We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”
Review of Blinkbonny House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blinkbonny House
Ranked #87 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This place was wonderful. Shaun and Elaine were fantasic, helpful and friendly, Price was reasonable, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristykwok1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Edinburgh. We had a fantastic room with an ensuite. The shower was one of the best I have ever had and the bed was very comfortable! The house was spotless as well. We were lucky enough to see quite a bit of the sun, which poured in the bedroom window and gave the room a very lovely glow. Breakfast was perfect and made to fit our changing appetites each day. The hospitality was perfect. We felt at ease and comfortable right from the start. I can't possibly thank our lovely hosts enough for this. Although the house isn't in the city centre, that means that you get away from the noise of downtown and it is an easy walk to get there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I was so impressed with this BnB and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a bargain BnB in Edinburgh that still offers you a quality stay. Blinkbonny house exceeded my expectations. The double en-suite room was very spacious and beautifully kept. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the bathroom immaculate with a lovely shower- very good water pressure. Upon arrival we were given our key so that we had the freedom to come and go as we pleased. Breakfast (they cater for vegetarians too) was delish and plentiful! Shaun is a wonderfull host, very attentive and warm. It is about 10 minute's walk into town but there is a bus stop at the end of the street if you want to reach town quickly. I would certainly stay there again and feel fortunate to have stumbled upon such a gem in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oledia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife was very ill, in Edinburgh Western General hospital, for nine days early December 2011.

I stayed at the Blinkbonny House B&B, during this time. I had two rooms during my stay, both were clean, large and warm.

Shaun the owner was excellent, in his kindness, he went well above and beyond the call of duty. Offering meals at night if required and also did mine and my wifes laundry on two occassions.

The breakfast were freshly prepared and were really good.

I really needed some kindness during this difficult period and certainly found it at the Blinkbonny house, many thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We've just returned from a 4-night stay at Blinkbonny House, on our first trip to Scotland. The house is beautifully presented, clean, comforting and homely, with attention to detail by the lovely hosts. Shaun was there to greet us on arrival and quickly gave us maps and bus routes to help us settle in straight away. Both he and his wife are very genuine and welcoming people and obviously get a great deal of returning guests.

Our room was warm, clean and plenty big enough, with an en suite bathroom that was just right. The breakfasts, cooked to order, were delicious and you get the feeling that nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. Try the porridge!!

The B&B is quite close to a main bus route which can take you all around the city and back, however we tended to walk everywhere as you see more sights that way. Once you get your bearings, it's very easy to find your way around.

We would not hesitate to stay at Blinkbonny again and the hosts have certainly worked hard to make sure it is a home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigereyes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Having stayed in various b&bs over the years I thought I knew what to expect-lacklustre service,dated decor,grimey bathroom,a breakfast fit for either a dog or a very hungover man,grey bed linen and a grotty little room(single!). However, take all that and turn it on its head at Blinkbonny House. The host, Sean-couldnt have been more accommadating-look at their web landing page and believe it-I kid you not. Could not fault the place-or the price! If you are visiting Edinburgh and dont want to stay in a soulless hotel but want a clean,welcoming,atmospheric home from home see if you can get a room at Blinkbonny-superd breakfast as well!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottmartinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The website is beautifully done, but the reality did not live up to it. The Twin/Double with private shower room SHARES the bath, it's not private. We had an early arrival and was originally told we could come early, collect our keys and drop our luggage, then return later when the room was ready. We arrived as planned and no one answered. Then when we did check in, the room was still not ready. The next day we returned at 5:00 p.m. and neither the room nor the bath had been cleaned. We had planned a return visit for several days, and were told there was a problem with overbooking and we would be required to change rooms 3 nights out of 4, and share the bath for one of them. We have been guests at many excellent B&B's in Scotland and Ireland; this was NOT one of them.

Room Tip: Make sure the word
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLAllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
Acer Lodge Guest House
#54 of 394 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#26 of 394 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#7 of 394 in Edinburgh
785 reviews
Corstorphine
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
#108 of 394 in Edinburgh
142 reviews
Edinburgh Sixteen
#103 of 394 in Edinburgh
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blinkbonny House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blinkbonny House

Address: 23 Blinkbonny Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 3HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blinkbonny House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blinkbonny House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blinkbonny House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing