We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sad but tru”
Review of Alpha Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Guest House
Ranked #147 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sad but tru”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

although the man off the house was friendly enough , his wife ruined all our ideas of hospitality.
"did you come to pay the bill?" isnt the warm welcome you'd expect from someone who makes a living receiving guests.
the room was clean, the beds fully worn down, breakfast very poorly cooked and goodmorning wasnt in her vocabulary...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delange73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    33
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
64
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Staying as a couple in this hotel as visiting attractions in Edinburgh. The hotel was clean and comfortable the owners were welcoming and breakfast was very good. Good parking onsite and a bus stop was opposite hotel so access to Edinburgh city centre was only a 10 minute journey away. A place we will return to and stay again next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed in this family run guest house in April 2013 for a 4 night break. As soon as we arrived the welcome and service we received was exceptional. The room was a good size, and very clean. The bathroom was small but had everything you would require. The shower had some lovely blue mood lighting which was a nice touch. For breakfast you had the choice of cereal, yogurt or a traditional Scottish cooked breakfast. We opted for the cooked breakfast which was lovely. The guest house we found was not ideally located as it took a bus to get into Edinburgh centre however the bus stop was directly outside the guest house and the fares are cheap enough, especially if you opt for a day ticket. The guest house offered free offf road parking which is ideal as it is situated on a main road. There is a sainsburys within walking distance which we found very useful as there were no pubs/restaurants near by for an evening meal. The owners of the guest house couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them, they were even kind enough to lend us an umbrella for the day as it was pouring with rain, we found this to be a nice touch! We would be more than happy to stay here again and have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Both myself and my new wife cannot fault this guesthouse, clean and very well kept. The owners, Ada and Louis, were brilliantly helpful and extremely courteous. Whilst you are here, take the 10 minute walk up to Aaron Lodge and eat in the Conservatory Restaurant, you will be surprised.
Again, Ada and Louis, many thanks from Zoe and myself for everything you did.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lechef1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 nights at this Guest House. Easily the best Guest House I've stayed in Edinburgh. Owners are very welcoming and ensured a pleasant stay. The guest house has obviously been recently modernised. Breakfast was freshly cooked. WiFi connections in other guest houses are not very good because of thick walls. However in this one the owner bought a WiFi booster which did the trick, as signal strength is excellent Its this attention to detail which counts because there are so many in the Edinburgh area. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GPollockPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The rooms were above average, spacious, very clean with good furniture and furnishing. The toilets were spacious and very clean as well. We did not have any meals here so cant comment on that, we opted not to have breakfast included in our room fare.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Very nice guesthouse, very well decorated and clean rooms. Good cooked breakfast in the morning. The host and hostess were particularly kind and helpful, printing a boarding pass for my partner and even bringing a forgotten item to the nearby hospital for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Cameron Bed & Breakfast
Cameron Bed & Breakfast
#100 of 392 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aaron Lodge
Aaron Lodge
#36 of 392 in Edinburgh
815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#153 of 392 in Edinburgh
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
169 reviews
5.5 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#87 of 392 in Edinburgh
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Guest House

Property: Alpha Guest House
Address: 19 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Guest House offering traditional bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 4 en-suite rooms including 3 double / twin bedrooms and 1 family / triple bedroom. All rooms are modern and on the ground floor and include a colour LCD TV with Freeview and Tea / Coffee making facilities. Free car parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Alpha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing