We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality/price ratio, great welcome and service: highly recommended!”
Review of McCraes B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCraes B&B
Ranked #33 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Luvia, Finland
2 reviews
“Best quality/price ratio, great welcome and service: highly recommended!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our second visit in this wonderful B&B has just confirmed our excellent experience and our finding of last fall: John, the owner, is very welcoming and cares for all the details to make you feel home and relax.

Everything is brand new: the 3 rooms are clean, lighty, big and well equiped. The bathrooms are spacy and comfortable. John provides tea and coffee facilities in the room, as well as an access to a small fridge in the breakfast room.

The breakfasts as just great, with a lot of variety: the full scottish breakfast prepared by John is an absolute must, as well as his sweet porridge!

My wife and I don't know yet if we'll travel a third time from Finland to Edinburgh, but if we do, we'll for sure stay at Mccrae's B&B again.

Room Tip: 3 beautiful and comfortable rooms: room number 2 is bigger and fits for a family of 3-4 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
94
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wide and I stayed at McCraes' B&B in March this year. The place is easy to find, the owner is a very nice man, who gave us helpful instructions before arrival. We arrived very late at night, but he was available to let us in. The room was spotless and modern. The street is very quiet, but is a short walk to the bus stands or even the city center. The owner cooked a very nice breakfast. He was also helpful in providing us with ideas for travel in the city. If we get the opportunity, we will come again. Checking out was a breeze. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctorbabaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My family had a very nice stay. The food, tissue and towels are all organic. The location is very quiet, No.8 bus stop is nearby, which can take you to the city center. Above all, the host, John is always ready to help you. Nothing to complain.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I spend a night at McCraes' B&B on the 3rd of October. I have only the best of things to write about it. I was given a fantastic room, spacious, ultra clean, very tastefull, with new furniture and fully equiped. The bathroom was also very spacious everything was brand new! The bed had a very comfortable mattress and was very comfortable. I had the chance to meet John, who was extremely helpful, polite and very organized!!! I had an excellent scotish breakfast the next morning, freshly cooked and delicious for five pounds which I think it was a very good price. Also the whole place is very quiet with respectful customers. I have no hesitation in recommending this excellent bed and breakfast to anybody visiting Edinborough. I must also add that it is very close to the center of the city, only some minutes walk and there are plenty of very tatseful places around it for a nice lunch or dinner. Great place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VangelisPAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at McCraes B&B, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review Evangelous. It was a pleasure to meet you and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for the tip about the Greek Islands. I hope to make use of it before too long.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location is very very quite and clean. The Scottish full breakfast was excellent, highly recommended!!! John was excellent home owner and he helped us with every necessity we had, from the maps to the milk for our children.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Massimiliano_Rossi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Probably the best B&B I've ever had stayed in. The room was gorgeous with a fantastic en suite bathroom. Everything was impeccable. Excellent quality in all the products, the vegetarian breakfast was amazing. John, the owner, was always happy to give advice regarding sightseeing or any other requirement. Besides, the location is very convenient, within walking distance of the city centre. I’d love to return to Edinburgh and I’ll definitely choose McCraes’s again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at McCraes B&B, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for your great review (and pictures) Lina. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest; if there were a Guestadvisor.com you'd be getting a 5 star rating too :). I hope we'll have you back here again someday.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Really pleased we chose McCrae's - the location, accommodation and breakfast were all just perfect! Some sage recommendations from John about where to visit and eat. We would definitely return to McCrae's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
329 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#26 of 392 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#14 of 392 in Edinburgh
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 392 in Edinburgh
440 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
474 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 392 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCraes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCraes B&B

Property: McCraes B&B
Address: 44 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McCraes B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCrae's Bed and Breakfast is a family-run eco-friendly, organic guest house, conveniently located in Edinburgh's historic New Town, only a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We offer our guests affordable, high-quality accommodation that quite literally doesn't cost the earth as we strive to make a minimal impact on our environment and will help reduce your carbon-footprint while enjoying our wonderful city. We are a recently renovated, traditional Edinburgh main door apartment in a block that is over 130 years old and many period features, such as ornate cornicing, have been retained; the decor is a tasteful mix of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your McCraes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCraes B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing