We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duthus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duthus Lodge
Ranked #120 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I suspect this was recently decorated as our room and dining room were beautifully presented. We had two double beds for two teenagers and two adults and a small en-suite. We walked (15 min) into the festival events leaving the car in the parking area behind the house. The tramway roadworks make it challenging to navigate so have a map with you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

On our arrival at Duthus Lodge we were warmly greeted By Murdo the owner who was such a lovely man. He showed us to our spotlessly clean room and was so informative about the local area. The breakfasts were superb. Plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. Nothing during our stay could be complained about and if you are traveling to Edinburgh for a break stay here if you can!!! Norman & Margaret York England

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hosts Murdo and Kay made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. They were very informative and knowledgeable of Edinburgh and Scotland in general. Their advice was put to good use. Ask Murdo where the best smoked salmon comes from :)

Breakfast was great, rooms and the whole of the B&B were clean and comfortable. The staff in particular Wendy went out of their way to make our 5 day stay a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Braken the pooch was very friendly and likes to test you with a tug-of-war with one of his little toys from time to time.

Norm and Fil from Adelaide, South Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Beautiful place ,very convenient rooms .
Wonderful service and welcoming ,wonderful dining room and excellent breakfast. Easy access to the city center.
we received very helpful assistance from the owners and ,we are grateful for that.
It is very recommended .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, we were upgraded to a larger room with views over the garden. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Great location just a few minutes by bus or car into the centre of the town. Excellent hot freshly cooked breakfast. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scotsrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at the Duthus Lodge and had a wonderful stay. The owners were very accommodating and willing to help out in every way possible. They were able to give us precise directions to all of the events and our needs. Also, the breakfast was brilliant!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestorun9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My family spent only 1 day in this lovely B&B on 20 Sept 2012. Despite of this short stay, Kay and Murdo made us felt we were at home. They explained to us the wonderful places to visit in Edinburgh especially how to avoid from getting a traffic ticket (just a joke). The location of the Lodge is very convenient and the Lodge was well looked after with beautiful flowers and delicious breakfast. The hygiene condition was excellent, everything was neat clean and tidy. One more thing to mention, the silly bulldog Blacken would be looking for your sausage ...please don't let him down. He might not looks very friendly but in fact he is very kind at heart. Please consider this Lodge next time when you go to Edinburgh. I would give a 11 out of 10 rating to this Lodge. Well done Kay, Murdo and Blacken.
Andrew Fung and family from Hong Kong

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#32 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#168 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Edinburgh Lodge
#111 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#132 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duthus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duthus Lodge

Property: Duthus Lodge
Address: 5 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Duthus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duthus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duthus Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing