We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B for the win!”
Review of Alpha Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpha Guest House
Ranked #147 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“B&B for the win!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is by far one of the best bed and breakfasts I have ever been to. It is a very small facility with I guess only 4 rooms but the rooms (at least the one we stayed in) were perfect for a couple to accommodate. It is very clean, newly fursbished and it has everything you will need in a b&b room. The owner couple are so helpful and sweet. And they do offer a marvellous breakfast which is not seen very often in European hotels. If you go to Edinburgh and if you have enough budget, I suggest you to stay in this wonderful facility. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meroztek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    33
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
64
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have just had a lovely two day break in Edinburgh with my daughter and was lucky to find the Alpha guest house as our bed and breakfast stay. The guest house is situated on the outskirts of Edinburgh with fantastic bus links literally just outside the guesthouse. The hosts were welcoming but not overbearing which was lovely, anything we needed they were very accommodating. The breakfast was great , room lovely and clean what more could you want will be going back and would recommend to others. Thank you Louis and Ada

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very clean, good breakfast, and close to the city centre. Ada was also friendly and helpful, she provided an iron for my mother, and rang a taxi for us when we needed one. The room was comfortable and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 441daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found the accommodation very clean and comfortable. The location is great the bus stop is right at the front door, and only a ten minute bus ride to the centre of town. Park your car right at the front door. Breakfast was nice, and Louis and Ada were very friendly and helpfull. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 448helen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We arrived for a 3 night stay and were hurriedly shown to our room by the hostess who was uttering that everyone had arrived around the same time and she was trying to prepare dinner for friends who were coming over and she would get the money for the room in the morning. As she left our room she told us that breakfast was at 0830.
The next morning we were almost ready to find the breakfast room at 0840 when there was a knock at the door and we were asked if we were going to have breakfast and she able to take the money now.
Breakfast was adequate.
We stayed in room 3 and were astonished with amount of mould in the shower......it was extreme. If you don't count the bathroom the room itself was clean but the bed was showing signs of age as were the pillows.
Overall it was very disappointing and to make matters worse we had pre booked to stay there the following week for one night, our last night before leaving to return to Australia. If we had cancelled we would have been charged and would have had to find alternative accommodation, we chose not to cancel. On our return we stayed in a different room and thankfully the mould wasn't nearly as bad.
I'm sorry to say that we couldn't recommend this B&B. Small things like acknowledging guests by their name or even saying hello or good morning make a difference! Alpha Guest House lacked that warm, friendly, welcoming hospitality we had experienced at all the other B&Bs we had stayed at during our travels around the UK.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

although the man off the house was friendly enough , his wife ruined all our ideas of hospitality.
"did you come to pay the bill?" isnt the warm welcome you'd expect from someone who makes a living receiving guests.
the room was clean, the beds fully worn down, breakfast very poorly cooked and goodmorning wasnt in her vocabulary...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delange73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Staying as a couple in this hotel as visiting attractions in Edinburgh. The hotel was clean and comfortable the owners were welcoming and breakfast was very good. Good parking onsite and a bus stop was opposite hotel so access to Edinburgh city centre was only a 10 minute journey away. A place we will return to and stay again next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Cameron Bed & Breakfast
Cameron Bed & Breakfast
#100 of 392 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aaron Lodge
Aaron Lodge
#33 of 392 in Edinburgh
815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#155 of 392 in Edinburgh
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
167 reviews
5.5 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#83 of 392 in Edinburgh
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Guest House

Property: Alpha Guest House
Address: 19 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Guest House offering traditional bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 4 en-suite rooms including 3 double / twin bedrooms and 1 family / triple bedroom. All rooms are modern and on the ground floor and include a colour LCD TV with Freeview and Tea / Coffee making facilities. Free car parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alpha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing