We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant stay”
Review of Duthus Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duthus Lodge
Ranked #118 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An elegant stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Duthus Lodge was the perfect stay for Hogmanay in Edinburgh. Perfect location just outside the festive hustle and bustle but not too far to make your way there so easily (10-12 minutes walk to Princes Street and 5 mins by bus just outside the lodge). We were greeted in typically Scottish friendly and humorous fashion, and welcomed in a beautiful room. Breakfast is excellent, lots to choose from and the first time I've had the proper Scottish porridge with a pinch of salt....Murdo has been very open to make our stay as best possible and we left hoping to come back one day not too far away. One of the many highlights has been the house pet, Archie, who made our stay even so warm and homely at a festive time. Getting to and from the airport is also super easy with the express #100 dropping and picking you up just across the street from the accommodation. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulalu9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

well, we stayed there for 3 nights..it was a total new experience to stay in such a place..very cozy and comfy..perfect breakfast..friendly owners,or actually i have to mention that all Scottish people i met were very nice and friendly.. though the bathroom was a bit tiny,but it was a no big deal.
An eight minutes walk from Haymarket rail station, yet a little bit far from the city center about 20 minutes walking from the city center which is only a big deal when it's raining showers or you've been hanging all day out and need to rest,but yet a lot of buses running from the center and princess street can drop you there. :) we loved it there :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esraa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Location was not to far from airport and downtown areas. The room was spacious, food was very good and the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh. Perfect weather. We enjoyed the whiskey tasting, castle tour as well as a countryside tour.

Road noise was a bit on the loud side. but
I would stay there as well as go back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhw704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The room and owner are excellent.The bathroom is a bit tiny, thus 4 for the room. Not enough parking space in their parking, but during the weekend can park for free on the street.
breakfast also delicious an "scotish" aka english breakfast.
Would gladly come back on next passing through Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioana2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I suspect this was recently decorated as our room and dining room were beautifully presented. We had two double beds for two teenagers and two adults and a small en-suite. We walked (15 min) into the festival events leaving the car in the parking area behind the house. The tramway roadworks make it challenging to navigate so have a map with you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

On our arrival at Duthus Lodge we were warmly greeted By Murdo the owner who was such a lovely man. He showed us to our spotlessly clean room and was so informative about the local area. The breakfasts were superb. Plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. Nothing during our stay could be complained about and if you are traveling to Edinburgh for a break stay here if you can!!! Norman & Margaret York England

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hosts Murdo and Kay made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. They were very informative and knowledgeable of Edinburgh and Scotland in general. Their advice was put to good use. Ask Murdo where the best smoked salmon comes from :)

Breakfast was great, rooms and the whole of the B&B were clean and comfortable. The staff in particular Wendy went out of their way to make our 5 day stay a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Braken the pooch was very friendly and likes to test you with a tug-of-war with one of his little toys from time to time.

Norm and Fil from Adelaide, South Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#23 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#166 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Edinburgh Lodge
#106 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#129 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duthus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duthus Lodge

Property: Duthus Lodge
Address: 5 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Duthus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Duthus Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing