We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of McCraes B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCraes B&B
Ranked #36 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed at McCrae's over a long weekend and wished we'd stayed longer! Our stay was very comfortable as we were given a large room with very comfortable beds and everything was clean and spotless.
Breakfasts were organic and healthy even though they included the works(the cooked breakfasts)! The veggie sausages and veggie haggis were delicious and so was John's home made cake.
We didn't need to use the bus as this B&B was only a pleasant 20 minute walk from the centre and all of Edinburgh's attractions. Lovely quiet location just 5 minutes from great restaurants and cafes.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keentraveller461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
95
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Three female friends shared a very quiet three bed room. Spacious and clean with a good size bathroom. It worked very well for us. Close to city centre in a nice neighbourhood. there was a good choice on the breakfast menu, very tasty.
All in all perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ħal-Kirkop, null, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was the first time for me to stay in a B&B and my 1 week in the McCraes with my wife made my holiday simply perfect. I never took a bus or a taxi to go to the centre, castle or any other interesting place as all places of interest are within walking distance. The location of the McCrae's is perfect and in a very quite spot in Edinburgh. Rooms are very clean and the breakfast ... awesome, everything fresh and incredibly on time ! WiFi with strong signal made me Skype with my family back home very easily. Finally John was very helpful in anything we needed and gave us very good information on which places to visit and where to book early. If I will know of any Maltese friend going to Edinburgh I will strongly suggest the McCraes ! Thanks for everything John because as the subject says it was simply perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed three nights at McCrae's, and had a wonderful experience.The location is quiet and not touristy, but only a 20 min walk or 10 min bus ride to the heart of the city. The room was spacious and well furnished, the bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was clean and functional.
The included "light" breakfast was excellent, and we appreciated John's attention to the quality of the food (mostly organic). John himself was a real star, super friendly, and always eager to help out whatever our needs. We would gladly stay there again.
Luigi and Simona,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmartu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Besides the location, McCrae's is a gem. The place is about 20-30 mins away by foot from the heart of Edinburgh. That being said, it is possible to hop onto a bus, which takes you to town in less than 10mins. Lots of nice restaurants - and not touristy - around McCrae's which is a huge plus.

Rooms are very clean. Love that the owner uses eco friendly products.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityhontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was really happy when I stayed McCrae's B&B. The host was simply gentle and nice, and was really helpful when needed. The room was simply clean and large, and the breakfast was great! He was especially helpful when introducing the local culture(scottish food, and local restaurants and bars). When we had to leave the place every early in the morning, he prepared for the breakfast in the fridge for us the night beforre. My partner and I were so moved by his kind act and everything and I would absolutely visit there again when I am in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: As far as I know, there are only 4 rooms, and my double-room was really big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jkintotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at McCraes B&B, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. It's always a pleasure to meet guests who are interested in seeing a bit more of Edinburgh than the average visitor. It was good to see you both make the most of your visit.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My partner and I stayed two nights at McCrae's and we will definitely stay there again if we find ourselves back in Edinburgh. John was a great host, happy to answer any questions, look after luggage etc, but not intrusive - he seemed very good at knowing whether his guests wanted to chat and adapting accordingly. The room was gorgeous, as was the bathroom, and all immaculately clean. The price was really reasonable too, especially for Edinburgh on the cusp of the festival. Breakfast was magnificent, the only problem was that there was a lot of it available and it's hard to walk around a town after eating too much!

The location was also good, 15 minutes walk to the centre and about £5 in a taxi to the railway station. It's a nice walk into town, through the new town with its gorgeous buildings, although a bit up and down (Edinburgh is all hills). It's also close to Brougham St, which has lots of nice cafes and restaurants, and some cute shops. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at McCraes B&B, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. I'm glad you both felt at home here and enjoyed your stay in the Broughton area (one of Edinburgh's best kept secrets)

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 392 in Edinburgh
452 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#26 of 392 in Edinburgh
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 392 in Edinburgh
116 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#12 of 392 in Edinburgh
552 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCraes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCraes B&B

Property: McCraes B&B
Address: 44 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McCraes B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCrae's Bed and Breakfast is a family-run eco-friendly, organic guest house, conveniently located in Edinburgh's historic New Town, only a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We offer our guests affordable, high-quality accommodation that quite literally doesn't cost the earth as we strive to make a minimal impact on our environment and will help reduce your carbon-footprint while enjoying our wonderful city. We are a recently renovated, traditional Edinburgh main door apartment in a block that is over 130 years old and many period features, such as ornate cornicing, have been retained; the decor is a tasteful mix of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your McCraes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCraes B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing