We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host, eco-friendly, cheery refuge from gloomy weather”
Review of McCraes B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCraes B&B
Ranked #36 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely host, eco-friendly, cheery refuge from gloomy weather”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The place is very quiet and small, which suits me. John (the proprietor) is perfect -- pleasant, helpful, and informative about Edinburgh and Scotland when asked but not at all instrusive. I didn't spring for the hot breakfast but the basic breakfast was excellent (juice, cold cereal with milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, sweet bread and toast as well as coffee and tea). The bed was comfortable and I was happy to have room-darkening shutters especially for my first jet-lagged night. Other things I liked: rooms were a nice size; John loaned videos to the traveler who couldn't tell day from night thanks to trans-Atlantic travel. I also liked tea kettles in our rooms (I gather this is standard throughout the UK but I still liked it) and the really nice quality tea. Wonderfully clean. The shower had good water pressure and organic shower gel. I enjoyed the common room for chatting and waiting for taxis. McCrae's is located fairly close to the city center (one could walk, though I mostly took taxis). Map provided. A cheery refuge from a gloomy Edinburgh April. In nicer weather, the neighborhood would be fun to explore. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Edinburgh (unless I get an invitation from the Queen or JK Rowling . . . even then, the informal coziness would be lost, I suspect).

Room Tip: Only three rooms. I was in the front room facing the street but McCrae's is in a residential nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at McCraes B&B, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for going to the trouble of submitting such a kind and detailed review Jan. Much appreciated. See you next time. Hopefully we can provide much less dreary weather for you (I hesitate to say it's beautifully sunny here at the moment)

Cheers

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
95
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a great 2 nights stay at McCraes B&B. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathroom facilities are clean and fresh and the breakfast is excellent. John's banana bread is delicious! The full Scottish breakfast, with quality organic ingredients, was very good indeed, and the porridge (I sampled the sweet version) scrumptious. John is extremely helpful and accommodating and has good recommendations for local places to eat. We ate at the Olive Branch, just a short walk away, and would highly recommend it. There are also some nice pubs nearby. Edinburgh centre is a reasonable walking distance - about 20 mins - and there are buses if preferred. John, helpfully, let us leave our bags in the room for the day, as we had a late flight home - much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monmouth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were impressed with all aspects of this spacious, clean and attractive B&B just a few minutes' walk from the railway station. The room was typical of a traditional Scottish Victorian house: spacious, homely and attractive. Excellent bathroom ensuite leading off. Breakfast was good and filling with plenty of choice. Very reasonable price, and John was very accommodating and allowed us to store our bags on the last day which was very helpful. We would warmly recommend, and would use again on any future trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0bSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My boyfriend and I really loved staying at McCrae's B&B. John is a wonderful host and the place is really exquisite. We had booked a double room with a double bed which was super comfortable. The room was cozy, very clean, with a big bathroom which had a huge shower. All the products in the room, from the tea bags to the shower gel were organic and eco friendly. John is so kind and nice! Not only he was giving a lot of advices for places to visit, he also prepares a super delicious breakfast! We had a full Scottish breakfast and one vegetarian and they were really tasty! The location is also very good, it is just 15 min walk from Waverley train station, in which you walk along restaurants and bars, which makes it very nice also for the ones not too keen to walk (there is anyway a bus stop just 2 min from it). If I am back in Edinburgh, I would definitely stay at McCrae B&B. I highly recommend it, both for leisure and business, as well as for couples and families! Thank you so much John! You made my birthday weekend solo nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very nice stay here with John. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very welcomed at all times. I would stay here again, and would recommend it. Price was reasonable. Went the extra mile by allowing us to keep our bags in some extra hours. Thanks John!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n4t0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aachen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a lovely week in the beautiful city of Edinburgh and so was the stay in John's B&B. We stayed for one week and enjoyed our nice and clean room. John was very helpful and friendly and cook's one of the best breakfasts in Edinburgh. ;-) The B&B is only a 15min walk from the city center. If wished there is a regualr bus stop less than 5min from the B&B into the city center.
We can highly recommend this B&B and will come back as soon as possible.
Best regards from Germany

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polylox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Enjoyed four nights here on a break in Edinburgh. Lovely large room with spacious ensuite. Nice and quite location. Breakfast options good, flexible choice of cooked/uncooked can be ordered night before and reflected in room price. Convenient location for restaurants, botanic gardens and some traditional pubs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChSLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 392 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 392 in Edinburgh
453 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#26 of 392 in Edinburgh
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
116 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#13 of 392 in Edinburgh
552 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCraes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCraes B&B

Property: McCraes B&B
Address: 44 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McCraes B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCrae's Bed and Breakfast is a family-run eco-friendly, organic guest house, conveniently located in Edinburgh's historic New Town, only a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We offer our guests affordable, high-quality accommodation that quite literally doesn't cost the earth as we strive to make a minimal impact on our environment and will help reduce your carbon-footprint while enjoying our wonderful city. We are a recently renovated, traditional Edinburgh main door apartment in a block that is over 130 years old and many period features, such as ornate cornicing, have been retained; the decor is a tasteful mix of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your McCraes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCraes B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing