We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duthus Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$678
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
91
31
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
31
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno windowhappily stay here againa wee bitshower roomnext morningexcellent breakfastbus stopenjoyed our stayprincess streetexcellent locationskylightmurrayfieldrugbycastle
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have stayed at this B&B 3 times. Kay and Murdo are great hosts and their breakfast is fantastic. The B&B is spotless and very convenient to the city as well as bus stops right out front. An added convenient is being able to purchase day tickets right at the B&B. You must have Murdo show you his prize 1960 Triumph as it is fantastic. Also, enjoy meeting Bracken their puppy.

Room Tip: When traveling in Scotland you should start looking about 4pm in order to get a room. In big cities I recommend you reserve in advance. At Duthus Lodge try to get a room overlooking the front yard.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a large family group. The rooms were very clean and very nicely appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable. We were awakeen every morning by a wonderfully cooked Scottish breakfast that stuck with us most of the day. The owners were great and provided wonderful suggestions to restaraunts in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lita74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Have just spent two nights here and very happy with our stay. We were upgraded to e triple from double, probably because the place was not full during our stay. I had arranged a flower delivery to the guest house prior to our arrival which was kindly placed in the room as requested. A vase had also been left for us to use.

The room was very well presented and very clean. The en suite was small but it did the trick for us! The double bed was a very small double. It was comfortable but too small for us; I am 6'3" though!

The breakfast was great, full fry up with cereal, yoghurt etc also available and nothing was too much trouble for the owners.

Location is good with bus service from just outside running into the city centre for just £1.40 each way!

Would stay here again if we return to Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

i have just returned from a one night stay at the duthus lodge with 5 of my friends, we were all arriving and leaving at different times , my sister and niece got lost so murdo had to talk her in over the phone, we were allowed to leave our cases while we went to see the pandas,, absolutely nothing was too much trouble,, we loved their relaxed style and easy conversation, breakfast kept us going all day, there is not a negative about this hotel,thanks to everyone including bracken,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This "Bed & Breakfast" is in a good position for visiting the city, about 25 mins walking to the city centre. The hosts are friendly and helpful and the house is very nice. The lounge room was OK, but constantly used by the owner. The place was full, therefore breakfast room was crowded and the service a bit slow. What really disappointed us was the bedroom we were given. It was on the first floor, facing the back. Although it had a double bed, the bedroom was too small to be a double room, with no room to move. No wardrobes, just a metal rack to hang clothes. The en-suite was a box. It had a small shower, with a very weak jet which refused to heat up above lukewarm. The bed and the pillows were awful, hard and uncomfortable. I'm sure they must have better rooms - sadly, the one we got was dismal for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room or go somewhere else
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvador m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews