We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Alpha Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Guest House
Ranked #141 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Thanks to Ted and Dot for another lovely stay, clean, pleasant and within easy reach of the centre. Our fellow guests were a bit noisy but that's not the proprietor's fault. The bed was comfy and the hosts couldn't be more accommodating

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaisleyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    32
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
64
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Although the premises were clean, the en suite bathroom was full of black mould in the shower unit. No heating in the bathroom, which made it a bit chilly! Breakfast 8.30, like it or lump it! I thought I had booked what had been described as ground floor and appeared to be a row of bungalow style buildings, we found that the loft seems to have been converted and the family bang about up there at all hours, including up and down the stairs very loudly, without any consideration for those paying to stay underneath them!!
6 - 6.30 am doors banging, keys gangling, people walking around heavily on hard flooring. The family themselves are very noisy and do not seem to consider their *paying guests* at all.
The front door bells ringing a lot, which also slams hard when its used, at what ever time it happens to be.
We had gone to Edinburgh for a few days R&R, but did not get it at this guest house!!
It would help if the proprietors were to remember that this is a business and people are purchasing a service *we paid £60 per night* which is not budget accommodation in the least. We felt like they had been paid for the stay and after that had little interest in our well-being or whether or not we were enjoying our stay. Breakfast is a rushed affair, as there are not enough tables to cater for all guests at the regimented 8.30 a.m. But in general, we felt like our presence was over looked and the family simply carried on daily life, albeit as noisy as they are, as normal.
We left relieved to be going home and would not stay there or recommend this place to anyone else!

Room Tip: Read reviews, take notice of when they were written, if there are negative remarks that seems more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangatawhiri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We lucked out with this B & B! The room was just lovely. The bus stop right outside was very very handy. The proprietors were very friendly and let us keep the car there for the day after we checked out so we didnt have to take it into the old town. Breakfast was yummy and the bed was very comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSchu103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is by far one of the best bed and breakfasts I have ever been to. It is a very small facility with I guess only 4 rooms but the rooms (at least the one we stayed in) were perfect for a couple to accommodate. It is very clean, newly fursbished and it has everything you will need in a b&b room. The owner couple are so helpful and sweet. And they do offer a marvellous breakfast which is not seen very often in European hotels. If you go to Edinburgh and if you have enough budget, I suggest you to stay in this wonderful facility. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meroztek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have just had a lovely two day break in Edinburgh with my daughter and was lucky to find the Alpha guest house as our bed and breakfast stay. The guest house is situated on the outskirts of Edinburgh with fantastic bus links literally just outside the guesthouse. The hosts were welcoming but not overbearing which was lovely, anything we needed they were very accommodating. The breakfast was great , room lovely and clean what more could you want will be going back and would recommend to others. Thank you Louis and Ada

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very clean, good breakfast, and close to the city centre. Ada was also friendly and helpful, she provided an iron for my mother, and rang a taxi for us when we needed one. The room was comfortable and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 441daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found the accommodation very clean and comfortable. The location is great the bus stop is right at the front door, and only a ten minute bus ride to the centre of town. Park your car right at the front door. Breakfast was nice, and Louis and Ada were very friendly and helpfull. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 448helen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Classic Guest House
#68 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Arden Guest House
#176 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandilands Guest House
#173 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Culane House Hotel
#132 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Alba House
#48 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Guest House

Property: Alpha Guest House
Address: 19 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Guest House offering traditional bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 4 en-suite rooms including 3 double / twin bedrooms and 1 family / triple bedroom. All rooms are modern and on the ground floor and include a colour LCD TV with Freeview and Tea / Coffee making facilities. Free car parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing