without the need of taxis and as stated in another review there is a corner shop right nearby if you need anything.
All in all a very good stay and would definitely use McCraes again if we were to come back up to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2, it was very spacious (I think it was the biggest room there) and was also not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here here overnight a few weeks ago a really comfortable B&B close to the town centre. John was really welcoming and helpful sorting out taxis for us as we were going to a friend's wedding reception.
I would use this B&B again I was staying in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelaghL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Scott House
Scott House
#48 of 394 in Edinburgh
63 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 394 in Edinburgh
125 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#20 of 394 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Browns Bed and Breakfast
#57 of 394 in Edinburgh
241 reviews
West End
The Victorian Town House
The Victorian Town House
#31 of 394 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#47 of 394 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCraes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCraes B&B

Address: 44 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £78 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McCraes B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCrae's Bed and Breakfast is a family-run eco-friendly, organic guest house, conveniently located in Edinburgh's historic New Town, only a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We offer our guests affordable, high-quality accommodation that quite literally doesn't cost the earth as we strive to make a minimal impact on our environment and will help reduce your carbon-footprint while enjoying our wonderful city. We are a recently renovated, traditional Edinburgh main door apartment in a block that is over 130 years old and many period features, such as ornate cornicing, have been retained; the decor is a tasteful mix of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your McCraes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCraes B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing